Rolling in the dough

12 Oct

Thank you for all the great feedback on my guest post! I’m glad the lifting love is getting spread. πŸ™‚

Whoa, it’s been an eventful couple of days. Some exciting things have happened and I’m feeling pretty good about things….the main thing being….

I landed a job. This was pure luck and I really am pretty shocked. You see, I had applied to a fitness center/physical therapy place (not the one I had previously mentioned) and was not expecting to get any sort of call back. Well what do you know I DO in fact get a call and they want me to come in and check things out. I’m stunned, but say yes and end up loving the place, the people, the hours…everything. The manager tells me on the spot that he wants to hire me. That was easy! I start training next week! I will be doing a mixture of multiple things including:

  • running the front desk
  • setting up new gym memberships
  • assisting the physical therapists, personal trainers, and their on-staff dietician (!!!)
  • educating members about the exercise equipment, fitness classes, and help them to reach their fitness goals
  • taking advantage of my new free membership. <— yes, please!

I can’t even begin to tell you guys how excited I am about this. I never expected to find a part time job doing something that actually relates to my studies and future career. Talk about a blessing! I have been so excited about the opportunity itself that I haven’t even thought about one of the main reasons people get a job: the money. I get to go do something I love and you want to pay me for it? Well, okay sure, if you insist. πŸ˜‰

I love this quote and think it sums it all up:

NewImage

Now it is What I ate Wednesday and I just couldn’t miss out on another week….so here’s some foodie pics from the past week!

IMG 2425

pumpkin egg white peanut butter and jelly oats in a greek yogurt container. Now THAT is a mouthful.

IMG 2459

egg white oats with cream cheese frosting (protein frosting made with Trutein cinnabon flavor!) and roasted almonds

IMG 2466

grilled chicken sandwich, veggies + salsa, and grapes

IMG 2438

bean and beef/chicken soft tacos with ridiculous amounts of taco sauce, tomatoes, and veggies on top. (side note: I currently have an obsession with green olives. I always load up on them at the salad bar…they are SO flavorful. Can you believe I used to hate them?)

IMG 2423

whole grain tortilla with laughing cow cheese spread and strawberry jam <—good combo.

IMG 2467

greek yogurt with crumbled peanut butter chocolate chip cookie Larabar

IMG 2421

chicken, veggies, and a delicious homemade vegetarian chili.

I recently discovered that the cafeteria has a daily soup/chili bar. It’s like my own Panera! Everything I’ve tried has been awesome. This will be amazing when it starts to get cold out!

IMG 2449

chocolate-strawberry protein soft serve: 1 serving chocolate protein powder, 1 cup frozen strawberries, 1/2 cup almond milk. Whip up in a food processor. SO GOOD!

IMG 2452

Yep, more pancakes! I used my regular recipe, except I used pumpkin for half the amount of cottage cheese. Good decision.

And that’s a wrap. I’m typing this Tuesday night and it’s time for this girl to get some shut-eye. But first…

Olives: Love ’em or hate ’em? Major lover here, obviously.

What was your college job?

Kristi

25 Responses to “Rolling in the dough”

  1. Alexandra October 12, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    Congrats on the job!! πŸ˜€ how exciting!
    And girl I’m lovin your dorm eats, especially that first oats concoction mmm πŸ™‚ I’m not an olive fan though, I tried one at olive garden as a little kid and it grossed me out so bad haha!
    Have a great night and happy WIAW!

  2. Rachel October 12, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    congrats on the job! and this is one of my FAVORITE verses of all time. it’s just SO perfect for like… everything anyone could need to hear? constant reassurance basically! the best.

  3. debbiecutieface October 12, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    congrats on your new job girl! Yay!

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! October 12, 2011 at 2:42 am #

    What an amazing job! I am JEALOUS! It sounds perfect! Definitely something I’d like to do! And I love olives in general! Especially on pizza and mixed in with humus! I have been loving laughing cow/jam wraps lately too! They are so simple and yummy!

  5. lifttorun October 12, 2011 at 3:01 am #

    Woohooo! Congrats on getting the job. That’s awesome. I’m sure you will be folding a lot of gym towels in the near future.

  6. Molly October 12, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    I’m an olive lover!

  7. Tara October 12, 2011 at 4:48 am #

    Congrats! Your post really hit home with me because I’m about to shift careers!

    That protein soft serve looks amazing. I’m going to try it tonight!

  8. Ashley October 12, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    That is my favorite verse in the history of ever!! Sounds liek a great job though. Ive been working in the same retaurant since I was in high school!! I love it though πŸ™‚

  9. Katie Carso October 12, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    I love black olives, but green ones, YUCK!

    Congrats on the job! How great that you will be working at a gym!

    Happy WIAW!

    xoxo ❀

  10. lactosefreelizzie October 12, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    yum! all of your eats look sooo flippin’ good!

  11. Meg October 12, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    I don’t think it’s luck, lady – you CLEARLY have been blessed with that job very deservingly πŸ™‚ Congrats!

  12. Jenny October 12, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    congrats on the job, sweet cheeks! It sounds absolutely perfect for you and will definitely help keep you “balanced” at school. I find that the busier I am, the better off I am πŸ™‚ Productivity and happiness go hand in and! Oh, and making money certainly doesn’t hurt either πŸ˜‰ Enjoy!

  13. pbbrittany October 12, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Congrats on the job girl!! That’s so amazing- especially the free membership! &You put pumpkin in your pancakes? Those must have been so delicious!

  14. Shannon @ Healthiful Balance October 12, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    YAY, that is so awesome that you got a great job like that! God is good! πŸ™‚
    Yummy eats!

  15. Tessa @ Amazing Asset October 12, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Congratulations on the job! You certainly deserve something like that πŸ™‚ Pumpkin in pancakes is a new and tasty discovery of mine

  16. peasandcrayons October 12, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    eeeee congrats!!! that’s awesome news!

  17. Health Freak College Girl October 12, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    i love pancakes! i could eat them all day everyday πŸ™‚ and i’m not much of an olive person. i used to like them, but not anymore. weird…

  18. chelciesfoodfiles October 12, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Congrats on the job! I am currently a sophomore in college and I work part time as a waitress! It has made managing my time a little more difficult, but the extra cash definitely is worth it! And I also really enjoy doing it so that is also a plus:)

  19. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate October 12, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Congrats on the new job!

  20. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun October 12, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    Yay!!! Congrats on the job. It sounds great.

  21. Allison's Delicious Life October 13, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    Congrats on the job! I’ve been blessed to get some job opportunities that relate to my field as well. It is such an amazing experience!

    Question- how in the world is your smoothie so thick?! I can only get thick shakes through frozen bananas, not berries. What kind of protein powder do you use?

  22. Jen@foodfamilyfitness October 13, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Congrats on your job!!!!

  23. keepnthefaith October 14, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    CONGRATS on landing the job girl!! That sounds like an AWESOME opportunity!! Im super jealous πŸ™‚
    I bet it will be such a wonderful experience for you!

  24. kbwood October 15, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    AHHHHHH congrats love!!!! That is so awesome- you are a ballerrrr! all your food looks AMAZING as always. love you!

  25. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin October 15, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Congrats on the job! That’s wonderful news!!! I am not an olive fan at all. they skeeve me out. Maybe one day I’ll like them. I’ve discovered foods (i.e. cottage cheese) that I never thought I would like!

Leave a Reply

