I didn’t know

19 Oct

I didn’t know what busy was until I came to college.

I know I have said this in pretty much every post since I’ve started this semester, but it just keeps getting more and more true, haha. For the sake of going easy on my brain, let’s sum up things in bullet points:

  • This week I started training at my new job. I now have an official title as a “fitness tech.” Now they are stuck with me because I have my very own name tag and employee cubby, mwahaha!

NewImage<—- me blogging and lifting: multitasking at it’s finest, eh?

 

  • I crammed for and completed two major exams…and it’s only Tuesday.

NewImage

  • I got approved for my first apartment for next semester!!!

NewImage

okay, so maybe it isn’t that swanky, but it’s still pretty nice and I am in love with it! I have a countdown for my move-in date going on my computer as we speak. I can’t wait!!!! I don’t regret going the dorm route this semester because it’s been a good experience for me to have, but it’s just not something that I personally want to do for any longer amount of time. There are definitely cons to this way of living, so I am very fortunate that I am able to move forward with an apartment.

  • The weather has been freezing, so I’ve been drinking/eating my weight in hot teas and soup from the cafeteria

NewImage

 

  • Cam, from one of my favorite shows: Modern Family was in my town yesterday and made an appearance here on campus. I die. He ROCKS.

NewImage

 

NewImage

I’ve still been eating some pretty good stuff, but I’ll admit I’m really starting to miss having a full kitchen. But now that my apartment is “official” it makes it easier to stick it out a little while longer. Plus, it makes going home that much more of a treat!

Eats as of late:

IMG 2470

pumpkin egg white oats with Trutein chocolate peanut butter cup “frosting” (just mixed with almond milk!) and sliced almonds

IMG 2468

Salad bar

IMG 2477

sprouted grain toast with peanut butter and banana = good study fuel

IMG 2475

I tried out some miracle noodles recently! Yeah, they look like worms. Yeah, I freaked out my roommate. Yeah, I don’t really care because they were good! This was an easy dorm room meal that I paired with a salmon pouch, steamed veggies, a dollop of cottage cheese, and Annie’s honey mustard dressing. Plus some toast and almond butter!

IMG 2478

another new-to-me product, Seeds Of Change indian rice blend (with chickpeas and mung beans)

IMG 2479

along with a tuna pouch and veggies. Seeds of Change has awesome products! This one was no exception.

IMG 2476

choco-pumpkin protein pudding with raw cacao nibs and peanut butter: 1 scoop protein powder, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/4 cup greek yogurt, 1 tbsp dark chocolate cocoa powder, almond milk to mix it up.

Q’s for today:

Have you ever met a celebrity? Cam was my first!

Favorite tea kind/brand? During the day, it’s been all about my old stand-by: Lipton Green Tea. At night I’ve been loving Yogi’s relaxed mind!

See you all later!

Kristi

27 Responses to “I didn’t know”

  1. Sweet and Savvy October 19, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    I am SO jealous you got to see a part of the Modern Family cast!! He is TOO funny! 🙂

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! October 19, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    SO much awesome stuff going one! Congrats on the apartment and job! Both sound amazing! And I love CAM! So jealous! And I like miracle noodle too! Most people don’t but I think they’re pretty good! Way different than regular pasta but definitely a nice change!

  3. Alexandra October 19, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    Omg you saw cam?!?!! Dude I’m so jealous, that show ROCKS!!! 😀
    You should be so proud of everything you’ve already accomplished this week! And congrats in the apartment approval, I’m sure you’ll love it next semester 🙂
    Rockin eats as always my friend! Have a great night!!

  4. Meg (A Dash of Meg) October 19, 2011 at 1:29 am #

    Congrats on the name tag 😉 Always feels so official then 😉 hehehehe

    Your eats look amazing 😀 yum yum yum and I am so happy to learn that you are a tea lover too 😀 My fav!? DavidsTea! David is my lover 🙂 If you follow me on Twitter you would know how many cups I drink each day….. haha…. not sure if you have DavidsTea where you are though?

    • Sweetly Fit October 19, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

      I don’t know, I’ve never heard of it!

  5. debbiecutieface October 19, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    congrats on the new job and apartment! That’s pretty sweet!

  6. Sable@SquatLikeALady October 19, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    YAAAY apartment! I am SO GLAD you’ll be getting out of that icky roomie situation. Seriously. It sounds like it’s super unpleasant

  7. chelciesfoodfiles October 19, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    those eats look delicious! I need to try that chocolate protein pudding! And OMG I’m so jealous you met Cam! I’m obsessed with Modern Family!

  8. lifttorun October 19, 2011 at 3:14 am #

    I’ll come live with you now! Great.
    Hahah.

    Duddeee. I love Cam from Modern Family. Best show.

  9. Ashley October 19, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    Im so jealous, i love modern family!! I met Kristen Davis once (girl from sex and the city) and got my pic taken with her when she came to visit her parents in my town. All your eats look really good. I love miracle noodles but i like the tofu noodles a little better.

  10. Tara October 19, 2011 at 5:14 am #

    Congrats on the new apartment! You must be relieved 🙂

  11. Katie Carso October 19, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    Im super excited for you to move into your new place! I know how much you will love it!!

    Im glad the job is going well!!!

    Happy Wednesday love!

  12. Tessa @ Amazing Asset October 19, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    AHh I am so jealous, I love Modern Family! How cool is that 🙂

  13. lindsay October 20, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    i remember my first semester of college, it was nuts! be sure to take it slow and enjoy friend. excited for your apartment!

  14. natashaboruszok1992 October 20, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    If you like vanilla flavored things, then I recommend Bigelow French Vanilla tea – I also think they have Caramel Vanilla, which was my fav, but I have a hard time finding it at my grocery store. Seriously though, best tea ever!!

  15. Jordan October 20, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    doesn’t being crazy busy and stressed make you miss the easy high school days?! 😉
    that pumpkin banana bread looks AMAZZZZING

  16. Naomi(onefitfoodie) October 20, 2011 at 2:33 am #

    hey girlfriend!! so good to hear that life is busy in college! thats what its all about! I learned so much about multitastking and how to prioritize in college…such great skills and as the time goes on you will get so much better at balancing everything!

    thats so great about the new apt! I cant wait to hear about it! Your eats as always are so well balanced and creative for a college student, you are certainly giving some others out there some great ideas and you just prove it IS possible to eat healthy in the dorms!

  17. LightOnMyFeet October 20, 2011 at 2:35 am #

    All your food looks great! and gah I think I’m busy now. I’m kinda scared for next year then hah.

  18. thedailydose20 October 20, 2011 at 3:13 am #

    yeah have been so busy! i think your going to loveee having you own apartment, it’s so nice!! your eats still look good even for dorm food!!

  19. Jen@foodfamilyfitness October 20, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Love CAM!!!! He is hilarious!!! I just started watching Modern Family this season and I love it!

  20. dancefitnesshealthnut October 21, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    Hey there! I was just wondering… is living in the dorms worth it? I’m trying to debate living on campus or not? A lot of people were telling me to live in the dorms, but I don’t know! Have any opinion on it? Much appreciated thanks!

    • Sweetly Fit October 22, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      It is a good way to make friends in a new place and definitely a good thing to experience. It’s a personal decision though, everyone is different!

  21. Allison's Delicious Life October 21, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    oh my gosh i looove cam!!!! you’re so lucky 🙂

    congrats on your new apartment. can’t wait to see what kinds of culinary concoctions you come up with!

  22. bodyworkslubbock October 22, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Those are mouth-watering foods, healthy and delicious. With those pictures, it shows that healthy foods doesn`t need to be boring and tasteless. It needs a creative mind to come up with an appetizing menu.

  23. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody October 22, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Yay for the job and apartment! There are so many awesome recent eats in this post! My favorite tea is DavidsTea, it’s expensive but worth it! 🙂

  24. pasticcioneria October 22, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    I’m not at college anymore but I completely FEEL YOU. Anyway, busy schedules (stress aside) are the best thing ever and it keep you far from procrastinate.
    Yay for autumn and hot tea/soup, I’m writing this holding my white tea cup just to fight the cold!

Leave a Reply

