Naptime, Dress-up, and PB&J’s

26 Oct

Hi all! So glad some of you wanted to join in on the Food Day Fun. I forgot to mention that it was the first ever Food Day…hopefully there will be many more to come!

I stopped by home this past weekend and was surprised with some awesome weather after the freezing temps and wind we had all school week. Good weather always puts me in a good mood!

IMG 2500

I got to play with my love:

IMG 2502

Princess Jaci 😉

IMG 2503

I miss my puppy!!! My mom told me that whenever she says my name, Jaci will get up and run to the front window to see if I’m out there. *melts heart* It’s so easy to take for granted things and people in your life, but once they aren’t here with you everyday like you’re used to, you immediately appreciate them so much more.

It was so great to get back in a kitchen and make up whatever I wanted, which happened to be an old favorite one morning, the breakfast cookie!

IMG 2497

1/2 cup oats, 1 scoop Trutein chocolate banana protein powder, 1 mashed banana, 1 scoop almond butter, 1 tbsp dark chocolate cocoa powder, coconut milk to thin

Deliiiiightful!

IMG 2487

oat-cake! 1/2 cup oats, 3 tbsp pumpkin, 1/2 cup liquid egg whites, peanut flour sauce (just mixed with almond milk and sea salt) and smashed banana + maple syrup

IMG 2483

greek yogurt with oats and peanuts

*I wasn’t a big fan of the Greek Gods greek yogurt. It wasn’t nearly as thick as most other brands!

IMG 2481

chicken sausage, indian spiced rice blend, and veggies

I tried broccolini for the first time:

IMG 2489

I had heard this called the “king of the broccolis” haha, so I’ve always been intrigued to try it but had never picked it up before. After Matt posted about it last week, it sparked my interest again. I simply drizzled the bunch with olive oil, lemon juice, sea salt, fresh cracked pepper, and garlic powder then stuck it under the broiler for about 10 minutes.

ta-da!

IMG 2491

along with roasted kabocha squash and turkey meatloaf. Not too shabby of a meal, eh?

How good is kobacha squash right now?! It has got to be my favorite food at the moment. I’m pretty sad that I ate the whole thing and know have to wait until my next trip home before I can have it again. Darn you, dorm room living!

IMG 2494

typical sludge bowl of glory…never gets old. Trutein chocolate peanut butter cup protein, greek yogurt, coconut milk, cocoa powder, peanut butter. mmmmm

Of course I had to make something while I had kitchen access for the weekend.

IMG 2447

I did a variation of my chocolate pumpkin banana bread. Instead of the banana, I used 1 cup blended cottage cheese and upped the pumpkin to 1 cup. The result was moist doughy deliciousness! I wrapped them all up and took them back to school with me. Easy grab and go snacks for during the week!

I  was feeling pretty homesick and did NOT want to leave when it was time for me to head back. It is still taking a considerable amount of time for me to adjust to this new life, which I realize is completely normal. However, me being the highly impatience person that I am, I have not been having it. My plate is pretty full, especially now that I’ve thrown a job into the mix. Guess who’s getting up at 4:30 tomorrow morning to open the gym??? If you guessed me…you would be correct. I really do like my job though and have loved the people that I’ve met through it so far as well. It’s just going to take some time to become familiar with everything and get into a routine. I keep telling myself that I need to have patience, but I’m sure you all can guess how well that works out, lol. It’s hard being a “grown up”! Can I just go back to like, 1st grade, when there was still nap time, dress-up, and PB&J’s for lunch? Oh wait, I still do all of those things but oh well, you get where I’m going. Things were a lot EASIER back then.

So the mantra has been: One day at a time. I will get there. Things will get better. I just have to keep going, one foot in front of the other!

Anyone else have any good mantras?

Have you ever been home-sick?

***Good Watch: A video on the Dorm Room Diet

Kristi

22 Responses to “Naptime, Dress-up, and PB&J’s”

  1. LightOnMyFeet October 26, 2011 at 1:05 am #

    Adorable lil’ dog<3 All your eats look great! I love the chocolate peanut butter cup thing!

  2. Alexandra October 26, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    AWWWW Jaci is adorable!! 😀 I miss my pups too, there’s nothing like a snuggly, furry buddies to keep you company heehee Missing home sucks, but being away sure makes the heart grow fonder, eh? 🙂
    Love the eats! I’ve never tried broccolini but it looks amazing!
    And good luck tomorrow morning! I’ll send the caffeine wizards to help you stay awake haha 😉

    • Sweetly Fit October 26, 2011 at 2:02 am #

      oh I’ll most likely be double fisting the coffee haha.

  3. Amy Hanley, RD (@AhealthEeater) October 26, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    I was always homesick at school, luckily I eventually found an awesome group of friends and activities that suited me…but it takes time! Remember that not everyone adjusts after a few months…after you get one semester under your belt you will feel much better! Also try to do things that you would normally do at home…for me I would make sure to I went to mass every Sunday and watch my favorite TV shows. You will find your niche! For me it was doing rec band (I did marching band in high school) and joining an academic focused sorority sophomore year. You can do it!

  4. Naomi(onefitfoodie) October 26, 2011 at 1:19 am #

    haha ohh the transition to the working life!! yeah you definately get used to it, but I agree it was so wierd at first acutally having to ‘work’ Once you find something you love though, it never feels like work 🙂

    did you like the turkey meatloaf?!?! it looked so good! I htink I loved it because the sauteed onions gave it such a natural sweet flavor! YUM

    • Sweetly Fit October 26, 2011 at 2:01 am #

      yes it was fantastic!!! The onions were my favorite part, too.

  5. Tara October 26, 2011 at 1:48 am #

    Wow, 4.30 is early! I got up at 5.30 today to go to the gym and that was bad enough!! Your protein sludge looks amazing! My night-time protein creations are always my favourite meal of the day 🙂

  6. Sable@SquatLikeALady October 26, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    Jaci’s face is SO adorable! Oh my gosh. What a princess 🙂

    Work at 4:30am….ooooh boy. I don’t know if I could handle that.

  7. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! October 26, 2011 at 2:15 am #

    I looooove turkey meatloaf!! So yummy! And my dog does the same thing for me….so cute! 🙂

  8. KatsHealthCorner October 26, 2011 at 2:48 am #

    4:30?! 🙂 Haha, now that is early! I’ve gotten up at 4am before, but it is still so early-in-the-morning!

    I have really got to try me one of those breakfast cookies.

  9. Tessa @ Amazing Asset October 26, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    WOw that is so sooo early woman! I want a dog quite badly, and even more now 🙂

  10. Katie Carso October 26, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Im glad you got to go home and see your family and to see your pup!

    Yes, being an adult is hard! Day by day girl! Im really glad you are loving the job at the gym!

    As I am writing you this comment, you are already there, EARLY morning for you! Hope coffee helped! xoxo ❤

  11. Em (@Pureglow16) October 26, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    that bread looks awesome!! i made pumpkin spice cookies yesterday 🙂

  12. Jen@foodfamilyfitness October 26, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    If it makes you feel better I’m up at 4:15am to work out every day, so know that you aren’t up at that time alone 😉

    • Sweetly Fit October 28, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      that does make me feel better! I felt like I felt like I was the only person alive walking to my car that early…it was almost TOO quiet!

  13. keepnthefaith October 26, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    One day at a time is a great motto. I also love Tomorrow is a new day to start over. When Im upset about how today is going, I just remember that tomorrow is full of endless possibilites 🙂

  14. Kate October 26, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Whenever I go home I can never stay focused on studying! I am glad that you had a good time back home, and that you got to bake! That bread sounds amazing, so I am going to have to make it soon! 🙂

    Can’t wait to see more posts…I love seeing what you eat/do since we are both college students! More grocery haul posts, please! 🙂

  15. Chelcie's Food Files October 26, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Your puppy is SO cute! I totally understand your pain of being homesick..last year I was a freshman in college and when I went home for a weekend I really didn’t want to come back! However I promise you it gets a lot easier! Now, (even though I miss my dogs SO much), I don’t miss home because I have established a new life here on my own. Going home is a nice break from the stress of college life, but I don’t get the feeling anymore of not wanting to go back..basically all I can tell you is it does get easier! But i still agree that life was a whole lot easier and simple back in the day:)

  16. Shannon @ Healthiful Balance October 27, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Your eats look really good! And your dog is so adorable! 🙂

  17. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers October 27, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Mmm – I’ve never made bread with cottage cheese. Creative!

  18. Sarah October 28, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    kabocha is one of my all time favorite foods! And ive always wanted to try brocolini, but regular broccoli is always so much cheaper.

  19. mindrunningwild October 30, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Kabocha is my favourite. I can for sure eat a whole one in a day. I eat it for breakfast with a dipping sauce I make from nondairy milk and yogurt and of course with nut butter. I actually just bought another one today!
    I feel you about going home and cooking a ton! I’m abroad this year with my own kitchen, but the amount of space I have allotted to me in the fridge puts a small damper on the amount of veg or anything I buy 😦
    Oh girl, I’ve been homesick. I’ve been here a month and I still get homesick. In my third year of college! I actually did a post about it a couple weeks back on my travel blog http://wp.me/p1NPXP-9K
    Hope you feel better. It comes and goes, and is completely normal.

Leave a Reply

