Recipe Winners

30 Oct

Happy Sunday!

Another week down, and another week closer to break! Woohoo!!

Breakfast this morning was a good one. I made some proats (protein + oats) using 1/2 cup old fashioned oats, 1 cup water, 1/2 cup almond milk, and 1 serving Trutein cinnabon protein powder stirred in at the end. I mashed a banana on the bottom of my bowl and poured the oats on top.

IMG 2520

Banana cream pie oats anyone?

IMG 2523

I was able to make a few new recipes lately that were definite winners. First up were some zucchini bars:

IMG 2514

IMG 2516<— $Money Shot

I used BusyButHealthy’s recipe for zucchini nut muffins. They turned out so moist and awesome! I like to under-bake my baked goods so they are extra gooey. I don’t do dry baked goodies. This is a good tip especially when baking lower fat/higher protein goods since they tend to dry out more than higher fat versions.

I also made some homemade no-bake energy bars to take to work and classes:

IMG 2518

No-Bake Goji-Carob Bars

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 cup protein powder
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup goji berries (or any other dried fruit)
  • 1/4 cup carob chips (or dark chocolate chips)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • dash of cinnamon
  • splash of vanilla extract

Soften peanut butter in microwave then mix in the rest of the ingredients. Take an 8×8 pan and line with plastic wrap. flatten dough mixture onto the wrap, making sure dough is evenly distributed. Set the pan in the fridge or freezer for 10-20 minutes to harden up a bit. Then you can cut them into bars and individually wrap for an easy grab and go snack! It makes around 6-8 bars depending on how big you like them. I go for the 6 count. 🙂

I recently got a special delivery from Pop Chips:

IMG 2524

They hooked me up with some major chip snackin’ goods:

IMG 2525

I am pretty excited to try out all of their awesome flavors, including:

  • original
  • BBQ
  • sour cream and onion
  • sea salt and vinegar
  • salt and pepper
  • cheddar
  • parmesan and garlic
  • jalapeno

Stayed tuned for a a possible giveaway soon!

A recent purchase that I’m loving? Nike Free Runs!

IMG 2526

I have the Free Trainers already from Nike that I love, but have been wanting to get a pair of the Free Runs for a while now. I pretty much live in tennis shoes these days. Being a college student who walks all over campus every day and working at a gym definitely calls for a few good pairs of shoes! Both the free trainer and free run are SUPER light weight which is the reason why I love them so much. The main difference between the two is that the free run is a slightly studier and more supportive shoe. The free trainers are more “slipper” like, which isn’t a bad thing if you’re just out and about or doing any form of lighter work/exercise. The free runs are better obviously for running or other more intensive exercise.

Speaking of workouts, I did a fun lower body workout the other day that was a nice change of pace. It was one of those workouts where I went into it not really having any plan and just making it up as I go. Sometimes those workouts turn out to be some of the best…and other times it’s a fail. Luckily this was a win! I wasn’t feeling the heavy weights and just wanted something a little easier. Sometimes all your body needs is some nice light movement, so I listened and this was the result:

Lighter Lower Body Blast Circuit

  • walking lunges
  • butt kicks
  • squat jumps
  • ab crunch on ball
  • standing glute lifts
  • zig zag hops

Repeat for a total of 3 rounds and you’re done. Short and sweet!

I have a Chem test tomorrow that I need to study for. Hopefully there will also be some relaxing thrown in at some point today, too. What are Sundays for after all? Hope you all are having a fantastic weekend!

Kristi

19 Responses to “Recipe Winners”

  1. LightOnMyFeet October 30, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I love the no bake energy bar recipe! Definitely a must try! 🙂

  2. Alexandra October 30, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Oooh those zucchini bars look EPIC! 😀 And I’ve been dying to buy some Nike Free’s, I can never find them in stock around here to try on haha
    Can you believe it’s almost THE MONTH OF THANKSGIVING?!?!?! We’re almost there my friend! 😀

    • Sweetly Fit October 30, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      ahhh I am SO EXCITED!!!! Just a little bit more!

  3. Sable@SquatLikeALady October 30, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    Ooooh I love the idea of keeping the banana kinda separate from the oats! Normally I just mix it all up but that sounds goooooood!

    Good luck on your Chem test!

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! October 30, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Those zucchini bars looks fantastic!!!!! As do the no bake bars!!! So yummy!!!

  5. College Body October 30, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    The Nike Free Runs are my favorite shoe ever! I don’t think I can ever workout in another shoe. Those are pretty fresh, I like the yellow & gray!

  6. Katie Carso October 30, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Loving the sneaks! You know I would love them in Pink even more ; )

    Hope your weekend was great girl!

    xoxo ❤

  7. Meg (A Dash of Meg) October 30, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    your breakfast looks great sweetie 😀 I think I will try that out 😀

  8. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody October 31, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    It looks like the zucchini bars turned out great! And the recipe for the no bake energy bars look spectacular 🙂 I’ve seen popchips around but I’ve never actually tried them! I will have to pick up a bag the next time I see them 🙂

  9. Tessa @ Amazing Asset October 31, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    I loveee Nike Frees! They are the best 🙂 I am on my second pair now!
    And the no-bake recipe is a rather ideal one for me! thanks for sharing deary

  10. Allison @ PickyEatingRD October 31, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    I really like pop chips when I am looking for something crunchy and not super calorie ridden. Sour cream and onion rocks my world!

  11. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope October 31, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Those no-bake bars sound so good! It’s the perfect simple recipe for a college student. 🙂 Good luck on the Chem exam… I have a mid-term this morning too. Hang in there! 🙂

  12. Chelcie's Food Files October 31, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    mmm no-bake bars sound SO good! I might have to make those right about now:)

  13. kat October 31, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    Mmmm everything looks tasty!! I need some serious new running shoes. I’ve been using the same pair for waaay too long and my legs are really starting to feel it!!
    And I’ve never tried popchips!

  14. Em (@Pureglow16) October 31, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    nice recipe makin! i’ve been doin that lately as well! trying to find stuff i can eat! 🙂

  15. Allison's Delicious Life November 1, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    The Free Runs are really cute! I need a new pair of tennis shoes. Arch support is huge for me since I have some hip injuries and a bad back. Walking all over campus is rough, but it’s hard to incorporate tennis shoes into cute outfits, haha.

  16. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel November 1, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

  17. Jen@foodfamilyfitness November 1, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    I have the Nike Free Trainers and I love them! They are my most favorite shoe right now!!!

Leave a Reply

