Grocery Finds

3 Nov

Happy Almost Friday! I for one, can’t WAIT for the weekend! I’m taking a little break from dorm living to do my Maid Of Honor duties and go wedding/bridesmaids dress shopping with my sister and some of the other people in the wedding party. A trip home AND shopping? You don’t have to ask me twice!

First, make sure you check out yesterday’s post about simple dinner ideas. Now is the perfect time to whip out the old crock pot and warm up with some homemade soup or chili…one of my favorite comfort foods!

I have a couple new-to-me grocery finds:

Mr. Wheat Crispy Wheat Snacks

IMG 2484

These are similar to rice cakes but are even lighter. They are made from puffed wheat and literally weigh nothing! Calorically, they are super light. Each crisp is only 16 calories, so they make a great base to load up with toppings.

I grabbed two flavors to try: honey and sea salt. They also come in apple cinnamon as well as plain. They are very versatile…here are some things I like to top them with:

  • PB & J
  • cottage cheese
  • hummus and salsa
  • greek yogurt mixed with peanut flour
  • protein frosting (protein powder mixed with some almond milk)
  • lean turkey and some cheese
  • egg-white puff and laughing cow cheese wedge

Earth Balance Natural No-Stir Peanut Butter

IMG 2485

I go through at least a jar of nut butter a week, so when it was time to replenish my fridge stash, I was in the mood to try something different. I went with this one on a whim and would have to give it a 7/10. It tastes a lot like regular Jif peanut butter, so it would be a good option for someone wanting to make the switch to natural peanut butter. I am not a fan of regular Jif, I like my natural, so this wouldn’t be my first choice. I missed the chunks of my usual natural! Lesson learned: If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. 🙂

Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Vanilla Herbal Tea

IMG 2486

I really like this! I have been drinking tea all day long lately with this lovely (read: sucky) weather we’ve been having lately. I usually just drink green tea but this is a great caffeine-free option for at night. The taste is very similar to chamomile tea but with a slight vanilla spin. Two thumbs up!

A couple other food pics as of late:

IMG 2506

pumpkin egg white oatbran with sunflower seed butter <—my jar is almost empty. I am going to be in Trader Joes withdrawal mode very soon.

IMG 2424

PB and J oats in the greek yogurt container

 

IMG 2511

I have been enjoying simple post-workout shakes lately, using my favorite protein powder brand, TruScience Trutein:

1. a scoop of chocolate covered banana protein, 1/2 fresh banana, 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk, 3 ice cubes

2. a scoop of cinnabon protein, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1 milk almond milk, 3 ice cubes, dash of cinnamon

IMG 2507

Meal from the dining hall + homemade turkey meatloaf brought from home

IMG 2508

sweet potato + vegan cheese spread, pork loin, veggies + salsa

IMG 2513

Spaghetti squash boat! with vegan cheeze sauce, sesame encrusted shrimp, and feta cheese

vegan cheeze sauce = silken tofu, nutritional yeast, salt and seasonings, splash of almond milk: blend together, warm up, and serve.

IMG 2373

Night time sludge: peanut butter cup Trutein protein, almond butter, almond milk, greek yogurt swirl

Not much new here; School, work, hectic-ness. Time to get rolling and be productive so I can have fun this weekend!

Q’s for today:

Have you had any good grocery finds?

What are your weekend plans?

Kristi

27 Responses to “Grocery Finds”

  1. mindrunningwild November 3, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Oh my!! First of all, you’re reminding me how I bought those crisp thin things and had to leave them home to try after I come home from London. I hope they’re good!
    I’ve never tried Earth Balance PB- I tried the Smart Balance one the first time I had peanut butter after I’d thought I was allergic for many years and I wasn’t impressed. I baked it into something because it tasted fake. I’ll take my natural nut butters, thanks.
    Sleepytime Vanilla? Bring it on!!
    I love the crust that formed on your oat bran. Did you bake it or did it just do that. I suppose oats do it on their own don’t they?
    haha I was going to ask what the vegan cheese sauce was but then you answered me. I need to get nutritional yeast, obviously.
    Weekend plans are to finish all my essays preliminarily so my friend who is coming to London from Paris and I can have fun during reading week!

  2. Chelcie's Food Files November 3, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    I love those thin rice cakes! they are so yummy! Your eats look delicious! Spaghetti squash and shrimp sounds like a great combination!

  3. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog November 3, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    The spaghetti squash boat with shrimp looks amazing! 🙂

  4. Alexandra November 3, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Your dining hall eats are always so colorful and tasty looking! The newest grocery item I’ve been loving is Nature’s Path Heritage flakes, they’re the bomb in yogurt messes 😀
    Hope you have an amazing weekend chica, just think, one more closer to break!! Eeeeee!!!

  5. Kris November 3, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    Mmmm your eats look AMAZING!! I’ve been loving the Quaker Crispy Mini “chips” right now…I have a new vlog on the blog that explains what I’m lovin 😉

    xxoo

  6. Tessa @ Amazing Asset November 3, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    I loveee those crisp things…the apple cinnamon one is great.. be on the lookout for that flavor 🙂
    I still need to try earth balance, it’s on my to-buy list for sure

  7. Stephanie@Snacking on Sunshine November 3, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    REALLY yummy eats girl! I love the spaghetti squash boat idea 😀

  8. lifttorun November 4, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    That Spaghetti squash boat looks fantastically good.

  9. Tara November 4, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    Your eats always look so delicious! I’m impressed with how well you do with cafeteria food 🙂

  10. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! November 4, 2011 at 1:53 am #

    Those rice cake things sound delicious!!!! I love rice cakes and I am always looking to try a new kind! I gotta look those up 🙂

  11. kbwood November 4, 2011 at 2:27 am #

    girl i wana try that trutein protein powder now!!!! do you order it?

  12. caloricandcrazy November 4, 2011 at 3:50 am #

    I so want to try that spaghetti squash boat! Looks like you’ve given me some inspiration girl 😉

  13. Katie Carso November 4, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Happy Friday love!!

    I love those wheat snack cake things! I used to get those all the time when I lived in Indiana, cant find them in PA though!

    Hope all is great! xoxo ❤

  14. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope November 4, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Totally agree with you on the peanut butter… I tried it and thought it was good, but not amazing. Definitely had more of the “fake” peanut butter taste, and I actually really like the raw/natural kind too!

    Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  15. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody November 4, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    They’ve had those Mr. Wheat Crisps at my grocery store for about a year now, and I like them for a few things! Mainly peanut butter and melted dark chocolate. 🙂

    I love your spaghetti squash boat 🙂

    • Sweetly Fit November 4, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      choco + pb…WHY didn’t I think of that? Yum!!!

  16. emily November 5, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    First of all, I love your blog!
    Second, those crisps sound amazing! I looove the versatility of rice cakes and those sound similar. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for them.
    And don’t you love the Sleepytime Vanilla tea? It’s one of my favorites! 🙂

  17. Jen@foodfamilyfitness November 5, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    oooo, I’m going to have to find those crispy wheat snacks!!!!

  18. Naomi(onefitfoodie) November 5, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    mmmm all of the newfinds look awesome esp the vanilla tea!! I just got some eggnog tea and its so good! (bigelow brand) I am still on the lookout for the pumpkin spice one too! 🙂

    Do you like the truetein protein? I havent tried it but heard good things!

    I love the idea of a squash boat…why? delicious and less dishes hehe

    • Sweetly Fit November 6, 2011 at 12:00 am #

      Naomi, Trutein is AWESOME!!! Hands down the best all around protein I’ve ever had, both nutrition-wise and taste/texture-wise.

  19. pbbrittany November 5, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    oh.my…..I honestly can’t stop drooling. Your food looks SO good!!!! yumm- share with me, please??? 😛

  20. Shannon (Healthiful Balance) November 6, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Great finds! 🙂
    And as always, your food looks sooo good! 🙂

  21. teabagginit November 7, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    i’ve been loving on quick-cooking steel cut oats lately – so hearty … and yet so quick!

  22. keepnthefaith November 7, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    those are some great finds!! I actually picked up a new tea this weekend too, Stash Cinnamon Vanilla. It’s tasty, but not strong enough so I use two tea bags. Its a subtle cinnamon flavor which is good, but I think Ill buy it again 🙂

  23. Sarah November 10, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    The spaghetti squash boat is such a good idea!

  24. Ashley November 13, 2011 at 5:30 am #

    Your foods and eats look so darn good!! Even the pics are making me hungry 🙂 Protein frosting is now on my list of things to try now. Gotta sneak that protein in whenever I can. I love sleepytime tea!! As a former nightime snacker/binger that stuff saves my night and helps fight off overeating. Plus it taste sooo good!!

Leave a Reply

