Dreary equals productivity

7 Nov

Hi all!

The new week has started off pretty dreary. Did anyone else get stuck with rain today?

NewImage

It’s supposed to continue on tomorrow and I’m suddenly regretting not buying a pair of rain boots. At the beginning of the school year, I was told that I would need some for campus walking, but I could not bring myself to buy a pair after trying on numerous ones and feeling absolutely ridiculous. Maybe it’s just in my head because I think they look cute on everyone else!

Fortunately despite the weather, I’ve been able to have a pretty productive day including:

1. Chem lecture and study time

2. knocking out a big nutrition assignment

3. going to get my dorm release papers signed (yay!!!)

4. doing a little cardio and lower body weights workout

5. two loads of laundry being completed as I’m typing this post

Not bad to start off the week, eh?

Seeing as this weather goes hand in hand with snuggling, I am really missing my #1 snuggle buddy:

NewImage

NewImage

(pics sent from my mamma!)

I am continuing to count down the days until Thanksgiving Break like none other. I am so anxious to be able to go home for more than just a few days at a ย time. Spending a weekend at home always feels so rushed because the thought of leaving bright and early Monday morning is always looming right around the corner. I can’t WAIT to have a whole week off! And even more so, I can’t wait to have my first semester of college under my belt. It’s definitely had it’s ups and downs and I’m just ready to wrap things up and move on to bigger and better things. <like moving into my first apartment!!!

A few fun nutrition-related things have happened recently:

1. My Student Dietetics Association group got together last week to meet with the dietitian who runs our local Hyvee grocery store. She took us ย upstairs to a special VIP “club house” section of the store and gave us a private cooking lesson! It was very cool! She is a certified personal chef in addition to her dietitian credential and it was pretty neat to see a not-as-common way to use a dietetics degree. In addition to teaching various cooking classes (she meets weekly with a gluten-free group, weight-loss groups, children groups, and more) so also counsels individuals and then is able to walk them through the grocery store to show them exactly what kinds of things they should be buying according to what their specific dietary needs are. She explained to us that dietitians are becoming increasingly more common in grocery stores….as well as really any place or business in general. You can literally work ANYWHERE as a dietitian nowadays, even though most people automatically think of hospital jobs when dietitians come to mind; not the case at all! Back to the cooking demonstration, we made margarita pizzas with fresh roma tomatoes, fresh basil, a mixture of cheeses, pesto spread, and marinated chicken on gluten-free and whole wheat pizza crusts. One word: DELISH.

2. I finally met with the dietitian who works at the gym I work at. I am going to start working one-on-one with her and learning more about all that she does on a day to day basis. I will also be getting involved in different outreach efforts and promotions for nutrition and fitness with her help. I am so thankful to have a job in my future field of work!

Time to get some dinner! Hope everyone’s week is off to a great start!

Kristi

ย 

14 Responses to “Dreary equals productivity”

  1. mindrunningwild November 7, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    That’s so great!! I’m glad you’re so proactive about getting experience early. It shows real maturity and forward thinking- bravo!!
    I’m sorry you’re feeling a bit homesick. Believe me, I completely get it. Even when I’m happy, I still miss those who matter most. I find that being busy and being around other people really helps me!

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! November 7, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    WOW! You’ve been busy!! But productivity is awesome so congrats for getting so much done!!!!!!

  3. Alexandra November 7, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    Dang you’ve been super productive! We had rain today too, but I just took naps haha
    That’s wicked awesome about the gym dietician, that’s gonna be SUCH an amazing experience ๐Ÿ™‚ And just think, in a few weeks you’ll get to snuggle with your pup!!

  4. Tara November 7, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    It’s great that you’re already working in your field, and going above and beyond what is required. That shows you truly love your job and you will be great at it ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Dawn November 7, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    I love rain boots on everyone else…I have never bought a pair for myself for the same reason you have not.

  6. Tessa @ Amazing Asset November 8, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    I actually am much more productive on rainy days too! When it’s sunny and nice out, all I want to do is be out in the sun and enjoying the weather

  7. Mariel (@Marielxox16) November 8, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    i love being productive when its dreary because then i don’t feel like im missing out on the weather! lol

  8. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody November 8, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    That’s great you are taking the initiative to get involved with the dietitian to see what her job is like! Experience is always the best way to learn ๐Ÿ™‚ What a cute dog!

  9. pbbrittany November 8, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    I’m so excited for you that you get to start working with the gyms dietitian!! Congrats. I can’t wait to hear how all of that goes ๐Ÿ™‚

    &I’m the same way with boots. I don’t own a pair of boots, I want to though, but I feel like I look weird in them… lol.
    Have a great day!

  10. KatsHealthCorner November 8, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    How fun that you get to work with dietitians!!! You are so lucky. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Jen@foodfamilyfitness November 8, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Yay for getting to move into an apartment! Congratulations ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. healthycollegegirl November 9, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    good for you for staying motivated despite the dreary weather! gloomy days make me want to curl up in a ball and not do ANYTHING ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Stephanie@Snacking on Sunshine November 10, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Wow how productive are you! Way to go ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your snuggle buddy is super cute. I miss my little girl too ๐Ÿ˜ฆ she has this way of tucking up against me and putting her paws in my lap that just melts my heart. Dogs are the very best.
    Love that you’re getting some experience in with the dietician – that’s for sure the best way to learn, and I’m excited to read more about it ๐Ÿ™‚ the cooking class sounds like a lot of fun.

  14. Kirstie @ Musings of a Happy Life November 12, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Oh, your puppy is just too precious!

Leave a Reply

