Extreme Workouts and Fall Food

13 Nov

Hi all! Happy Sunday to you!

Today has been pretty low-key so far, much needed after another heck of a week. There’s been some breakfast lounging, a bit of nutrition studying for next week’s exam, and a nice long trail walk in the gorgeous Fall weather. I’m trying to get out as much as possible before Winter sets in!

I am learning some pretty interesting stuff in my Psychology class, and one lecture that was particularly relatable to me was one on the topic of stress, along with type A personalities. I don’t have  my notes with me at the moment, but I will go over what I learned probably some time next week. Cool stuff!

Workout-wise, I’ve been trying out some stuff from a few of the personal trainers at work. They have these little typed out workout cards that you can just pick from and get to down to business. They are all very time efficient; short, sweet, intense, effective. Just how I like them! Yesterday I did the following:

Extreme Workout #1

  • .25 mile run
  • max assisted pull ups~1 minute
  • .25 mile run
  • max reverse crunch on bench~1 minute
  • .25 mile run
  • max dips~1 minute
  • .25 mile run
  • plank~1 minute

repeat once, for a total of 2 times through.

This was challenging, in a fun way. I’m really liking this style of exercise and will post more as I do them!

Food lately, Fall comfort style!

IMG 2534

giant mug oats with egg whites, almond butter, jam, and banana

IMG 2550

egg white oatbran with Nuttzo and POM seeds—>love these little guys!

IMG 2548

simple dorm meals~turkey sandwich with snap peas and a fuji

I ❤ Fall produce.

IMG 2535

kabocha, persimmons, pomegranates

IMG 2539

persimmon + cottage cheese

IMG 2533

greek yogurt mixed with Trutein cinnabon protein powder and topped with flaxmeal

IMG 2529

roasted spaghetti squash with lean ground turkey, marinara, steamed veggies, nutritional yeast, and…what the heck are those purple things?!?

IMG 2530

mini purple sweet potatoes! Aren’t they CUTE? I roasted them in the oven with coconut oil and sea salt and devoured. yum.

IMG 2537

banana cream pie pudding~ 1 scoop Trutein banana cream protein powder, 1/2 cup blended cottage cheese, splash of almond milk. Topped with Maranantha organic creamy peanut butter.

Time for more studying…one more week until Thanksgiving break. Yay!!!!!

What are you looking forward to most about Thanksgiving?

For me, I don’t think I could possibly choose just one thing. There is so much to look forward to! A whole week to sleep in my own bed at home (in peace and QUIET!), a break for my brain, delicious food, family togetherness, de-stressing, the list could on forever!

Kristi

 

21 Responses to “Extreme Workouts and Fall Food”

  1. Shannon (Healthiful Balance) November 13, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    As always, yummy eats! I’ve never seen or tried purple sweet potatos before..but will keep my eye out for them! 🙂

    I’m looking forward to all the FOOD and spending time with friends and family 🙂

  2. Katie Carso November 13, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    hey girl!

    Awwwww I bet you are SO excited to be home for Thanksgiving!
    I am excited to be with family and for stuffing!!!

    Happy Sunday! xoxo

  3. Sable@SquatLikeALady November 13, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Your eats are always so unique and tasty-looking! Keep it up girlie 😉 I’m heading to Publix now & am definitely going to keep my eyes peeled for mini sweet tateres! YUM!!!

    That workout is almost tabata style…I like it! I think I could probably modify it and use it as one of my conditioning days.

  4. pbbrittany November 13, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Your food looks so delicious! I just got a POM yesterday and haven’t figured out how to open it yet 😛

    The thing i’m looking forward to is just being able to relax and not feel like I’m running out of time!

    Have a great Sunday!

  5. Mariel (@Marielxox16) November 13, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    i guess im looking forward to seeing family! 🙂

  6. Alexandra November 13, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Mini purple sweet potatoes?!? Whoa that’s awesome! 😀 and heck yes to pomegranates mmm definitely a favorite of mine!
    Thanksgiving is almost here WOOOOO!

  7. Chelcie's Food Files November 13, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    those eats look delicious! I’m looking forward to fall produce as well! I am SO excited for thanksgiving break. I’m most looking forward to relaxing and eating lots of yummy food:)

  8. Tessa @ Amazing Asset November 13, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    ooo yes everything does look rather pretty and “fall like” 🙂 I am looking forward to the prepping of the meal, eating of course 🙂 and just seeing my whole family, I miss them!

  9. Allison @ PickyEatingRD November 14, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    I love that Poms are finally back on the shelves! We actually just had our Thanksgiving meal last night because we will be out of town on the actual date. It was so yummy and I am most def. stuffed!!

  10. Tara November 14, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    I would love to find some mini sweet potatoes! It would be much easier to portion out my servings 😉

    I’m so jealous of your spaghetti squash! We don’t have it in Australia 😦

  11. Ellie November 14, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    those baby sweet potatoes look so yummy!!

    great workout too girl

  12. kaila @ healthyhelper November 14, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    OMG! MINI PURPLE SWEET POTATOES!?!?!?! Where did you ever find those!? Purple sweet potatoes are my favorite. And I love Nuttzo too!! So yummy!!

  13. Meg November 14, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    Those purple taters are SO CUTE! I want! 😀

    Enjoy your day lady and Thanksgiving is ALMOST here!

  14. ilovefetacheese November 14, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    I LOVE BABY SWEET POTATOES!!! SO cutteee

  15. Paige @ RAN November 15, 2011 at 1:29 am #

    I love the idea of the pudding! I’ve never heard of Trutein pp, but I’m off to check it out now 🙂

  16. The Nut Butter Runner November 15, 2011 at 3:16 am #

    Awesome eats! My mom totally bought me a bag of the purple potatoes for when I come home.. So excited for them! Your workout sounds pretty intense.. I want to try it sometime!

  17. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody November 16, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    Those mini sweet potatoes are so cute! That whole meal looks fantastic! I’m loving all the fall produce too 🙂

  18. Allison's Delicious Life November 16, 2011 at 3:46 am #

    Oh my gosh! I MUST find those little sweet potatoes! How cute 🙂 Actually, that meal with the sweet potatoes looks perfect to me. I love how you have the protein from the turkey, veggies, and carbs from the sweet potato and squash. Yum!

  19. ilovefetacheese November 17, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Did you do your workout outside or at a gym? Looks awesome! All the food looks so yummy too.

  20. caloricandcrazy November 25, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Loving the mini purple potatoes!!!

Leave a Reply

