Surreal

19 Dec

Did I really sleep in until 10:00 this morning?

NewImage

Name that movie! We can’t be friends if you don’t know Buddy the elf.

Have I really been baking and cooking in a real kitchen?

IMG 2643

(Julie’s pumpkin baked oatmeal made with peanut flour,Β blueberries, and cream cheese)

IMG 2639

(Creamy cheesey lean beefy bowl: stir fry veggies, miracle noodles, lean beef all mixed up with a homemade sauce containing: pumpkin, laughing cow cheese wedge, nutritional yeast, dijon mustard, salt, pepper, garlic, and almond milk to thin)

Have I really been snuggling up to this face of cuteness?

IMG 2645

(my Jaci lover)

Have I really been reading something other than a giant school textbook?

IMG 2647

(Hunger Games has my full attention. On book two baby!)

Have I really spent countless hours feeding a new addiction called Pinterest?

Screen shot 2011 12 19 at 2 59 10 PM

Yes, I finally decided to join in on the fun. Add me if you are on the pinning bandwagon, too! (search Kristi Howard)

Have I really been able to whip up some amazing, nourishing, soothing, blender beverages for my sore throat?

IMG 2637

green monster is back! (1 cup almond milk, 1 cup ice, 2 handfuls spinach, 1 banana, 1 tbsp peanut butter, 1 serving Trutein choco-covered banana protein powder) + green tea to warm up after.

IMG 2641

Reeses blizzard treat (1 serving peanut flour, dash of raw cacao powder, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/4 cup cottage cheese, lots of ice, pinches of guar and xanthan gum for thickening) blend blend blend!

Surreal.

That is definitely the word to sum up how I’m feeling right now. Surreal, but in a really good way. I’m so thankful to be home, free of stress, school, dorm rooms, and finally able to really relax. TLC is happening to the maximum and I’m loving every minute of it! And bonus: I’m starting to feel much better from my recent sickness lapse, just in time for the Holiday festivities. Things are looking up!

What are you thankful for today?

Kristi

18 Responses to “Surreal”

  1. Meg (A Dash of Meg) December 19, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    What an adorable post πŸ™‚ I LOVE IT

    I am so thankful for being done my finals as of today! Wahoo!

    Keep enjoying your holidays girl xo

  2. Alexandra December 19, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    OMG Jaci is just too cute for words!!! πŸ˜€ and I just buckled to the calls of pinterest today too! I’ll go add you asap πŸ˜‰
    Today I’m thankful for family, good food, and happy pets heehee

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! December 19, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    Yay for being on break! That’ll be me in a few days!! I have got to try that reeses drink! Sounds amazing!!

  4. Tara December 19, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    Aww I’m so glad you’re enjoying being back home! Your dog is too cute!

  5. Errign December 19, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    I’m thankful for being home, my job, my life, my friends, family and puppy!

  6. Tessa @ Amazing Asset December 20, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    Loveee this post, everything about it made me smile πŸ™‚ Your dog is so cute too! And yes to the Hunger Games! I read the trilogy last year in about 4 days ha

    • Sweetly Fit December 20, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

      4 days? Now that is impressive! No matter how good a book is, I wouldn’t be able to sit still for that long. I get antsy!

  7. Sable@SquatLikeALady December 20, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    Sooo glad you’re getting in some relaxation time!! =) It is obviously VERY well-deserved! Soak it up!!!

  8. pbbrittany December 20, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    I.Love.This.Post. LOVE IT. haha. It sounds like you’re having such a great time!
    First of all- ELF!!! I haven’t watched that movie yet but I really want to!
    Second-your dog is so adorable!! That face is irresistable πŸ˜›
    three- YAY for Hunger Games! Let us know how you like it! I just finished the third book yesterday and literally wanted to cry because the series was over. πŸ˜› It’s a fantastic series, I love it. I’m so excited for the movie to come out next year!
    Have a great day relaxing πŸ™‚

    • Sweetly Fit December 20, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      You haven’t seen ELF?!!? That’s it, you’re coming over right now so we can fix that! Greatest Christmas movie of all time.

  9. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody December 20, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    I just finished my finals today…and it feels surreal! So I can TOTALLY relate to where you are coming from! πŸ™‚

  10. keepnthefaith December 21, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    looks like you have been doing great πŸ™‚ So glad you are enjoying your time off love!

  11. Chocolate Covered Sneakers December 21, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    This was such a cute post! and i can totally relate to it since today is my first official day of christmas break!! sounds like you had a great day!

  12. Jen@foodfamilyfitness December 21, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Elf!!!!

  13. Devyn December 21, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    Ah I am trying to join pinteresst, but they sent me an email like 4 days ago saying im on the wait list to join? Did this happen to you? How much longer! It’s very strange.

    • Sweetly Fit December 22, 2011 at 1:35 am #

      I don’t get how they do a lot of things on Pinterest…but I think if you get invited by someone then you can join faster? I’ll invite you and see!

  14. Natalie @Will Jog For Food December 22, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Jaci is so cute! It’s so nice to have a break from the “real world”. and…I need to start using Pinterest more! How are the miracle noodles? I’m kind of scared to try them.

    • Sweetly Fit December 22, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      I really like them! They do look a little funny, but are harmless I promise. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

