Reading = Winning.

22 Dec

Things are looking a little green around here…

IMG 2648

I’m still trying to fight off the last of my sickness, and what better way than with a green monster?

This nutrient packed one contained:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp flaxmeal
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese (makes it creamy!)
  • 1/2 serving peanut flour
  • 1/2 serving vanilla pea protein
  • 2 tsp instant coffee crystals
  • dash of vanilla and cinnamon
  • ice

I have been craving one of these every single morning lately ( a sign that my body is in need of healing nutrients) which is kind of ironic seeing as how it has been snowing for the last few days. Maybe the college dorms burned me out on oatmeal? Although it’s highly unlikely that will last for long!

So, there are two things I have been reading lately…and guess what? NEITHER are textbooks. (Winter Break forever, please?)

1. The Dorm Diet Ebook, produced by Danny Coleman of College Body. I personally know that Danny has been hard at work putting together this ebook and it is now officially available! Danny is very down to earth and easily relatable to college kids looking to stay fit and healthy while also having fun in college. Check it out. P.S. Did you know Danny is JillFit’s brother? Fitness runs in the family apparently! 🙂

2. Hunger Games, book 2. You all saw this coming. Still reading, still obsessed. In fact, there is a 99.7% chance that I will have my face buried in my Kindle right after I finish this post.

NewImage

So as you could probably guess, things have been pretty chill around here. I am finally recovering from my first semester of college and it feels uhhh-mazing. Want to know what my agenda is for today? Bake these almond chia seed muffins and paint my nails. I kid you not. Some may call this lazy, I call it WELL DESERVED.

I have been busy in the kitchen, however! I made a batch of my favorite turkey muffins~

IMG 2396

IMG 2660

wilted kale and mushrooms (with olive oil, lemon juice, sea salt, pepper, garlic powder), turkey muffins, and feta

And last night’s dinner featured one of my favorite kitchen appliances: the crockpot!

I am seriously convinced that you could throw anything you wanted into a crockpot, turn it on, and by the end of the day you are guaranteed to have a mouth-watering meal completely ready for you. Magical.

Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili

IMG 2662

Took me all but 5 minutes to prepare. 6 hours later…

IMG 2664

BAM. with pita for dipping. This recipe is a winner and will definitely be in the dinner rotation for next semester when I’ll be needing fast and easy meals. The other thing I love about crockpots is that you can make huge batches of meals all at once, and freeze half of it. Then on those nights when you don’t feel like cooking, all you have to do is reach for the freezer and reheat. No need for that Mcdonalds trip after all. 😉 *gag*

Treat of the night~

IMG 2658

Protein cookie dough: 1/2 scoop chocolate casein protein, 1/2 scoop Trutein choco pb cup protein, almond milk to thin. Topped with ff cream cheese and sunflower seed butter. Cream cheese is my new thing. It adds amazing creaminess (duh) but also has protein and calcium to boot. I’ll take it.

As for workouts, I have actually taken a week off from exercise, due to being sick and recovering from Madness Week (aka finals). I was feeling drained, physically and mentally and while exercise often times helps combat these things, there are other times when it’s time to call a break. It is good to give your body a break every now and then as it is essential to grow and repair your muscles. I now feel much stronger and am ready to kick some booty again! Yesterday, I did hop on the treadmill for a very light interval session, just to ease back into things.

NewImage

And I am instantly reminded why I love exercise so much. One word: ENDORPHINS. Exercise is my number one way to deal with stress and it never fails to make me feel 100% renewed and refreshed.

I am really itching for some good lifting workouts, but tonight is Spin with a Friend. (ha-ha) Well, it’s really just spin class, but Spin with a Friend has such a nice ring to it, no? I am so excited to take one of my favorite classes again and see a good friend. Most of the time time, I use exercise as “me” time, to clear my head and zone out. But fitness with other people is such a fun experience, too! Not only will they hold you accountable for showing up, but they will also make the time fly right by. Win.

Okay, now I really must get back to my jam packed schedule before I get behind on my nail painting. It is serious business, people!

Do you prefer working out alone or in a group setting?

Kristi

13 Responses to “Reading = Winning.”

  1. Tiff December 22, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Enjoy your break!

    Gotta love sum crock pot cookin!

  2. Chocolate Covered Sneakers December 22, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    those turkey muffins look soooooo good! i think that may be whats for dinner tonight!!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! December 22, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    That chili looks amazing and so do the turkey muffins! I really want to get into the hunger games….I finally will have some time to read now that I am officially on break!! YAYAYAY!

  4. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope December 22, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Can’t wait to read something besides textbooks over break! 🙂 And that smoothie looks amazing!

  5. Alexandra December 22, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Love this food and the idea of putting cream cheese on your protein gloop, I gotta try that! Hope you get to feeling better soon girl, that green monster looks grand! 🙂

  6. pbbrittany December 22, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    omg, the protein dessert thingy looks amazing!! I’m so hungry just looking at it. and I’m so glad you’re loving Catching Fire. That series is beyond addictive! I was depressed when the series was finished (because it was over. It had a cute ending. But I won’t spoil it for you 🙂 )

    Have a great spin class tonight!

  7. Kristen@ Swanky Dietitian December 22, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    I LOVED the Hunger Games series! So hard to put down!
    The protein cookie dough looks amazing! YUM!

  8. Meg (A Dash of Meg) December 22, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I much prefer to workout alone 🙂

    Thanks for sharing that green monster recipe/combo. Looks great hun. I still have yet to try one. Weird. I know! They seem like they’d be amazing – I just have to MAKE one though. Haha.

    Also, I love cream cheese, too 🙂 It’s probably one of the best things ever.

  9. Tara December 22, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I always prefer to work out on my own, but I appreciate the odd workout I can squeeze in with my husband 🙂 I never even thought of adding cream cheese to protein powder….yum!

  10. Katie Carso December 23, 2011 at 3:30 am #

    Loving the green protein smoothie!

    Hope you are well love and Happy Holidays to you and your family! ❤

  11. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody December 23, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    That crock pot dish looks fantastic! I’m loving reading too, it’s so nice to have something other than textbook words fill my mind! 🙂

  12. Rachel (tea and chocolate) December 23, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Yes, reading = winning. 🙂 I can’t read to something I actually choose to read now that it’s break.

  13. julie December 27, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    yay for delicious turkey muffins!! i’ve been such a turkey muffin monster lately its crazy haha. happy holidays lady!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

