Get Your Glow On

23 Dec

Spin class was GREAT last night! Classes are such a great way to add variety to your workout regimen and prevent boredom. It was just the boost I needed to put me in a great mood the rest of the night. Exercise = A Happy Me.

The high from class pumped me up for a great workout this morning as well. I was the first one up with plans to throw around some weights in what turned out to be an awesome Legs and Shoulder Workout.

Screen shot 2011 12 23 at 9 54 28 AM

I decided it was too cold to venture out to the gym, so a dumbbell-only, at-home workout it was! No gym is no excuse for not exercising…This is proof you can have a great workout wherever, whenever. 😛

After taking a week off from exercise, I felt SO strong during this workout. I missed my strength training! I love walking and spinning for cardio, but strength training is where it’s at when it comes to changing your body and feeling GOOD and STRONG.

Refuel time…yep, it’s another…

IMG 2670

GREEEEEN monster! Don’t fear the green, this tastes uh-mazing and is so full of nutrients. Today’s mix was a definite keeper and probably my current favorite shake combo.

IMG 2672

Peanut-Nana Latte Green Monster

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 serving peanut flour
  • 1/2 serving Trutein choco pb protein powder (or other protein)
  • 1 tbsp flaxmeal
  • 2 heaping tsp instant coffee crystals
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ice
  • oats mixed in at end

Energy in a glass! I also have to note that since coming home from college and being able to eat more meals made by me again, aka: healthier, more veggies, etc, my skin has been glowing and is SO smooth and clear. What you eat really does have an affect on your outer appearance. It just makes sense that when your insides are nourished properly, your outsides will reflect that as well.

Here are some of my favorite foods that will help you get glowing skin, too:

1. Salmon: Salmon is full of essential fatty acids, which your body cannot make on it’s own, meaning you need to consume it through your food intake. EFAs act as barriers to harmful things and also act as a passageway for nutrients. Salmon’s healthy oils lubricate our skin and reduce inflammation which leads to common skin problems like acne or redness.

2. Blueberries: Blueberries, along with all other berries, are a fantastic source of antioxidants, which fight off free radicals that cause damage to the membrane of our skin cells.

3. Orange foods: (pumpkin, sweet potato, oranges, carrots) These foods are high in beta-carotene which are converted into vitamin A in the body. Studies have shown that as little as 30 milligrams a day (1 1/2 cups cooked carrots, for example) can help prevent redness and irritation in the skin.

4. Avocado: A rich source of monounsaturated fats makes avocado a skincare must. When you get your fats from good sources like fish, avocado, and nuts, they not only help neutralize bad fats in other foods but will help combat dryness and dullness of skin.

5. Tomato: Same as with the orange colored foods, tomatoes are a great skin enhancer and can even act as a “sunscreen” inside the body!

6. Egg: Eggs have high levels of lecithin, one of the primary building blocks of your cell walls. This protects skins from aging by keeping it wrinkle free. Eggs also contain coenzyme Q10, which heightens the levels of aqualene in your skin, providing sufficient hydration.

7. Green tea: Green tea is one of the best sources of antioxidants, called catechins. Catechins help fight damaged caused by free radicals. Drink up not only for your skin, but for good health overall.

Have a great day!

Kristi

12 Responses to “Get Your Glow On”

  1. Jen@foodfamilyfitness December 23, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Yummm, it does look like energy in a glass!!!
    I have noticed that the better I eat, the better I feel inside and out.

  2. caloricandcrazy December 23, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    what a gorgeous green monster 🙂

  3. paoang December 23, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Hey Kristi!
    Hope everything is well! I love, love, LOVE that green monster. It looks gorgeous haha…and I’m kind of sick so now I’m craving one like crazy! Refreshingggg!

  4. pbbrittany December 23, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    The green monster looks really good!! I haven’t had one of those since August. Glad you had a great spin class!

  5. Alexandra December 23, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    That green monster sounds like a winner! 😀 and yay for a great workout!
    Happy Christmas eve eve my friend!

  6. Em (@Pureglow16) December 23, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    that smoothie looks great!! yum 🙂

  7. Shannon from Healthiful Balance December 24, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂
    I’ve heard drinking a lot of water clears your skin and makes it glow too. 🙂

  8. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody December 24, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    I love green smoothies, yours sounds fabulous! I’m obsessed with about 5/7 of those glowing skin foods. If I’m not careful I’m going to be mistaken for a vampire for have skin that sparkles in the sunlight 😉 Just kidding haha 🙂

  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance December 24, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I agree– strength training is where I feel my strongest too!

  10. Tessa @ Amazing Asset December 24, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Great post, such good info 🙂 And your green monster looks rather perfect girl… nice job 🙂

  11. Kasey @PowerCakes.blogspot.com December 24, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    that smoothie looks amazing!! :]

  12. Fitness programs December 30, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

