Puppy Love…and a must-try casserole recipe

30 Dec

Hi all!

I have been enjoying my time at home, without any stresses of school. And I’m not sure I want to go back now. HA. Kidding of course, but I am loving the break and time with family. I have been keeping busy with the planning of a special upcoming event. If you remember, I am now a licensed Herbalife nutrition distributor, and am hosting a New Years shake party in my hometown! We will be having free shake samples and a presentation of all the products to get the new year kicked off on a healthful note. I’m excited!

Otherwise, the days have been filled with fun shenanigans. I’m back to lifting it up at the gym and partaking in my favorite spin and yoga classes. The weather has been surprising warm lately, so Jaci and I have gotten to go on several walks. I have missed my time to my pup, that’s for sure! I have my heart set on adopting a dog from the shelter once I’m moved into my apartment, but I know I should really take things one step at a time. There’s just something about knowing you have a cute face to come home to…one of the things I missed most this past semester!

Pinterest hasn’t been making it any easier to say no, either…

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

I mean, come on!!! Who could resist?

New Find: Walmart has Starbucks k-cups!

IMG 2705

I tried out the breakfast blend this morning and was a happy camper. Stevia + almond milk make the perfect cup of joe components.

I made a really good casserole last night. This one was with the help of Hungry Girl. I did a twist on her Mushroom, Spinach, and Mozzarella Supreme by adding in some protein and egg beaters to hold it all together:

IMG 2701

Mushroom, Spinach, Mozzarella Supreme (adapted from Hungry Girl)

NewImage

IMG 2702

It came out soooo goooood! It makes big servings and is loaded with veggies. Feel free to go back for seconds…or thirds. 😉

IMG 2704

with sweet potato, a winning meal.

A few other eats as of late:

IMG 2692

egg white oatbran with sunflower seed butter and banana

IMG 2689

greek yogurt mixed with peanut flour, stevia, kamut puffs, and defrosted berries

IMG 2691

spaghetti squash with marinara, italian seasonings, and broiled tilapia

IMG 2688

Make your own “go to meals”! This was fun to do and easy, too. I took Angela’s mac n cheese sauce recipe and mixed it with boiled diced chicken, whole wheat pasta, and steamed broccoli. Divided it up into servings and stuck them in the fridge for an instant meal. I will be doing this a lot during next semester when things start to get busy!

IMG 2693

post workout snack: bread topped with protein frosting. mmmm!

IMG 2698

eggs, couscous with cilantro, and balsamic roasted brussels

IMG 2700

green monster protein smoothie with cereal

Question of the day is what pet kind of pet do you have?

You all have seen my little lover…

DSC03450

with *some* of her Christmas presents, spoiled puppy. 😉

Link Love:

10 Health Lessons of 2011

Have a great day!

Kristi

18 Responses to “Puppy Love…and a must-try casserole recipe”

  1. Meg (A Dash of Meg) December 30, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    Oh my goodness sweetheart! I JUST had protein frosting on a rice cake! LOVE!!!!!!!!!! ❤ hahaha you remind me so much of myself xo

    Thanks for sharing the casserole recipe 🙂 I am sure my parents would LOVE this 🙂 Might have to make it while I am at home xo

    P.s. those pups are SO cute. I really wish I had Pinterest…… haha

    • Sweetly Fit December 30, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      Meg you really should get Pinterest!

  2. Alexandra December 30, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    OH MY WORD those puppies are too cute!!!!! 😀 This totally made my day! ❤
    I love your eats, especially this casserole recipe mmm and that flower plate your eggs and cous cous are on is freakin legit!
    I have three crazy pups, they're the loves of my life along with Cheetah the hamster boy haha 😉
    Have a happy new year's weekend girl!

  3. Tara December 30, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Those eats look amazing! I would kill to have some mac and cheese right about now 😉

  4. paoang December 30, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    I loooove all your eats, as always! The casserole looks heavenly. Come be my cook? 🙂
    The pups are ADORABLE btw. I couldn’t resist, that’s for sure!

    Happy New Yearrrrr!

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! December 30, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    OMG I cannot resist puppies !!!!!!!!!! THEY ARE SO CUTE!!! Makes me want another one!!!!! 🙂
    That recipe is awesome too! Anything with laughing cow is bound to be creamy and delish!

    • Sweetly Fit December 30, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      yes, the laughing cow makes it so good! 🙂

  6. Chelsea @ The Nut Butter Runner December 31, 2011 at 2:55 am #

    I love puppies!! My dog has 18 when I was young (two litters of 9), so I grew up with them. But after that, we had five dogs, and no more puppies, no matter how much I begged.. So I got kittens. Now I have six cats and no dogs, plus a lot of geese, ducks, and chickens. I consider farm animals “pets” too. 🙂
    Anyways, off my pet rant, awesome eats!! I might try to make a mini version of that casserole, it looks so good!

  7. Tara Savage December 31, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    Nothing like coming home to a cute leif that is so happy to see you, but for now it’s something to enjoy when u are home 🙂 awesome cute!!! I have a dog as well but he’s a Pomeranian

  8. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody December 31, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    I’ve got a dog, but I’ve always been a kitten kinda girl. Unfortunately my Dad is allergic so I’ve always had to just settle for kitten stuffed toys! The casserole looks superb! 🙂

  9. Em (@Pureglow16) December 31, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    aww your Lover is adorablee!
    that casserole looks yummy!

  10. chels December 31, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Your eats look delish! I have a golden and he was so adorable when he was a puppy. He is still super cute and only 1 now, but man is he in to everything!!

  11. Tessa @ Amazing Asset January 1, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    Goooo those puppies are soo adorable! I want to hug them 🙂
    And that casserole does look scrumptious, and healthy too! I honestly think I will try it tomorrow, and of course will let you know if I do!

  12. Stephanie January 2, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    I’m going to try meatloaf for the first time tonight (I come from an Asian family)! If I like it, I’ll definitely give a try to your casserole next time!

    I don’t know if I’ve commented before, but I love your blog! It’s inspirational, and girl – you know how to fuel yourself right, haha!

  13. Paige @ RAN January 2, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    I’ll have to check out those k-cups! We just got one for Christmas and have been trying different flavors:)

  14. Katie Carso January 2, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Hope you had a happy new year love!

    I love those k-cups, Im out of that starbucks one, need more!

    Hope you have a great night! ❤

  15. karinacocina17 January 4, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    ill have to try that casserole recipe! hungrygirl has some good recipes! I have a cat named Nala. Im so glad I got to spend time with her over break!

  16. Shannon from Healthiful Balance January 4, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    Ahhh so many cute puppies! I really want one now!! 🙂
    Yummy recent eats!

    Happy new year! ❤

Leave a Reply

