Come on in, take a look around

15 Jan

The best way to get through moving into a new place?

IMG 2742

caffeinate, caffeinate, caffeinate. Micky D’s happy hour 2-5 every day baby!

Things are still very much a work in progress with the apartment but I can at least show you all my new stompin’ grounds pre-furnished.

Welcome to my humble abode!

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

Yesterday I was out with all the Saturday afternoon Walmart crazies to tackle groceries and a few other house things. Then I prepared a pretty epic “first real meal”:

IMG 2748

oh…so…cheesey….

IMG 2749

Wouldn’t you love to live with me? Not that I toot my own horn or anything, of course.

This recipe was based off of Janetha’s green chili chicken enchiladas with mushrooms, but I decided to get a little crazy and add lean ground beef and chicken. Who said you have to choose just one when you’re feeling a bit on the indecisive side? These were such a winner, as are all of Janetha’s recipes I have tried. Girl can cook.

Speaking of meals, here’s what my game plan is going to be now that things are about to get school-time busy again: pick out one really good recipe each week that will make lots. Pick up ingredients on a once-weekly grocery shopping trip. Cook it up and have a delicious meal to eat off of throughout the week, filling in with smaller easier meals throughout the week. Planning ahead and meal prep is key during busy times like the start of a new semester. With a little thought, it doesn’t have to be a daunting challenge at all. Enchiladas are a great choice because as you can see, you can make a ton and be good to good for a good while. The above photo is only half of them. I freezed the rest so in a few weeks when I start craving these again (which will definitely happen) or when the fridge is looking a little bare (which will definitely happen), I know I can whip these out and have a brand new homemade meal in just a matter of minutes. Easy!

Two other recipes I have on my list that will make a good amount:

Protein Packed Vegetarian Polenta Lasagna (but with eggplant rounds instead)

Taco Soup

Both are super easy and so good! Big batched foods will get me through this next semester perfectly! I’m looking forward to many cooking adventures in my new home this year…as well as some great 2012 workouts! Here’s a little motivation to get you all going:

10 Tricks to get Motivated to Hit the Gym

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway! Happy Sunday to everyone. πŸ™‚

Kristi

27 Responses to “Come on in, take a look around”

  1. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 15, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Love the new place!

  2. Katie Carso January 15, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Your new place is SO NICE! Love it! Love the kitchen so much too!

    I know you are so happy, and that makes me happy! Your own little place! Congrats!

    Thanks for sharing too : )

    ❀

  3. movesnmunchies January 15, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    looks awesome Kristi!! LOVEEEEE the look of those enchiladas too πŸ™‚

    • Sweetly Fit January 15, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

      Carrie, this could be yours if you come to Manhattan! hehe.

  4. fitpeanut January 15, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    Your place looks nice !!

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! January 15, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    I LOVE IT! Its so cute and perfect for one person!!! Can’t wait to see it furnished!

  6. Chelsea @ The Nut Butter Runner January 15, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Cute new place!! I want an apartment so badly. Great idea with meal planning! πŸ™‚

  7. Alexandra January 15, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Your new pad is awesome! I can’t wait to see how you decorate it πŸ™‚
    Loving the enchiladas too, can I come over for some leftovers? heehee!

  8. pbbrittany January 15, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Your new apartment looks so awesome!! So spacious and cute!
    Oh, and Alex and I are coming over for leftovers….because they look delicious πŸ˜‰

    • Sweetly Fit January 15, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

      sounds like a plan to me. πŸ™‚

  9. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope January 15, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Your new place looks gorgeous!!! Totally agree that staying caffeinated through the entire move is essential πŸ˜‰

    • Sweetly Fit January 15, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

      haha I knew you’d like that part!

  10. Tara January 15, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    It must be so nice to have your own apartment! Those enchiladas look amazing. I think you have just convinced me to shake up my diet completely. It’s long due for an overhaul!!

  11. Tessa @ Amazing Asset January 16, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    LOVEEEE it! I do πŸ™‚ SO nice looking, and I can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  12. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons January 16, 2012 at 4:05 am #

    ahhhhhhhhhhhh love it!!!! congrats girl! Cant wait to see what you do with that gorge blank canvas!!!!!

  13. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody January 16, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    Looks absolutely amazing! Have fun getting settled in πŸ™‚

  14. KatsHealthCorner January 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    Your apartment looks GREAT! I love it! πŸ˜€

  15. ilovefetacheese January 16, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    wowww its huge and AWESOME

  16. Tara Savage January 17, 2012 at 4:56 am #

    Your apartment looks great!!! Enjoy getting settled in!!! πŸ™‚

  17. Gina January 17, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Sweet digs! I hope you show pictures of it decorated!

  18. keepnthefaith January 17, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    the new place looks AWESOME lady!! Im so excited for you to get it filled and homey feeling πŸ™‚
    btw, still have never had a mc donalds ice coffee!! I need to get on that! Ive heard they are really good

  19. raceready January 19, 2012 at 1:53 am #

    This place is wonderful, enjoy making it your own. πŸ™‚

  20. paoang January 19, 2012 at 3:59 am #

    OMG- LOVIN’ YOUR APARTMENT! It looks so, so nice! I can’t wait to see it furnished πŸ™‚ And yes- that meal DOES make me want to live with you…just sayin’ πŸ˜‰

  21. Naomi(onefitfoodie) January 20, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    love it! and its so nice and big with a great kitchen! I can see you whippin gup lots of goodies in here!!

  22. Shannon from Healthiful Balance January 20, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Looks super awesome!!

  23. Jen@foodfamilyfitness January 21, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Nice kitchen!!! Happy moving πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

