Why so tired?

6 Feb

Welcome to a new week!

I started mine off on the right foot with a fun and energizing workout…first thing upon waking up! Doing this sets the tone for the whole day…I feel great and so accomplished before my day even begins. I’m definitely on the early morning workout bandwagon right now. I popped in my Turbo Jam Cardio Party DVD and got my kickboxing going on. That’s another thing I’m into lately; workout dvds. They are so convenient to do in my apartment, anywhere anytime. I love Chalene Johnson, creator of the Turbo Jam series. Her newer series of dvds is Turbo Fire…which I was able to score! I should have it later this week and can’t wait to give it a go!

Breakfast was overnight pumpkin egg white oatbran with peanut flour frosting

IMG 2825

the night before: 1 cup water, 1/2 cup oatbran, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/2 cup liquid egg whites, cinnamon, baking powder—>in the microwave. Just stick it in the fridge overnight and give a quick stir in the morning before putting on toppings.

The frosting is just peanut flour + sea salt + almond milk. I LOVE Byrd Mill Peanut flour. I get the 12% dark roast and it is fantastic, thick and creamy. A nice protein punch to add to a meal.

Lunch was just eaten after my morning classes:

IMG 2866

red pepper sausage egg muffins (recipe soon!), roasted kabocha squash in coconut oil, veggies with a guacamole packet

I can’t get enough kabocha. It is heavenly.

Okay, now onto something that has been on mind…

Lately I have been in a bit of funk. I Β have felt rather tired and have just been dragging a lot. My pep just hasn’t been there like it should be. After some thought and experimenting I came to some important realizations and ah-ha moments as to why I have been so tired.

1. I need a solid night’s sleep. I am notorious for going to sleep, waking up, going to sleep, going to the bathroom, going to sleep….on and on throughout the night. Well obviously to fix the bathroom problem I need to stop drinking so much liquid before bed. But In order to help me actually stay asleep, I have been taking a 5-HTP tablet right before my head hits the pillow. Such a great help! I order mine from Swanson’s Vitamins as it is far cheaper than any other place I’ve seen it at. 5-HTP is an all-natural supplement that also supports good mood. I really do feel better after taking it.Β Going to sleep and STAYING asleep makes a huuuuge difference in how well I feel during the day.

2. I have an increased nutritional need. I am back in school, constantly walking around my huge college campus several times a day. Just a month ago, I was on Winter Break and although I worked out, I was otherwise pretty lazy. Now my daily life is the complete opposite and I’m on my feet moving around much more. My activity has increased significantly, but my food intake has stayed the same. Problem. So now, although I already eat a ton (truth, haha), I am making a conscious effort to eat more in order to account for the additional exercise I’m getting.

3. I need to drink sufficient amounts of H20. I’ll be honest; I’ve been on a coffee kick. You guys know how much I love my Keurig. It is hard work to pass by the kitchen and not grab a mug of happiness each and every time. I mean, it stares right at me! I do not in any way think coffee is bad for you…as long as it does not replace your water intake. Even just a tiny bit of dehydration leads straight to fatigue…tiredness…grumpy…mood swings. Now I’m enjoying my fun drinks, but I make sure to down 1 or 2 glasses beforehand and as much as I can throughout the day. I also chug my 24 oz reusable water bottle first thing in the morning. It wakes me right up and I’m ready to start my day!

3 easy fixes and i’m back to booty kicking. Winning.

How do you combat tiredness? What gives you energy?

Kristi

20 Responses to “Why so tired?”

  1. KatsHealthCorner February 6, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    I’ve been having to go to bed earlier, too. I can get to bed around 9:30pm now, but I hope to get it to at least 9pm. Since I get up at 5am, I really need to get to bed earlier than I have been.

    What gives me energy? Fruit+Nut Butter. πŸ˜€

  2. thisfitchick February 6, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    WATER is a biggie! and sleep of course.. and make sure you’re getting enough carbs.. for some people.. not me but for some low carb= sleepy!.. great eats! love that breaki!

  3. Alexandra February 6, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I think it’s awesome how in-tune you are with your body! Good for you for having a gameplan to get back your energy πŸ™‚
    Oh and I’m so with you–ROASTED KABOCHA IS THE BEST!!! I just ran out and can’t find it at any local store so I guess I’ll have to start noshin on butternut haha

    • Sweetly Fit February 7, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      It’s starting to disappear around here too. NOT a happy camper about that. :/

  4. Tara February 6, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Good on you for being able to pick up on exactly what your body needs πŸ™‚ I’m lucky that I don’t really drink that much coffee – maybe two cups a week? I try not to have too much because it really helps when I have headaches, and I don’t want to lose that benefit by drinking it all the time!

  5. Meg (A Dash of Meg) February 6, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    great post sweetie πŸ™‚ personal and I can definitely relate! i was tired all day yesterday. it was like 7:00 at night and i swore it could be 10:00! iw as ready for bed at 8:30! i hate that feeling.

    i need to make your breakfast concoction πŸ™‚ looks so good.

    i am so happy to hear that you know you need additional food to fuel your daily activities πŸ˜€ it’s hard for some, but i am proud of you for doing this xo

  6. Katie Carso February 6, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    Hoe you get back to your booty kicking self girl! You will!

    Happy Monday! ❀

  7. sugarspiceandbacon February 6, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    H20 is usually my remedy when I am feeling super tired. I also like to get good news, SO.. I thought I’d let you know I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Stop by and check it out http://sugarspiceandbacon.com/2012/02/06/the-versatile-blogger-award/ hope it puts a little pep back in your step! πŸ™‚

  8. lifttorun February 6, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    After being in boot camp, I’m tired as hell. I just give myself more sleep as of now. I go to bed before ten and wake up at seven. Sleep is needed.

    • Sweetly Fit February 7, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      I can only imagine how draining bootcamp would be. good job girl!

  9. Chelsea @ The Nut Butter Runner February 6, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Water is sooo important! I get so nasty when I’m dehydrated and just feel like crap. I always have a slump some point during the day – I usually eat some fruit and drink some water when it hits me. I can like, BARELY stay awake during these, but they only last like 10 minutes. It’s really annoying! I’m a big fan of morning workouts too. πŸ™‚

  10. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! February 7, 2012 at 2:51 am #

    I definitely need to work on drinking more. Its totally something I slack on! I just never get thirsty! Its so weird!!

    I love Byrd Mill to! I get the same exact peanut flour…SO yummy!

  11. Molly February 7, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    being in class and studying for tests really takes the energy out of my. power naps are helpful! BUT i can’t seem to nap :/

  12. Meg February 7, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    I’ve totally felt that way before! Take a nice bath and just relax and meditate – as hard as it can be when you’ve got a lot on your mind, it’s super important to carve in some me-time πŸ™‚

  13. colourfulpalatedotcom February 7, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    I know what you mean! I’ve been so tired lately too…last night I felt so amazing after my workout…I realize that with all my studying…I’m sitting too much!

    Working out gives me energy (not during necessarily) afterwards!

  14. eatingforexcellence February 8, 2012 at 3:10 am #

    I just found your blog & I LOVE it! It seems we have a lot in common πŸ™‚ You are super smart for realizing your lack of energy and doing something about it. Whenever I’m feeling tired or drained I always ask myself if I’m eating enough or getting enough sleep. It sounds like you know exactly what to do to start feeling better though!

  15. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope February 9, 2012 at 3:18 am #

    Ok, weird to give advice on this haha, but I used to have to get up to go to the bathroom like 2-3 times during the night and it made my sleeping horrible. Luckily I now literally never use it at night. My first step to at least make me fall back asleep easier after using the bathroom was NOT turning on ANY lights when I went to the bathroom and not flush the toilet until morning. Sounds weird, but your eyes are adjusted to the dark so you’ll be able to see enough. By not turning on lights and not flushing, you don’t really wake yourself up as much and can get back to bed easier. Eventually, I just forced myself to stop going to the bathroom at night whether I “thought” I needed to or not since it became a habit. It helped a lot when I moved into an apartment that didn’t have a bathroom connected to the bedroom (out of sight out of mind), but if you do have one connected, try keeping the door shut during the night. Hope this helps for that part of the sleeping issue!

  16. bodyworkslubbock February 9, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    Sufficient sleep, try catnaps. You’ll feel refreshed, energized and even full after 15 to 30mins of nap time. Try to eat foods rich in magnesium like spinach & nuts.

  17. jessi February 10, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    Just found your blog, love it! And dude, I just ordered some peanut flour from Byrd Mill a couple days ago and I am going craaaazy waiting for it!! That picture of the peanut frosting on your oats just made me literally squeal – it looks sooooooooo good I can’t even handle it!!

Leave a Reply

