Friday Favorites

10 Feb

It’s Friday It’s Friday It’s Friday!!!

Weekends, the most glorious time of the week. Let’s get things started off right with some of my favorite things this week!

Staying Productive During the School Week

I have knocked out some serious school work this week, enabling me to have a weekend to really enjoy. Putting things off until the weekend is not how I like to roll. How are you supposed to look forward to the weekend when you know you’re going to be faced with a giant heap of work? No thanks! Keeping that in mind each time I get a new assignment is great motivation to keep it both with asap and resist the urge to put it off until later.

NewImage

Blogger Love

NewImage

Tara nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award. How sweet! I am thankful for my blog and all that has come along because of it. It feels great to be acknowledged for my work. Thank you Tara!!! πŸ™‚

Motivational Booty Kicking Workout Music

NewImage

Tina posted about Pandora’s workout stations and I thought that was such a great idea! I never know what songs to put together for exercise playlists. So many choices makes me completely indecisive. Pandora to the rescue! This solves the problem in a snap.

New Variations of an Old Favorite

I love cottage cheese and have been particularly eating it a lot lately. Protein packed, a good source of calcium and vitamin D, thick and creamy. You just can’t go wrong. I recently found a bodybuilding.com link with 8 fun cottage cheese recipes that all sound awesome. Think cheesy pasta, cheesecake, pancakes and more. Mmm! Check it out HERE if you’re needing some new ideas.

Here are two of my favorite ways, but I will definitely be trying out some of BB’s ideas soon!

IMG 2812

savory cottage bowl with Mrs Dash fiesta lime seasoning and 34 degree cracker crisps

IMG 2856

sweet combo with an orange (or other fruit)

Healthy On The Go Bars

I was sent some Vixi Bars to try out and have to say I am pretty impressed. They of course are the perfect convenient snack for me when I’m out and about on campus. Totally better than hitting up the vending machine. πŸ˜‰

The Goods:

  • made with all natural hormone-free protein powder, each bar has 12 grams
  • sweetened naturally with dates
  • healthy fats from nuts
  • very minimal, unprocessed ingredient list
  • a variety of great flavors

The only negative I thought of was that I wished they were a little bigger…but only because they are so delicious! They did a perfectly fine job of satisfying my hunger and sweet tooth. I tried the following flavors:

Peanut Butter and Jelly

IMG 2804

Peanut Butter Cup

IMG 2805

Apple Crisp

IMG 2806

Coconut Bliss

IMG 2807

They were all amazing. They have many other flavors as well. Β Now I REALLY want to try the pumpkin pie, cherry brownie, and peanut butter banana ones!Β Thanks to the great company behind Vixi Bars for letting me try them!

What are you loving this week?

Cheers to a successful week and a fun weekend ahead! Plans for me? Nothing much in particular…and i’m stoked. Sometimes those turn out to be the very best!

Whatever your plans are, don’t forget to have a little fun. πŸ™‚

NewImage

Kristi

23 Responses to “Friday Favorites”

  1. VeggieGirl February 10, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Those bars sound awesome! Thank you for the inspirational messages in this post – happy Friday!

  2. Meg February 10, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    HAPPY FRIDAY!

    Ohhh those bars look amazing – I’d wanna try the pumpkin one too πŸ˜‰ even though Thanksgiving is way over, I still crave it, haha! I love love love cottage cheese and I’m SO glad you linked that – I opened it in a new tab already!

    LOVE!

  3. Alexandra February 10, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    Those vixi bars look awesome! I’ve never heard of them before!
    And OMG to the bb.com link, you know how much of a cottage cheese aholic I am πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing!!
    Hope your weekend is fabulous and relaxing my friend! πŸ™‚

  4. kbwood February 10, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    YUMMM those bars look so good! Ive never heard of them or seen them! I hope you have an AMAZING weekend girlfrand, love you!!

  5. kaila @ healthyhelper February 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    YAY FOR FRIDAY! And the weekend in general! I am so excited to be done with this week. It hasn’t been the best so I am looking for a nice two days to redeem myself! LOL!

  6. lifttorun February 10, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    I’m on such a cottage cheese kick right now. I’m drooling over those photos.

  7. Meg (A Dash of Meg) February 10, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    I am so very proud of you for having a productive week πŸ™‚ feels good doesn’t it!? HIGH FIIIIIIIIIIVE GIRL πŸ˜‰ hahahahahaha Enjoy your weekend πŸ™‚ !!

    P.s. omg those bars look delishhh

  8. dayglows February 11, 2012 at 3:39 am #

    I love cottage cheese too but I always have it for something sweet, never savory. I think I will have to try that sometime soon!

  9. Shannon from Healthiful Balance February 11, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    Those Vixi bars look great!

  10. paoang February 11, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    All the eats look awesome! I always like having sweet cottage cheese combos, but the savory one sounds intriguing πŸ˜€ And ohhhhh man….I am beating myself up right now. All this week I did nothing but have a little bit too much fun I think, and now my weekend is DESTROYED. I haven’t gone to the gym in ages, I’ve been going to bed WAY too late (and not because I was working), and now my face is breaking out haha. Next week will be CATCH UP week. No more distractions!

    Have a great weekend! :))

    • Sweetly Fit February 11, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      haha we all have our moments girl. I’m sure you’ll get back on track!

  11. Josie February 11, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    Good link- I have always bought cottage cheese but never known what to do with it!! Happy friday… well now its saturday, even better! πŸ™‚

  12. Sarah February 11, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    The bars look really good! Nom nom coconut bliss for real :))

    • Sweetly Fit February 11, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      the coconut flavor was soooo amazing. πŸ˜€

  13. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate February 12, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    I LOVE those Vixi Bars!

  14. caloricandcrazy February 12, 2012 at 1:20 am #

    the coconut vixi bar looks awesome!

    thanks for posting the link to the cottage cheese recipes!

  15. eatingforexcellence February 12, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    Those vixi bars sound so good! I’m gonna have to get my hands on some of those. What was your favorite flavor? Have a good week πŸ™‚

    • Sweetly Fit February 12, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

      they were all fantastic!! I choose all of them :p

  16. itsthecookiemonster February 12, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    omg i love that last picture of all the ppl jumping! it makes me crave summertime!

    • Sweetly Fit February 12, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

      me too!!! It’s not too far off now!

Leave a Reply

