Sunday Prep Day

12 Feb

This morning I woke up with big plans….plans to CLEAN. It is Sunday after all, the perfect weekly cleaning day. I turned up some Pandora and got busy for a good hour and a half. It was one good, deep cleaning! And my workout of the day. 😀

What else are Sundays good for?

Food Prep!

Italian Cabbage Bake

IMG 2911

I followed the lovely Ms. Powercake’s recipe, except I subbed broiled chicken in for ground turkey. I have been craving chicken lately. Awesome meal and so, so simple to throw together. I bet the leftovers are going to be even better.

I topped mine with more nutritional yeast cheeziness and had it along with a nice big sweet potato with peanut butta—>favorite s.p. topping.

IMG 2913

Almond Orange Protein Bars

IMG 2904

How did that happen?!

IMG 2905

mmmmmm. These came out GREAT! Using orange and almond extract was a fun way to change things up…and the combination of the two together really worked. Can’t wait to eat these throughout the week!

Sausage Egg Muffins with Red Pepper

IMG 2864

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups egg beaters
  • 1package of Gimme Lean ground soy sausage
  • 2 red bell peppers, chopped and sauteed*
  • seasonings (I used garlic powder, onion powder, and black pepper)

Just mix everything together, pour into muffin tins and bake at 375 for about 20-25 minutes.

*if you want a quick shortcut for cooking the bell pepper, just stick it in the microwave in a bowl with a bit of water and cook for 3-4 minutes. This is what I do 90% of the time and it turns out just fine!

These are the perfect little protein puffs to add to a meal or snack. You can easily switch up the recipe to your liking with different veggies, add ins, and also any combo of egg/egg whites. I usually use Egg Beaters because it so easy to just pour it right in from the carton. This was my first time using Gimme Lean sausage and I am really glad I did. Super tasty!

Setting aside time on the weekend for food prep makes the following week so much easier. I love to cook whenever I can, but also know that sometimes time and energy levels don’t always allow for it. Planning ahead is such an important key to staying on track and staying healthy!

Did you make anything good over the weekend?

Kristi

12 Responses to “Sunday Prep Day”

  1. Katie Carso February 12, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    Those bars look SO good!

    Yay for food prepping!

    Happy Sunday love!

  2. VeggieGirl February 12, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Great eats! I posted on Facebook what I made 😉

  3. pbbrittany February 12, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    All of this looks so delicious! I wish I made food like this for me during the week. Usually on the weekends I’ll throw some chicken in the crock pot with chicken broth to cook for salads but that’s about it. I think I need to start cooking like you… 😛

  4. Meg (A Dash of Meg) February 12, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Oh girl, like I say each and every time – I love how our eats are so similar 😀 xoxoxoxo (gosh I love you)

    My favourite topping for the tater is almond butter 😀 (kind of the same as you!? close enough!) hahahaha

    have a lovely sunday eve!

    p.s. I cleaned, too!

  5. vivacioushealthyme February 12, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    Long time lurker so be gentle. I also tend to cook up a storm over the weekend but this weekend was designated for not doing much though I still made a lovely mixed veg siup with chicken and sugar free jelly for desserts.

  6. Katie @ Raisins&Apples February 12, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    I was out of town this weekend, so I didn’t spend much time in the kitchen! But…it’s only 6, which means that could change 🙂

  7. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! February 12, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    Love the little sausage and egg cups! They look so delicious! And perfect for a little protein action!

  8. Tessa at Amazing Asset February 13, 2012 at 2:05 am #

    Mmm those bars look great girl… loving the protein content!

  9. Kat February 13, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    oh man all this looks great! Sundays are actually pretty busy for me with church and soccer, but I do try and use it as a prep day as well!

  10. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life) February 14, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    I always prep my food during the weekends. Thanks for all the great ideas!

  11. eatingforexcellence February 15, 2012 at 2:30 am #

    Yum everything looks so good! Especially those protein bars 🙂

  12. ilovefetacheese February 15, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    that cabbage bake looks amazing

Leave a Reply

