Good Opportunities

2 Mar

Hi all! Happy Friday! weekend! weekend! weekend!

Can you tell I’m pretty happy about that? Well if you couldn’t…I AM. 😉

Friday Favorites:

1. Good Opportunities

NewImage

This week has been another tough one, packed full with school work as well as applying to jobs and internships for this summer. I found out about an awesome paid dietetics internship opportunity through my university and turned in all my paperwork in order to be considered for it. Apparently they only accept 2-3 students so keep you fingers crossed for me! Things have been stressful trying to figure out how I’m going to make money, keep up with school, etc. I feel like this could be the answer, AND I would be getting work experience for my future career. It sounds like the perfect thing for me and I really want this. All I can do is hope and pray and trust that it will all work out. I would appreciate any prayers from others as well. 🙂

the others are on a less serious note…

2. Onion Goggles

NewImage

I need these in my life. I saw these babies on a post from Kalyn’s Kitchen and have been thinking about them ever since. FIrst of all, what a fashion statement! And second of all, it is seriously painful for me to chop an onion. I have very sensitive eyes and will only last about 1 minute, tops, with onion cutting. This paves the way for a dangerous situation as I try to cut up that dang onion as fast as I possibly can before I inevitably cannot see anymore. Yikes, sorry fingers.

3. Chocolatey Breakfasts

IMG 3009

overnight oats were had this morning and they were the perfect way to celebrate the coming of the weekend. What better way to celebrate a special occasion than some good ol’ chocolate? DARK chocolate at that.

The Mix: 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup almond milk, 1 serving Life’s Basics vega vanilla protein powder, 1 tsp chia seeds, 2 tbsp flaxmeal, 1 tbsp dark chocolate cocoa powder, cinnamon, ginger—>in the fridge overnight. Instant breakfast in the morning!

4. Challenging Fitness Moves

I try to incorporate new (to me) strength moves every now and then in order to keep my muscles guessing, growing, and responding. Recently I have been especially fond of the Push Press.

NewImage

Why I love this: it is such an explosive move that makes me feel like a beast. The military press is what it is based on, only more forceful and with more movement. As with any strength move, good technique is crucial. Click here to learn how to perform this move properly.

5. Positivity

NewImage

by JANE POWELL on FEBRUARY 28, 2012

“There are hundreds of languages in the world, but a smile speaks them all.”

A smile not only crosses geographic boundaries, it also crosses the boundaries of culture, background, age and beliefs. What’s more, it works the same magic in them all!

A warm smile can make a child feel better, as surely as it can cheer up an old man. It can soften hearts and firm up commitments. It can mend friendships and break tensions. It can reassure and give support. It can say ‘I love you’ and ‘congratulations.’ It can make deals. It can make friendships. It can make memories or even make your day.

But perhaps, most important of all, a smile can make the world a better place for the person who gives it – you!

Today’s Affirmation: My smile make the world a better place.

What are you loving this week? Any fun weekend plans?

I am heading out with friends tonight, which I am excited about. Otherwise I have several school related things to accomplish later on, and of course the weekend grocery haul, food prep, and cleaning for the week!

See you all later!

Kristi

 

13 Responses to “Good Opportunities”

  1. Sable@SquatLikeALady March 2, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    GOOD LUCK with the internship!!! I hope you get it 😀

  2. funfreshfit March 2, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Good luck with the internship!! Sounds like an amazing experience, I’m sure you’ll get it!! 🙂 ps. Love the positivity!! You’re right, smiles DO make the world a better place. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  3. Katie Carso March 2, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Crossing my fingers for you and sending good karma!!! I hope you get it!

    Happy weekend love! ❤

  4. Alexandra March 2, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    Crossing my fingers and toes for your internship! I bet you’ll get it! 🙂
    Enjoy every bit of your weekend love!

  5. Em (@Pureglow16) March 2, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    your chocolatey breakfast looks so good! chocolate is the perfect mood picker upper. 🙂

  6. Miriam@Bellaspire March 2, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Praying you’ll get the internship!! This week I’m loving cottage cheese. I think it’s all those cottage cheese pics you’ve been posting that have been making me crave it!

  7. caloricandcrazy March 3, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    Good luck with the internship! It sounds perfect :D!

  8. Jessica March 3, 2012 at 6:30 am #

    I have become totally OBSESSED with overnight oats in the past few weeks! I tried them once a long time ago and for some reason they turned out disgusting! I guess my proportions were off?! After seeing them all the time on other blogs, I decided to give them another try, and finally got it right! I didn’t know what I was missing out on all this time!

  9. myhealthyaddictions March 3, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Those goggles crack me up cause I have worn my husbands snowboarding goggles before- I didn’t know they made glasses for that!
    I have been lovin sweet potatoes and oatmeal cereal and playing soccer again- I forgot how much I enjoy playing soccer!

  10. julie March 4, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    good luck good luck good luck lady!!! hope you get that internship! keep us posted 🙂 and btw your overnight oats look fabulous! such a cute bowl

  11. Pumpedpumpkin March 4, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Good luck! I hope you get it!!!

    It’s so weird my eyes don’t water at all with onions! I must be so abnormal haha

    I definitely need to start incorporating some more explosive movements into my training. I think they can do wonders for the body!

  12. eatingforexcellence March 5, 2012 at 3:23 am #

    Goodluck with that internship! I’m sure things will work out. And onion goggles? Oh yes, that’s happening ASAP

Leave a Reply

