New Goal Monday

5 Mar

Another weekend gone too fast! Time flies when you’re having fun I suppose! I had a pretty productive weekend in terms of getting stuff with school caught up, keeping things spick and span around the apartment, and whipping up some pretty darn good eats. By the time Sunday rolled around though, I was feeling pretty run down and knew a rest and relaxation day was in order. Sundays are meant to be low key anyways in my book. So my “workout” was some yoga done right in my living room along with Bob and friends. I love this DVD and never get tired of it! It has a lot of my favorite poses and my body feels so refreshed and loose afterwards. As I always tell myself after a yoga session, “I need to do this Β more often!!!”

Which brings me to my new goal:Β Do yoga after least once a week.

NewImage

This is a totally attainable goal, which is what I was going for. Nothing crazy or anything that will require a lot of time and effort. I already have a million things going on in life so I was shooting for easy. And I know that just that one session per week will make a world of a difference, both for the positive mental effects as well as the physical effects. It really is the perfect thing to get me to slow down, breath, and realize everything is OKAY. I think we could all use that peace of mind.

In addition to my yoga DVD, Yogadownload.com is also a great online source for classes. And if I’m feeling extra fancy, I may venture out one of the local gym classes! Being in a yogi setting makes is so much fun. I highly recommend anyone to take a local class if you have never done so…promise you’ll be hooked!

I wanted an extra special breakfast this morning to get the week started off on the right (or left, for my leftie self) foot. So I thought, how about some chocolate cake with frosting?

IMG 3029

IMG 3031

Would you believe me if I said I got a serving of veggies with this beauty? TRUTH. I wouldn’t lie to you guys.

I used another one of Kasey’s Power Cake recipes, and added in two big handful of spinach before blending it all together. Success! And nope, couldn’t taste it at all. This girl has some awesome recipes. I love her blog!

Yesterday I did of course still do some cooking prep for the week, including baking up some super simple yet incredibly delicious chicken:

IMG 3027

Fresh chicken was on special at the grocery store this weekend and I was probably a little too happy when I saw it. Looks and stares, oh just the norm when it comes to my grocery shopping hehe. “What? You don’t get excited over chicken sales or jump up and down with joy when tomatoes are 10 for $10?” Β Come on now people.

But back to the chicken. I put the entire package of them in a pan and poured chicken broth on top of them, about 1 cup. Then I topped with seasonings. You can use whatever you like. I used Mrs Dash onion and herb and some salt and pepper. Then I covered with foil and baked at 325 for about 45 minutes. They came out so juicy and perfect! I can’t wait to enjoy this all week long. This is a great option for Sunday Prep Day because you can do anything with them throughout the week: get creative or just eat them plain—>they’re good either way!

IMG 3028

coconut oil roasted asparagus, baked chicken with avocado, sweet potato with seasonings (+pb/cream cheese post pic)

Perfect Sunday dinner in my book.

For evening snacks lately I have been all about FRO YO! I discovered the perfect method for making a completely healthy version that tastes 100% decadent…and it’s all thanks to this bad boy:

NewImage

Stick blender/hand blender/immersion blender/whatever you want to call it.

You can buy these anywhere for pretty cheap and they are awesome! I love the ease and minimal clean up they allow.

So last night’s fro yo was Pumpkin Almond Fro Yo and it contained: 1 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup cottage cheese, 1/4 cup pumpkin, splash of almond milk, cinnamon, vanilla, maple extract. Combine and stick in the freezer for at least 2 hours. I usually do this around dinner time. Then when i’m ready for it, I take it out of the freezer and stick my stick blender in the bowl and blend until I get cold, creamy glory:

IMG 3018

top with almonds, peanut butter, or ground flax for a cheesecake crust effect<—what I will be doing next time.

IMG 3012

IT’S LOVE. I have endless ideas for flavor combos and will definitely be experimenting more with this one. I’m glad i discovered this now, just in time for the warmer weather ahead!

Welp, now it’s time to devote some thinking to Biology. Bahhhh. 2 weeks until spring break. Knowing that will keep me sane for now! πŸ˜€

Do you have any goals for the new week?

Kristi

19 Responses to “New Goal Monday”

  1. Alexandra March 5, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    I’ve always ALWAYS wanted one of those immersion blenders to make froyo! I freeze the same kind of concoctions, but have to just smash it up with a spoon haha πŸ˜‰ Your power cake looks so delicious too!
    Dude my spring break starts in 2 weeks too, let’s hope these weeks fly by for our sakes! πŸ˜€

  2. Katie Carso March 5, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    So happy you are going to add more yoga into your life! It really is awesome, I love how I feel after yoga πŸ™‚

    Your night snack looks SO amazing! Ahhhhh! Need to have that!

    Happy week to you! ❀

  3. natashaboruszok1992 March 5, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Im jealous of that blender – i need to get one asap!
    Plus that “fro-yo” recipe looks delish!!!
    doing yoga once or twice a week is constantly a goal of mine that I fail at hahah maybe I should work on that more…!

  4. Miriam@Bellaspire March 5, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    That looks tasty. I’m going to try it in my Vitamix and see how it goes. You should really be a spokesperson for cottage cheese πŸ˜‰

  5. thisfitchick March 5, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    Love the new goal monday! that chicken looks SO DARN MOIST!

  6. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! March 5, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    Yay for more yoga!!! I am obsessed with it right now!! And I LOVE my immersion blender! I love pureed soups and it makes them SO easy to make!

  7. vivacioushealthyme March 5, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    That’s so funny..Doing yoga once a week is my goal as well (to speed up my physiotherapy), I do own that Biggest Loser Yoga DVD and I did bake one of Kasey’s recipes over the weekend (up on my blog tomorrow). It’s like serendipity or something lol x

    • Sweetly Fit March 5, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

      awesome! We can keep eachother accountable then!

  8. Meg (A Dash of Meg) March 5, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    HAHA oh my goodness! I have so much to say about this post it is unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!

    My mouth is seriously watering hun hahahahahaha Seriously. Watering. Like drooling all over. I want that breakfast AND fro yo now. NOW

  9. sdorsay (itrainthereforeieat) March 6, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    That homemade Fro-yo looks A-Ma-Zing. I am such a sucker for fro-yo, so this would be perfect for me!! I seriously need to get an immersion blender, I find myself wanting one at least once per week. I guess I know what my next purchase will be!

  10. Molly March 6, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    I really want to get more into yoga, too! I always feel so relaxed and balanced afterwards. You’d think I’d want to practice regularly since it’s so rewarding, but sometimes I get so caught up into being busy and the go-go-go attitude that I don’t want to slow down and breathe for a moment. But once a week is really an attainable goal, so I might want to take on your challenge, too.

  11. eatingforexcellence March 6, 2012 at 2:05 am #

    That sounds like a perfect goal! I’d love to be able to get more yoga in. It is so relaxing! Have a great week πŸ™‚

  12. funfreshfit March 6, 2012 at 2:25 am #

    Great eats & a great goal! I need to incorporate yoga back into my routines. I miss it SO much!

  13. danielleimp March 6, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    that fro yo idea sounds awesome! im going to have to try it soon πŸ™‚ My goals this week are to be more organized because I feel everything else will fall into place, and ill free up some more time for doing the things I love !

  14. myhealthyaddictions March 6, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Homemade fro-yo = genius idea! I’ve been wanting to try making homemade yogurt with Almond Milk!

  15. caloricandcrazy March 7, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    mmmm that choco cake looks SO good! πŸ™‚

  16. busylivinghealthy March 7, 2012 at 3:56 am #

    I need to do more yoga too. That yogurt looks soo good!

Leave a Reply

