Pimp my apartment

23 Mar

Hello!

I’m back home from “home” after spending some time with my family for Spring Break. This week has gone by in the blink of an eye just like I knew it would. It was nice to take a break from the go, go, go and have a change of scenery for a few days. My mom was able to come back up with me when I headed back a few days ago; this was the first time she has seen my new apartment! It was fun to play hostess and have a little mother daughter bonding time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We did a little apartment decorating while she here and installed this mirror by the front door entry way:

IMG 3103

I had bought it a few months ago during a 50% off sale but it has been sadly sitting in my closet up until now…I had no idea how to put it up and also no drill. (not that I would know how to use it anyways!) I have a long ways to go before I have this whole “home improvement” thing down. ๐Ÿ™‚

Brought this back from home:

IMG 3104

Pier One had some summery placemats for 20% off, yes please!

IMG 3105

Thanks to the momma for finding this vase on clearance for 12 bucks!

IMG 3107

I thought it was very unique, love it!

I don’t think I ever showed my new couch and (pier one) pillows:

IMG 3102

many lazy nights are had with my butt planted right in the middle of that comfiness. For anyone in the market for living room furniture…reclining couches for the win.

Another saying I have in my living room:

IMG 3108

Laugh as much as breath, Love as much as you Live. โค

I have this one up in my bedroom:

IMG 3109

Outdoor furniture for spring weather enjoyment:

IMG 3113

I also finally bought living room curtains for my huge windows I have…they will be delivered next week. My place is finally coming together and has much more of that “homey” feel that I’ve been longing for. It can be fun but also stressful to bring together a new place, but it is definitely worth it. I love decorating! โค

It’s good to be back home and cooking/baking up goodies again in the kitchen. A chocolate coconut power cake was had this morning, mmmmm.

IMG 3117

I blended everything together in my Magic Bullet, and also threw in some sneaky spinach! greek yogurt + Sun Warrior protein + almond milk for the frosting…and banana!

I definitely missed my kcup drawer. It’s hard to go without!

IMG 3111

Pumpkin Spice was bought online at Kohls on a sale. Love!

IMG 3056

stuffed spaghetti squash with chicken, marinara, sauteed veggies, cheeeeese, and seasonings

IMG 3115

KABOCHA. How I adore the!

IMG 3116

soft serve vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce. yeah. ๐Ÿ˜€

1 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 serving vanilla casein, 1 tsp vanilla extract, dash of stevia—>mix and freeze. Take out after about 2 hours and quick-blend with stick blender.

choco sauce: 2 tbsp dark chocolate cocao powder + almond milk + stevia

Delish!

IMG 3070

a protein rich, healthy chocolate cake that I whipped up a while back. Of course it was smothered in nut butter, per usual. I’ll post the recipe soon!

Has anybody else had rain all week long? It is supposed to end after today so I’m looking forward to getting out and enjoying some nice sunshine. I am glad I still have the weekend to enjoy before heading back to classes on monday!

Dear Summer, please hurry. If you would like to show up ahead of schedule and dismiss school early this semester, I think that would be perfectly acceptable. Love, Kristi.

Happy Friday everyone!!!

Kristi

15 Responses to “Pimp my apartment”

  1. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life) March 23, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    I love decorating my apartment, too! But I agree that it can be SOOOOO stressful, and especially on a budget. It took me a while to make my apartment feel homey and now I’m moving again!

    • Sweetly Fit March 23, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      yep, it’s the money part that can make it a downer. If only I could just stumble upon a couple thousand…hehe. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Nicole @ Sugar Coated Sisters March 23, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Your soft-serve ice cream sounds great! Definitely making that when I have access to a blender!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! March 23, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    I LOVE all the inspirational quotes and messages you posted all around! That creates such a nice environment! I can’t wait to have my own apartment…it must be so nice having your own little space! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Alexandra March 23, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Your apartment goodies are so darn cute!! Love the couch! ๐Ÿ˜€ and holy crap that soft serve you made is calling my name, yummmmmm!
    Enjoy your Friday girl!
    Ps– I second your letter to summer heehee ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Katie Gagliano (@HealthyDiva31) March 23, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Your place is SO cute! I absolutely love all the decor! Love the wall sayings!

    Happy weekend love!! โค

  6. Jenn March 24, 2012 at 3:21 am #

    Love all the new decor… the wall sayings are all so pretty and inspirational. I have a few on my walls too!

    Sneaky spinach in your powercakes… read that and smiled. Definitely the best way to get your veggies in. I’ve been slacking on my breakfast veggies this week but you’re making feel like I need to get back on the wagon with it this week!

    That stuffed spaghetti squash looks DELISH!!! What a fab idea! I’m definitely making that for dinner one night this week. Did you cook the filling spaghetti squash first, then fill the squash or did you put the filling in then bake it all together?

  7. vivacioushealthyme March 24, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    Your apartment looks soo nice…it takes time to settle in any new place and to pick bits and bobs that you will like. Now I really want a reclining sofa so thanks lol Ann x

  8. funfreshfit March 24, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    Your apartment is so cute! loving the vase and inspirational quotes! ๐Ÿ™‚ and yummmmm that soft serve looks SOO yummy!

  9. ilovefetacheese March 24, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    LOVE your apartment!!!!!!!

  10. Tiff (@LoveSweatBeers) March 24, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Nice work. ๐Ÿ™‚ That looks like a nice n’ comfy couch

  11. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate March 24, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Love the new furniture!

  12. caloricandcrazy March 25, 2012 at 5:00 am #

    Your apartment looks swanky! Haha, very nicely furnished ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Lisa March 25, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Lovin’ all the furniture you picked up for your place! And great eats too, that powercake looks great ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. PowerCakesโ„ข (@PowerCakes) March 29, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    i love that you eat powercakes and healthy chocolate sauce!! ;]

Leave a Reply

