How I Manage Early Morning Workouts

31 Mar

Hello! Ahhh, the weekend is here and life is good. Agreed?

I’ve already got in a nice sweaty workout and speaking of which, I thought I would share my thoughts on workouts first thing in the morning; most of you know that I have become a huge fan of them. The great thing about it for me is that it really starts my day off on a positive note and sets the tone for the rest of the day. I feel like I can accomplish anything that life throws at me after accomplishing my workout right when I wake up. Also, my busy schedule has me running around at all hours of the day, so I often don’t know if I will have the time or energy to squeeze in any exercise later on. Getting it done first thing ensures that I can actually do it, get in my stress relief fix, and get on with my day. Here is how I make it happen:

Early Morning Workouts 101:

1. Have Your Workout Planned. If you get up in the morning still half asleep, with no idea what exercises to do, then chances are you may just not do anything at all. On the other hand, if you’ve got a DVD already in the player, or strength moves written down in a notebook, then all you have do is roll out of bed and do it. No thinking required. Or you can take a little time on Sunday to plan out your whole week’s workouts. If things happen to change, no big deal. But at least you have a rough idea that you can work with.

IMG 3138

I love my workout notebook!

2. Lay Out Clothes and Equipment Beforehand. I have to make the most of every minute with my early workouts so that I can get out the door and to class on time. So taking a quick minute or two to have everything ready before I go to bed really speeds things up so I can get right down to business in the morning!

IMG 3189

3. Have a Good Quality Before Bed Snack. This is really key for me. Some people can handle food before workouts better than others but I personally don’t want to have anything bouncing around in my stomach. With early workouts, I like to have an empty stomach and then eat a nice sized breakfast right after. However, if I wake up starving, then I don’t want to workout, I want to eat. So I either end up skipping the workout or I force myself to do the workout but it’s not very strong and I’m only thinking about finishing it so I can eat. If you are going to eat on an empty stomach first thing in the morning, make sure you give yourself some good bedtime fuel so you will be ready to kick booty when you wake up!

IMG 3078

cottage cheese and healthy peanut butter cups

4. Remember How Good You Will Feel. Think about this when that alarm clock goes off. You may want to throw that annoying machine against the wall at the time, but that feeling will pass once you get moving and finish out a great workout. It is so true that the hardest part is just starting. The workout is the easy part!

NewImage

5. Keep Things Fun and Interesting. I do all sorts of different exercises so I really never get bored. Cardio, strength, flexibility. Dvds, at-home workouts, gym classes, outdoor workouts,….the list can go on forever. Everyone can find something that they enjoy; exercise is for everyone. Sometimes accomplishing a hard strenuous workout is what I crave; other times I just want to blast my music and dance around my room. Both options are great; the main thing is that I’m moving and giving my body (and mind!) what it wants and needs.

NewImage

zumba on the beach? Um, yes please!!!

6. Reward Yourself With a Great Breakfast. This gives you something to look forward to after you complete your workout and it’s also crucial to refuel those muscles so you can recover properly.

IMG 3166

my breakfast yesterday: overnight blended cottage cheese, greek yogurt, pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger, vanilla, and blueberries. Topped in the morning with cooked oatbran and strawberries.

I think it’s also important to just remember why you exercise. It does so much for me physically and mentally that I can definitely justify starting my day a little bit earlier in order to reap the benefits. As I have said many times before on the blog, exercise is my stress relief. It makes me feel unstoppable and gives me the boost I need to keep up with life!

1. Any other tips to add?

2. Why do you exercise?

Have a wonderful Saturday all. 😀

Kristi

9 Responses to “How I Manage Early Morning Workouts”

  1. Katie Gagliano (@HealthyDiva31) March 31, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    thanks for the congrats!!!! ❤ Happy weekend!!!!! xoxo

  2. Pumpedpumpkin March 31, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    Great tips I agree with all of them!!! It’s so important to have your workout planned the night before otherwise I’m a sleepy mess at the gym wandering around

  3. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate March 31, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    My key is to have a big snack right before bed. Always gives me plenty of energy at 5 AM (no time to eat!)

  4. eatingforexcellence April 1, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Ah everything in this post is perfect! I may or may not have once even slept in my workout clothes. I know that I won’t back out if I already have my stuff on because I would feel too bad! I love the breakfast tip too…a tasty meal after a workout is a must 🙂

  5. paoang April 2, 2012 at 1:29 am #

    GREAT tips! I usually work out first thing in the mornings during the weekend because I am more of a “night” gym person mehehe 🙂 But when I work out first thing during the weekends I feel SO accomplished!

  6. Lisa April 3, 2012 at 3:44 am #

    I always plan my workouts at least a day in advance. And eat a pretty big snack right before bed so I don’t have to eat when I first get up! I have to get it done in the morning because I work until 11, so either do it at 5 or 6 or I can’t for the rest of the day! So that’s my extra motivation as well.

  7. Meg April 3, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    This is such a helpful post and beautifully written girl 🙂 Morning workouts are so essential to me! I love them way more than later on in the day! I use so many of these tips myself! Like I said, great post, babe

  8. Kammie April 4, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Great tips here! I have to rememeber how I good I feel, seriously, it’s so simple but yet so efffective.

Leave a Reply

