I like Them Thick.

5 Apr

Shakes, that is!

IMG 3218

As you could tell from my last post, smoothies and shakes have been happening a lot over here. They are so refreshing and I love how much nutrition I can pack in them and yet still have it taste like dessert. Does it get any better than that? Here are my top things I like to use to get shakes and smoothies thick and creamy:

1. Coconut Oil

2. Spinach

3. Xanthan Gum and Guar Gum

4. Frozen banana (and other frozen fruits)

5. Chia seeds

Coconut Oil is definitely my favorite smoothie add-in currently. It creates such a creamy texture and tropical flavor. Mmmmm.

What was today’s shake of choice? I went for a….

Blueberry Muffin Protein Shake

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 serving vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 serving Incredible Greens (more on this awesome stuff to come!)
  • 2 handfuls fresh organic spinach
  • pinches of xanthan and guar gum
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1 cup ice

You know the drill: blend and enjoy! Delish.

Okay, school awaits and I need to keep up so I can head home tomorrow afternoon. I am happy that this week has moved along pretty fast for me and can’t wait to enjoy some relaxation time. Woot woot!

Favorite Smoothie add in?

What are your Easter/Weekend plans?

Kristi

13 Responses to “I like Them Thick.”

  1. Meg April 5, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    BLUEBERRY MUFFIN!? Oh can you say heaven!?

  2. Meg April 5, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    p.s. enjoy your Easter weekend πŸ˜€ love love love u

  3. The Teenage Taste April 5, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    This smoothie sounds (and looks!) fabulous. I love thick smoothies as well!

  4. Alexandra April 5, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Thick smoothies make my heart go pitter patter! πŸ˜€ This one sounds so delicious!
    I’m headed home to celebrate Easter with my family too!! Hope you have a fabulous, much-deserved time at home, love πŸ™‚

  5. Katie Gagliano (@HealthyDiva31) April 5, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    This sounds like an awesome blueberry smoothie! I have only had little bland regular ones.

    Happy Thursday love! ❀

  6. healthybellyellie April 5, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    Love adding nut butters and frozen bananas! The best! Of course, I always add some protein powder as well! I actually have never added coconut oil to my smoothies before – I love coconut oil! I will try this ASAP!!

  7. Lisa April 5, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    This recipe sounds fab. I love blueberries in my smoothies! I never though to add coconut oil to my smoothies, good idea!

  8. Sable@SquatLikeALady April 5, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    MMmmmm Max would love this shake! I probably would too but I’m so cold all the time lately =(

  9. rhythmofmymind April 6, 2012 at 3:25 am #

    That smoothie sounds great! I love makings smoothies. I also use Xanthan and Guar gum. They are key to wonderful smoothies.

  10. Healthiful Balance April 7, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    I love thick smoothies, too! This one looks delish, I’ll have to try it! I just had lunch but after reading blogs I’m craving all sorts of things πŸ˜›
    My favorite smoothie add ins are frozen fruit, protein powder, raw cocoa powder and yogurt.

    Have a great Easter weekend!

  11. caloricandcrazy April 7, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    thick milk shakes are the best!!

  12. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody April 8, 2012 at 1:25 am #

    I couldn’t agree more, thick smoothies are where it is at! I love adding in cocoa powder πŸ™‚

  13. Living, Learning, Eating April 8, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    That looks delicious! I can’t get guar and xanthan gum to work for me though – what’s your trick so that it’s not gross and gummy?

Leave a Reply

