Move of the Day, A Workout, and a Drink!

15 Apr

I’m so glad it’s Sunday! Sundays just might be my favorite day of the week…something about them is so calm and peaceful. This one, however, is extra peaceful after a very eventful Saturday, and not exactly in a good way. Severe weather hit the majority of Kansas yesterday and I was on pins and needles watching the weather reports all day long. When I woke up and headed outside for some errands in the morning, it was easy to tell that a storm was coming. It was dark, windy, warm, and very eery looking. Next thing I know hail is coming down at full blast. This passes on though and I think, okay that wasn’t too bad. But no, next up: Tornados. We were being advised to stand by and keep watching the weather reports into the wee hours of the morning. The warnings and watches went clear until 6 a.m. I was one tired girl and not happy at all; I just wanted to sleep! Several tornados hit areas near me last night but luckily we did not end up getting one. Nevertheless it was still a scary situation and I’m so relieved to be done with yesterday!

Even though I didn’t get much sleep last night, I woke up more than ready to hit the gym for a good strength training session after taking a rest day Saturday. I put together a circuit based on a few things I have recently picked up from my favorite workout source, Mid West Fit. I hopped out of bed, made myself some egg white oats with blueberries and mango pieces,

IMG 3247

(frozen mango = best oatmeal add in ever)

and got down to business!

Move of the Day

Deck Squat

If you want a fun change up from your usual squat moves, this one is perfect. I thought they were so much pretty fun to do!

Here is how I incorporated them into today’s workout:

Circuit:

1. Deck Squat, 10 reps

2. Reverse Fly, 12 reps

3. Goblet Squat, 15 reps

4. Push Press, 15 reps

5. Burpees, 10 reps

6. Pushups, 12 reps

Perform circuit 4 times though, moving with little to no rest between each move, and resting 1 minute after each round.

Tabata:

(20 seconds work, 10 seconds rest using a tabata timer)

8 rounds alternating between:

1. bicep curls

2. kettlebell swings

8 rounds alternating between:

1. mountain climbers

2. punches and ground touches (punch the air once each side then touch the ground once on each side)

Abs:

Flutter Kicks, 1 minute

Side Plank with hip raises, 30 seconds each side

Medicine Ball Twists, 1 minute

DONE!

I came home feeling quite accomplished and made yet another delicious shake. I’ve been on a shake roll lately, from the German Chocolate Shake, the Blueberry Muffin Shake, the Banana Flax Frapp, the Chocolate Sunflower Frapp, and now…

IMG 3248

IMG 3249

Chocolate Strawberry Mocha Post Workout Shake

  • 1 serving protein powder
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup ice
  • 1 heaping tbsp coffee crystals
  • 1 heaping tbsp dark chocolate cocoa powder
  • pinch of xanthan and guar gums
  • pinch of stevia
  • 2 handfuls of fresh spinach

Of course I had to make it greenified with some spinach! Don’t act like you’re surprised. 😉

And now I’m going to get busy in the kitchen with some meal prep for the week! Yay! This will later be accompanied by studying for TWO exams that I have tomorrow. Oh the joys of being in college. Summertime, please hurry!

Have a great Sunday all!

7 Responses to “Move of the Day, A Workout, and a Drink!”

  1. Sable@SquatLikeALady April 15, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    I’ve never heard of deck squats before! Definitely different =D

  2. Alexandra April 15, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    Ohhhhh girl that smoothie is KILLER! I gotta go make me one now haha 😉
    And I’m lovin that deck squat move, I’ve never heard of it before!
    Stay safe in the crazy tornado-y weather my friend!! ❤

  3. Lisa April 15, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    I’ve never tried deck squats before or even heard of them! I’ll have to try them out. Your smoothies always look so good! I need to get my blender back to making the smoothies! Yikes, I hope your weather gets nicer sounds freaky! Have a great sunday lady!xo

  4. lifttorun April 15, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Loving that work out!

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! April 15, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    Nice workout girl!! I actually did a move similar to those squats today! Except instead of a weight I would come up and do a jump at the end!

  6. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope April 16, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    I hate weather scares! We had a storm the night before and it kept me up, but luckily no tornadoes. Glad you stayed safe!

    That smoothie sounds amazing!

  7. kat April 16, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Ahhhh how scary!! Glad to hear your ok though. One good thing about living in Cali, no tornados!!
    That workout is awesome, adding that to my list for sure!! I love simple workouts with tough moves. No fuss or complicated stuff, just grit and sweat!

Leave a Reply

