Dr O says it’s a go

18 Apr

Currently Watching: Dr. Oz. And I just heard something that made me pretty darn happy. Dr Oz says coffee is a YES! It is being featured as one of the top cancer fighters, specifically breast cancer, colon cancer, uterine cancer, and several more. I already knew my beloved coffee was a winner, but it’s always nice to hear more positive feedback. πŸ™‚

Anways, moving on to some What I Ate Wednesday action, here are a few things that have been going in my tum lately.

 
Along with my Coffee, I’ve been enjoying more pumpkin power rolls for breakfast:

IMG 3241

and pancakes! I have a new favorite recipe to use now thanks to my friend, Kat.

IMG 3245

I made her recipe for blueberry coconut protein pancakes and they are uhhhmazing. Do yourself a favor and make them. πŸ™‚

For lunches, I have been an egg and avocado kick.

Here we have a baked mozzarella spinach quiche, smashed avocado (plus salt and pepper) on toast, and roasted spinach:

IMG 3236

and I’ve been doing this combo a ton lately:

IMG 3269

1 or 2 whole eggs along with 2 or 3 egg whites (yes, I go through eggs like no other), cooked up omelette style, except I don’t break up the whole eggs because I adore running yolk. It’s the best part. Then after I plate up my omelette, I throw a few pieces of turkey and some spinach in the pan to toast up and then put it on top. So good.

Shakes, shakes, more shakes!

IMG 3249

Chocolate Banana Green Monster:

  • 1 scoop Trutein chocolate covered banana protein blend
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/2 ripe banana
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 scoop Incredible Greens

IMG 3242

salmon burger, green beans, and coconut oil roasted kabocha squash. Perfect.

IMG 3235

I’ve been loving this dessert: greek yogurt mixed with chia seeds, stevia, and vanilla extract—>in the fridge for at least 20 minutes to thicken. Then get your toppings out! Chocolate and almond butter please and thank you.

The chia seeds make is so thick and add a really fun texture.

Pssst….right now I currently have cheesecakes in the oven and my apartment smells quite amazing. I will be diving in very soon, oh yes. These are healthy, delicious, cheesecakes no less. I know I keep saying I will be posting recipes soon and really, I am planning on it! Cheesecake and all. πŸ˜€

Happy Wednesday to all!

Kristi

20 Responses to “Dr O says it’s a go”

  1. bananahut April 18, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    do you make the salmon burger yourself?or just buy in packs?

    • Sweetly Fit April 18, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

      those ones were actually just store bought, at Sams Club!

  2. Kate April 18, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    I have been loving on the whole eggs recently too!

    The pancake looks great! I just checked out Kat’s recipe and will probably be making it soon!

  3. katalysthealth April 18, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    yup coffee is awesome, as long as its not loaded with cream and sugar!! thats where people mess up πŸ™‚
    loooove the pancakes. They look delish!!
    And cheesecake is my favorite!!

  4. Alexandra April 18, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Omelettes are THE BEST!! Yours look so pretty too, mine always come out looking more like scrambled eggs haha πŸ˜‰
    And those pancakes and roasted kabocha squash…YES PLEASE!!! πŸ˜€
    Have a rockin day pretty lady!

  5. MassachusEATS April 18, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Lol my boyfriend flies through eggs, too – he eats 4 egg whites a day! That dessert is lookin’ pretty good!

  6. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope April 18, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    Coffee is one of those things that I just love… I know it makes me feel my best in the mornings and gives me lots of energy! Gotta love the health bonuses too!

    Your green smoothies look amazing πŸ™‚

  7. Katie Gagliano (@HealthyDiva31) April 18, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    I am so glad to hear Dr.O says yes to coffee, even if he said no, I would drink it! I am addicted!

    Loving the eats as usual! The pancakes look fab, I just bought coconut flour and need to make some!

    ❀

  8. Meg (A Dash of Meg) April 18, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Cannot wait for these recipes πŸ˜€ XO

  9. Ashley @ AlmostVegGirlie April 18, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Mmmm your dessert looks really delish! I need to invest in some chia seeds so I can make all these amazing things I’ve seen that use them.

    I’m glad to hear about the coffee! I’m not a huge coffee drinker but I love iced coffee from Starbucks every once in awhile and making my own at home too.

  10. KatsHealthCorner April 19, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    Hey Gorgeous! πŸ™‚ I’m so glad that you enjoyed my pancake(s) — they are definitely one of my favorites. ❀

    YAY for green monstah's and yogurt creations!

  11. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life) April 19, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    That omlette with whole eggs in it is such a great/unique idea!!! Love it!

  12. whatwouldjessicaeat April 19, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    Pancakes are my all-time favorite breakfast, but I never take the time to make them! This recipe sounds awesome, and seeing your pics has totally sparked a craving!

    • Sweetly Fit April 19, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      I like to make pancakes ahead of time. They freeze great and are perfect for busy mornings!

  13. sarah April 19, 2012 at 4:52 am #

    I get legitimately excited for your WIAW’s every
    week!
    Everything ALWAYS looks & sounds just too good- you have The Best taste in food!

    Okay, so I need to try that dessert. Can I ask roughly how much chia you add the yogurt? Almond butter+choc= Drooooool.

    Xxx

    • Sweetly Fit April 19, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

      Thank you! I’m glad you liked it! I usually add about 1 tbsp of chia seeds and about 3/4 cup- 1 cup of greek yogurt.

  14. FitNjess April 19, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    I am dying to try that pumpkin roll!! did you make any substitutions or did you follow the recipe to a T?

  15. Lisa April 19, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    I seriously could eat this whole page. I adore all the food you eat. I love eggs and avocado together, it seriously makes the best combo!! And I love smoothies and coffee, basically we are food twins πŸ˜‰ I also go through egg whites like crazy, I am addicted to them! Have a great thursday lady!xo

  16. caloricandcrazy April 21, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    oh that baked mozzarella spinach quiche, smashed avocado on toast, and roasted spinach—–it’s so amazingly green and beautiful! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

