Can I get a time out???

21 Apr

It’s weekend time!

NewImage

I originally thought that pic was cute, but now that I closer at it, this is girl is pretty creepy looking. Oh well, it’s the weekend and I’m happy. 😀

I hope you all are doing fantastic on this beautiful day! Lately my life has been comprised of running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off, leaving me very little time to blog. I have written 5 papers this week. I knocked out a 6-pager this morning. I have 2 more to do tomorrow. I’m not bragging; in fact I would much rather this not be true. But it is in fact the very truth. 2 regular weeks left until finals week and I guess you could say it’s crunch time? Ay yi yi….Ref, can I get a time out?!

But even with all the typing and computer time I have had to devote to school work, you know I couldn’t be away from the blog for too long! I have a few recipes that I’ve been promising to talk about, and the time has come!

IMG 3284

Banana-cado Shake

  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 cup of cottage cheese/greek yogurt
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 scoop Incredible Greens
  • 1 scoop Mrm veggie protein powder, vanilla
  • handful spinach
  • ice, stevia, thickening gums

If you haven’t tried avocado in a shake, you are missing out. Avocado = creamy goodness. Plus the healthy fats ensure that all the nutrients in your shake will be absorbed. #winning. I love this combo!!!

IMG 3225

Baked Spinach Mozzarella Quiche

  • 4 cups total of eggs/egg substitute—>I did a mixture of both
  • several large handfuls torn spinach
  • 1 cup fresh grated mozzarella cheese
  • chopped green onions
  • seasonings—>I used garlic, onion, mrs dash, black pepper, chili powder, and a teensy bit of seasoned salt on top

Simply combine everything in a baking dish and cook for at 350* for around 25-30 minutes (depending on oven) until set and lightly browned on top.

Egg dishes are awesome for weekly food prep because they are so EASY. Plus you can literally have a fresh new flavor combination every single week. Endless combinations = never boredom eating.

IMG 3226

with roasted broccoli slaw pasta and ezekiel goat cheese wrap


IMG 3272

IMG 3270

Single Serve Protein-Filled Cheesecakes (original recipe here)

This fun baking project was actually from the bodybuilding.com forum, which I slightly adapted and I am very happy with how they turned out! You can make one big cheesecake with this recipe as well, but I realized that I was lacking in baking pans so I decided to make these single servings. This is something that blew up on the forums, with many people adding in their own variations and flavor combos. I recommend checking it out!

  • 12 oz cream cheese—>I used fat free
  • 10 oz plain greek yogurt
  • 1 egg, 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup stevia baking blend
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 1/4 serving vanilla protein powder—>I use and recommend Truscience vanilla caseinator
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • dash of sea salt

I baked these at 325* for about 45 minutes. You can get more precise recipe direction on the original page.

Mine were delicious, but they didn’t look nearly as good as some of the other bodybuilding.com people’s. Check out some of their creations:

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

Get. in. my. belly.

I ❤ Cheesecake!!!! It’s hard to imagine something that good and decadent can actually be healthy, huh? I’m a fan. 😀

Okay, time to unwind and get away from from the computer for a bit! Have a great weekend everyone!

Kristi

14 Responses to “Can I get a time out???”

  1. healthybellyellie April 21, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    I know how you feel with the stresses of the last weeks of school! AHHH! But I am happy to say, today was my last exam, so it’s officially SUMMER! It’s a great feeling – you will get there in no time! I’ve never used avocados in my shakes but I will have to try! I know they are used alot in vegan dessert puddings and all, which I will also have to try. Avocados are just an all around great food! Good luck with your finals and papers!!!

    Fellow (used to be) Kansan,

    Ellie

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! April 21, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    I love avocado! I can’t believe I have never tried it in a smoothie!!! I need to do that ASAP! It probably makes it so rich and smooth!!

  3. sarah April 21, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Kristi= Dedicated Student-I admire your organised/efficient ways!

    WOW, all this food looks amaaazing, thanks for the yummy inspiration. I always want try my hand at ALL your recipes. Especially that shake, it contains some of my fave ingredients, and cottage cheese is awesome all blended up.

    MMmmMm, cheesecake…

    Xxx

  4. kat April 21, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    Yum to everything!! Especially that cheesecake! Cheesecake of any kind is my favorite!

  5. Alexandra April 22, 2012 at 12:50 am #

    Ahhhhh can I get a slice of some of this amazing cheesecake?!?! This all looks so good!
    I’m not a fan of avocado at all so I’ll have to try your smoothie idea, I bet it masks it well!
    I also admire your positive attitude through this school stress, you rock 🙂 And hey, summer is just around the corner WOOOOO!

  6. Meg (A Dash of Meg) April 22, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    that cheesecake looks incredible babe 🙂

    I can’t believe all of those papers you are writing!? holy moly! you are so admirable

  7. Kate April 22, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    I need to make an egg bake today to eat throughout the week! Also, need to try the avocado in the shake. I’ve done it before and loved it…it’s been too long since!

  8. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life) April 23, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    OMG I am a huuuuuuge cheesecake fan. These look awesome! How similar are they to a real cheesecake?

    • Sweetly Fit April 24, 2012 at 12:00 am #

      It tastes like the real deal to me. 🙂

  9. eatingforexcellence April 23, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    All that foods looks TO DIE FOR ahhh so good! But all those papers in one week?! That’s insane! Good for you! Have a great week, I hope it isn’t too stressful!

  10. FitNjess April 23, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    I love single serve recipes!! Thanks for posting, I def need to try!!

  11. Lisa April 23, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    Um that cheesecake looks insanely good! Especially because there is no crust, and I hate the crust! A win all around. I love putting avocado in my smoothies, makes them so much creamier and delicious. Holy crazy paper writing! Sounds like your super busy my friend, hopefully you will be finished soon and can take some time and relax!

  12. Healthiful Balance April 27, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    That shake sounds really good! I have a sore throat right now so a yummy, cold shake like that would be perfect! 🙂

  13. bkkolota September 17, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I love broccoli slaw and use it in many of my recipes. In fact, I just used it yesterday to make a Balsamic Strawberry Salad. However, I never thought about roasting it. Ingenious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

