Just a cheesecake makin’ fool

28 Apr

Hello beautiful people!

I hope everyone is doing fantastic on this great weekend! I have been mostly non-existant this week in the blog world due to..you guessed it..end of semester school shenanigans and also just life in general. It’s good to take a break sometimes though and step away from the computer. I got a lot accomplished and am getting very close to being finished…two weeks to be exact. Although, I have decided to take some summer classes to help knock a few things out faster but I won’t be starting them until June. It will be worth it in the long run and will keep me occupied along with work this Summer. I’m looking forward to the change of pace!

I don’t have too much to report, but I do have good eats that I have been loving lately.

Remember my mini cheesecakes from the last post? I made another one, this time full sized:

IMG 3290

IMG 3291

topped with sunflower butter and peanut butter. Why choose just one?

I changed the recipe slightly and used:

  • 8 oz cream cheese (1 block)—> I used fat free
  • 4 oz cottage cheese
  • 10 oz plain greek yogurt
  • 1 egg, 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup stevia baking blend
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 1/4 serving vanilla protein powder—> I use and recommend Truscience vanilla caseinator
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • dash of sea salt

Mix all ingredients well and pour into a 9 or 6 inch springform pan. (6 inch = thicker cheesecake) The above cheesecake is in a 9 inch pan the baking times were 325* for 30 minutes, then 200* for 50 minutes. (The longer and lower cooking time allows for even cooking throughout) Leave out at room temp for at least 1 hour before refrigerating. Leave in fridge overnight before serving to allow cheesecake to set. If you use a 6 inch, you will need to cook it longer due to the thickness!

TIP! use a “water bath” for much more even baking. This was key for me. Check out how in this video. Or you can just stick a pan of hot water on the rack below the cheesecake. (I do this.)

It’s so darn good! I am a cheesecake makin’ fool now. Next up: chocolate peanut butter cheesecake. Also to come: berry cheesecake. Another idea: mocha latte cheesecake. Noooooom.

I brought back silken tofu:

IMG 3301

Blended silken tofu used to be an obsession for me at one point…and now it’s back. Sometimes I just blend it plain, but I also love to add stevia and vanilla extract….or various fruits. Add banana for banana cream pie! It is a good change up from yogurt and what I would eat in place of it when I thought I was having problems with dairy. It makes a great substitute!

Shrimpppppp!

IMG 3302

I ❤ Shrimp. Actually I ❤ all seafood in general. Especially with roasted broccoli slaw pasta and sweet potato wedges.

For anyone thinking about what to make tomorrow for Weekend Food Prep, here’s one of my absolute favorites!

Danica’s Baked Cheesey Turkey Ziti

IMG 3297

It’s almost too fast and easy to put together and always comes out so, so good.  Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

IMG 3286

ahhh, yes.

Snack plate lovin’:

IMG 3298

Blackberries are my FAVORITE fruit at the moment. That is one bold statement but they are tasting amazing lately and have been on special since last week at my grocery store. I am going to turn into a blackberry!

Aside from cheesecake, sludges have still been happening:

IMG 3265

greek yogurt, vanilla casein, almond milk, peanut butter, healthy chocolate sauce (1 tbsp dark cocoa powder/stevia/milk)

I usually freeze it for a bit then stir it up again. I will never tire of the sludge. 🙂

For some workout fun, I’ve been getting some great ideas from Fitness Loves of the Week. Such a neat idea, check it out! I did this one yesterday and really liked it:

NewImage

(from this great blog!)

Tonight will be low key I think. The apartment is a bit of a mess and I need some productivity motivation. 😉 My fingers are crossed for a less hectic upcoming week which will mean more bloggy appearances. I sure hope so!

Questions for today:

What are you doing this weekend?

cleaning, homework, relaxing, and a 5k run for charity is on the agenda.

What was your favorite dessert growing up?

Cheesecake was and is definitely a favorite. I also remember my mom’s zucchini cake with cream cheese frosting which I adore. See, even back in the day I loved my vegetables. Just look over the fact that they were drowned in sugar. 😉

Favorite seafood?

I can’t play favorites with seafood; Salmon, tuna, shrimp, scallops, rainbow trout, tilapia…it would be a better question to ask what seafood I don’t like….which unfortunately would be sardines. I know, they are amazingly healthy for you, which is why I was so inclined to try some one day. Oh my…never again with the scales and bones. Yikes.

Kristi

19 Responses to “Just a cheesecake makin’ fool”

  1. Danica @ It's Progression April 28, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    So glad you liked the workout!!
    My favorite dessert growing up was definitely apple pie. It still holds a special place in my heart, but dark chocolate has overstepped it 🙂

    • Sweetly Fit April 28, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

      thanks for posting it!!! I have to agree with you on the dark chocolate…it’s hard to beat. 😉

  2. Pumpedpumpkin April 28, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    OH MAN<3 that cheesecake. words can't express how good it looks! I think I'll give it a try soon. I love shrimp too but if I eat too much my stomach starts to bloat up 😦 I think I have an intolerance to it. So sad because I love it with some nice cocktail sauce 🙂 My favorite seafood: Salmon, tilapia, swordfish, tuna… the list keeps on going I love fish! 😀

  3. Alexandra April 28, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    Holy cow that cheesecake sounds like dairy bliss! I’ll have to make it and hunt for that casein 🙂
    This weekend for me = studying, cleaning, and hopefully baking! And goodness I dont think I could choose a favorite seafood, I love it all! Mahi Mahi, shrimp, salmon mmmmmm
    Enjoy the rest of your Saturday!

  4. Alex @ therunwithin April 28, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    wow, all of this looks so good. I want to try that recipe.

  5. sarah April 29, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    Glad to see you have been living your life and ,getting stuff done, and being a fab student as always:).

    I LOVE your updates- and you always leave The Best links for me to check out- so thanks!

    All your food looks SO GOOD- I’m going to try that greek yogurt combo ASAP*excited*.

    I think tuna and salmon are classic seafood loves of mine. But I like sardines! I barely notice the bones and they’re packed full’o calcium!
    Xxx

    • Sweetly Fit April 29, 2012 at 2:35 am #

      Thanks, Sarah! I feel like I need to give sardines another chance…but man, I’m a little traumatized.

  6. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! April 29, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    Believe it or not I have never tried a type of seafood that I didn’t like!! I love it all! And believe me I have tried A LOT!!!!!!!!!!!! All your snacks look so good! You’re always so creative with your eats!

  7. Lisa April 29, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    What what! This looks absolutely incredible! I have been wanting to make a faux cheesecake for a while.Believe it or not my favourite dessert was cheesecake. It was actually the only dessert I would ever eat because I hated cake and brownies and all that stuff. I was an odd child!

  8. Bellaspire April 30, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    I really want to try the sludge!!

  9. PowerCakes™ (@PowerCakes) May 1, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    love that you make the healthy chocolate sauce!! ;]

  10. FitNjess May 3, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    I need to try that cheesecake!! Thanks for the great ideas:)

  11. caloricandcrazy May 5, 2012 at 1:04 am #

    that cheesecake is SO adorable! 🙂

  12. AG May 10, 2012 at 1:22 am #

    ahhhh, i will be making this cheesecake soon! i can’t remember the last time i had it.

    I look forward to following your blog.

  13. teabagginit May 10, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    i blend my oats with silken tofu – awesome rice pudding-y!

  14. Dani June 2, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    so i bookmarked this cheesecake recipe a while ago and stumbled upon it today so i decided to give it a try and it is CRAZY GOOD! Seriously i’m in love. this is totally going to be my new go to dessert. and i topped it with some coconut which tasted amazing. i think next time i may try and make a coconut version of it?? yummmmm 🙂

  15. Chocolate Covered Sneakers June 2, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    so i bookmarked this cheesecake recipe a while ago and stumbled upon it again today so i decided to give it a try and it is CRAZY GOOD!!! it is seriously amazing. and i topped it with coconut which made it even better! this is def gonna be my new go to dessert. next time i think i may try to make a coconut version??? yummm 🙂

    • Sweetly Fit June 3, 2012 at 1:40 am #

      Oh yay! I’m so happy you tried it. This made me laugh because I read this comment literally right after I put one in the oven myself. Great minds think alike! 😉

  16. Lauren @ WWoB August 10, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    its in the oven and im freaking out!!! i cant wait! i am licking the batter bowl as we speak… i changed it up a bit to make up for what I had and didnt have… but im sure its going to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

