Worth a Second Chance

6 May

Happy Sunday!

This morning I slept in for the first time in a long time. My body won’t let me sleep too long usually, but I must have really needed some rest because I knocked out good. Now I feel so refreshed and ready to tackle and enjoy the day! That is a good feeling. πŸ˜€

So referring to my title, what exactly is worth a second chance? You might recall that while I am a seafood fanatic, I have NOT been a fan of sardines. I tried them once and was scarred….scales, bones, other things that shouldn’t belong in my mouth if you ask me. But seeing as how many people have said how good they are and knowing how incredibly nutritious they are, I decided I would not be defeated by these little fishies. I found a package of scale-free sardines and decided they just may be the answer….

IMG 3328

Round 1: Sardines.

Round 2: Victory for Yours Truly

I LOVED THEM!!!!

This time, the container was full of thick meaty portions without any of the nasty extras. I have found the trick and will be sticking with this version from now on! These babies were so tasty!!!

In case you don’t know how amazingly nutritious sardines are, read on:

Ounce for ounce, sardines provide more calcium and phosphorus than milk, more iron than spinach, more potassium than coconut milk and bananas, and as much protein as steak. One can of Wild Planet sardines contains 313 mg EPA and 688 mg DHA Omega 3 and is an ample source of Vitamin B12, Vitamin D, and selenium. Not to mention 30% daily value of calcium per serving!

Awesome. These will be in my regular eating rotations from now on!

Another thing that I’ve been eating my weight in -that probably won’t shock you- is cheesecake! Yep, I made more…

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheesecake

IMG 3309

Original Vanilla Cheesecake

IMG 3318

IMG 3325

topping of choice! πŸ˜‰

*not pictured is the peanut butter cheesecake version I made yeserday* Ahhhhh! So good.

You can find my recipe HERE!

*I bake it in either a 6 inch springform pan or a 9 inch one. If you want thick slices like the one above, go the for the 6 inch. It takes longer to cook due to the thickness, so bake it a bit longer so it’s not too soft on the inside.

*I decided to plug in the ingredients and show you all the stats for the classic original version. Yes, the serving size (for me anyways) is actually 1/4 of the cheesecake. And it is one hefty slice!!!

Cheesecake

30 grams of protein? Yes please!

This recipe is completely flexible so you can easily change up the flavors.

For the chocolate peanut butter version: useΒ choco pb protein powder and added 3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder

Peanut butter version: use peanut flour (pb2) in place of protein powder and add a bit extra sweetener and extra dash of salt.

My next one will be pumpkin cheesecake!

***

For my weekend prep meal, I will be making some new to me…Chicken Enchilada Casserole!

NewImage

This is an Eat Better America recipe and you can find the full recipe and directions HERE.

Chicken

I’ve also been eyeing their Fiesta Taco Casserole

NewImage

Obviously, I’m on a bit of a mexican kick.

My other Weekend Food Prep foods will include: roasting some kabocha squash and a big batch of brussel sprouts as well as cooking up some soft boiled eggs—>my new favorite snack addition! They are like my beloved runny eggs only in a go-to form. I love it!

Okay, I must go be productive. I have 3 final exams left for next week and A LOT of info to jam into my brain. Good thing I loaded up on those sardines to get in my Omegas for good brain function. Lets hope they do the trick and help me out!

Kristi

20 Responses to “Worth a Second Chance”

  1. yogininoms May 6, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    I love sardines! another favorite of mine are kippers. Have you ever tried them? They have an amazing smoky flavor! Have a lovely day πŸ™‚

  2. Alexandra May 6, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Yay yay yay!!!! So glad you gave sardines another chance, aren’t they delish?! πŸ™‚
    Speaking of delish, all of this cheesecake is making my mouth water hardcore. I really need to make some, I keep forgetting! Thank goodness summer is so close– I forsee lots and lots of cheesecake heehee πŸ˜‰
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 6, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    I LOVE sardines! Well I love seafood in general but those are especially delicious! I love making them up like I make my tuna salad! So yummy.

    • Sweetly Fit May 6, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      Oh that is a good idea! I have been making tuna salad a lot lately too!

  4. Pumpedpumpkin May 6, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    I am so making this cheesecake!! and i LOVE sardines! Trader Joe’s has the best brand especially unsalted ones! I also loved your last post on how to save money for workouts. I had no idea you could buy used equipment from gyms! I am going to keep that in mind from now on! Enjoy your weekend!

  5. healthybellyellie May 6, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Soft boiled eggs = the best…. And when I tried sardines a while back… I had the same experience with the bones and such, not to mention the smell…. haven’t tried them since! Glad you could find some you liked πŸ™‚ Good luck with exams!!!!

    • Sweetly Fit May 6, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

      I think the brand/getting scale and bone free makes a HUGE difference! These didn’t smell bad like my first experience with them did. I was so happy, haha!

  6. Lauren @ WWoB May 6, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    holy crap that cheese cake looks good! about to go get that recipe!!
    And thank you for the sweet comment πŸ™‚

  7. sarah May 6, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    YES! Spreadin the sardine love;), plus those tasty lil fishes are waaay more sustainable than some of the other more popular/overfarmed fish. You should try them mashed with tomato sauce and avocado- I think you’d like it.

    Maybe I should give the cheesecake a 2nd chance- I wrote them off as too much work and kitchen clean-up for some reason. But yours look AMAZING(maybe you could make’em for me;)?) . But seriously, I’d love a big hunk of healthy cheescake as a snack/dessert!
    I also love how organised , well prepared and creative you are with your weekly meals- an inspiration I tell’ya!
    Xxx

    • Sweetly Fit May 6, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      Thanks for the sardine idea. That sounds so good! And I would gladly make you a cheesecake! Flavor preference?! πŸ™‚

  8. Lisa May 6, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    I have never ever tried sardines, but doubt I would like them because I don’t even like fish. Too bad, because its so good for you. Your cheesecakes look amazing, I have hot to make myself one!

  9. Susan May 6, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    I am going to make your cheesecake, it looks delicious!

  10. Sable@SquatLikeALady May 6, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    SOFT boiled eggs?! Say whaaaaat? I’m off to educate myself….they sound delicious!

  11. Tara May 7, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    That cheesecake looks seriously good. I will have to make this for my husband!

  12. Sarah @ feeeding the brain and body May 7, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Those cheesecakes look so great! I bet the peanut one is amazing! I’ve never actually tried sardines!

  13. Tasha May 8, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    That cheesecake just looks TOOO good! πŸ™‚

  14. The Teenage Taste May 8, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    I’m not much of a fan of sardines, but that cheesecake looks crazy good! I LOVE cheesecake!

  15. ilovefetacheese May 8, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    those cheesecakes look AMAZING. wow!! Do you eat them up pretty fast? I have no idea how you decide on a flavor…I bet some fresh raspberries in there would be awesome too.

    • Sweetly Fit May 9, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

      Yes I’ve been downing them every day haha. But I do share with friends too and they have gotten a thumbs up. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

