A Recipe for Moms Day

13 May

Hi all! I’m feeling pretty darn good today largely in part because I’m D-O-N-E with the school semester!!! I drove home on Friday morning and have been chillaxing ever since. 🙂 I have all of May to continue with this relaxing theme until I start my online summer classes and internship/job in June. Life’s good!

Here’s a new recipe in honor of all the moms out there today.

Layered Mexican Fiesta Bake

IMG 3343

closer….

IMG 3344

a little clooooser…

IMG 3345

Fast, easy, and delicious. —> My criteria for cooking! This recipe fits the bill!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound chicken, boiled and chopped or shredded
  • 1 can refried beans
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 bell pepper, diced and microwaved/sauteed/steamed for a few minutes
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice (I used instant)
  • seasonings on choice…garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, and cumin
  • shredded cheese and olives for topping

Directions:

First, preheat oven to 350*. Then get some water boiling, boil up your chicken and dice or shred into small bite-sized pieces. Toss with seasonings of choice, set aside and let cool. Spread refried beans into the bottom of a greased casserole dish. Next layer: cooked brown rice. Next layer: diced tomatoes and diced bell pepper. Next layer: chicken. Next layer: toppings ~cheese, olives, lettuce, etc—>whatever your heart desires. Cover the top with foil and bake for about 20 minutes. Take foil off and bake for 5 more minutes. Serves 4!

This is another great dish for Sunday Prep Day. I divided them into four portions and put them each in their own ready-to-go container. I ate one for dinner and the other 3 traveled home with me. I love knowing that I have a healthy meal at my grasp whenever I need one/don’t feel like cooking. This is what makes Sunday Prep so worth it!

Enjoy!

I’m going to spend the rest of the day with the momma of the house

NewImage

We’re throwing around ideas for the day and may end up at the movies to see The Lucky One.

What are you doing for Mother’s Day?

Kristi

6 Responses to “A Recipe for Moms Day”

  1. Alexandra May 13, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Yay for delicious recipes and for being done!! Way to go girlfran! 🙂
    Hope you have a great day with your momma!

  2. Tessa at Amazing Asset May 13, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Fiesta dip is a classic favorite of mien, thanks for the recipe! And wahooo for being done, congrats, and happy mother’s day!

  3. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body May 13, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    This recipe looks great, thanks for sharing! I can definitely see the resemblance between you and your mom 🙂

  4. Paige @ Running Around Normal May 14, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    That dip sounds delicious! Hope you enjoyed the movie 🙂

  5. Lisa May 14, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    Yum. That looks delicious! I love 7 layered dips like that. So you get a taste of all different things in a bit. Happy Mother’s Day to your mom! Hope you girls enjoy the day!! And congrats with finishing your first semester!

  6. Beth Howard May 14, 2012 at 4:07 am #

    Very proud of you sweetie! Love you always and forever, Mom

Leave a Reply

