How My Energy Levels and Sleeping Have Improved

14 May

Morning!

Due to an awesome night’s sleep, I was up and bouncing around by 7:30 this morning and itching for some exercise. The weather looked nice and refreshing so I decided to head out with the pupper for a nice rulk (run + walk). I’ve missed having someone trotting right by my side. I’m going to enjoy this as much as I can while I’m home. πŸ™‚

Lately I have been feeling FULL of energy, healthy, strong, and my sleep has never been better. I thought I would highlight a couple things that have made a big difference for me. First off, It has taken me a long to find out what works and what doesn’t work for my body. Over the last couple of years especially, with my growing interest in health and wellness and decision to pursue a dietetics degree, I have tried a number of things in regards to my health. This includes what I eat/drink, how much I eat, supplements, vitamins, workouts- types, duration, intensity, etc.

What has really stood out to me throughout this process is that every body is unique. Meaning what works for one person won’t necessarily work for another. All you can do is educate yourself as much as possible, try things out for yourself, assess, and keep experimenting until you hit that “sweet spot.” I feel that I have become very in tune with knowing what I need in order to thrive and feel my best and while I am (and always will be) a work in progress, I can say that I’m pretty happy with where I’m at right now. That is a great feeling!

1) One major change that I made almost a month ago was cutting out coffee/high caffeine.

IMG 2765

The coveted k-cup drawer

You all know how much I love my coffee, especially with my beloved Keurig machine so this was not an easy decision to make. However, my sleep schedule had been completely out of whack for a long time and after trying numerous remedies and continuing to restlessly toss and turn throughout the night, I knew I needed to take a closer look at what I was putting into my body. Instead of trying to mask my problem with sleeping pills, I needed to find out what was causing the problem in the first place. So I did a little experiment, coming to find out that i did in fact sleep like a baby when I didn’t have any coffee. It didn’t matter if it was just one cup at 7 a.m. in the morning. I still could not sleep.

So I swapped out coffee for green tea, which does have a small caffeine content, but I seem to be just fine with it.

IMG 3305

My experimenting proved that I am very caffeine sensitive. I have been all this time and didn’t even know it! At first I was upset because I love love love my coffee! But then I realized what I’m getting in exchange for it. —>sleep, sanity, energy, restoration. I don’t know about you, but I would much rather have the latter. Plus, green tea and decaf coffee are still a-okay with me, so I’m really not giving up anything when I look at it that way.

Obviously many people drink coffee and sleep perfectly fine, so again, the key here was finding out what worked for my body. Instead of examining what every one is doing, I examined what I was doing and found the answer to my problem!

2) I have also added a supplement for Adrenal Support

IMG 3348

Adrenal Fatigue is a collection of signs and symptoms that results when the adrenal gland function below necessary levels. This can be caused by periods of high stress on the body and/or mind. Intense exercise can definitely play a role in this. Coffee/caffeine also stress the adrenal glands.

Being in school, I carry a pretty darn stressful load. And I participate in intense exericse. And my caffeine consumption (was) high.Β So it was a no brainer that I needed to give my adrenals some loving. Adrenal support supplements are relatively inexpensive and can make a huge difference in your energy levels. I buy NatraBio Adrenal Support from allstarhealth.com, but there are many good ones out there.

Check out these two links for more adrenal info. Yours could be suffering and you just haven’t realized it! Definitely worth a read:

What Is Adrenal Fatigue?

The Real Deal on Adrenal Fatigue

So those are two new things that I have found to be very helpful in my journey of health and I’m just plain feeling good! Mostly now I’m just focusing on the fundamentals: eat well, drink lots of water, exercise smart, and get sufficient sleep! It’s really that simple. That’s a big takeaway for me: just simplify things. I don’t need to take 30 different supplements a day and eat some kind of miracle ingredient to feel good and healthy. I just need to focus on the basics and everything will fall into place.

Obviously you know good fuel is very important for a thriving body, so how about a few eats?

IMG 3261

breakfast dough bowl- cottage cheese, greek yogurt, oats, blueberries, stevia, cinnamon, peanut butter

IMG 3277

fresh fruit cantaloupe!!!

IMG 3238

ekeziel tortilla with mashed avocado, turkey, and sprouts. raw crunch veggies.

IMG 3349

mexican fiesta bake with mixed veggies

IMG 3341

coconut oil sauteed veggies, baked yellow sweet potato, san seared salmon.

IMG 3235

greek yogurt + vanilla casein + chia seeds + almond milk Β ice cream (put in the freezer for an hour) and topped with dark chocolate and almond butter

See ya later!

Kristi

20 Responses to “How My Energy Levels and Sleeping Have Improved”

  1. Meg May 14, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    oh hunnie, you are going to be a phenomenal RD πŸ™‚ I am so excited for you. Gosh we are so alike. High caffeine? NO WAY

    • Sweetly Fit May 14, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      Thanks Meg. πŸ™‚ Maybe we’ll end up working side by side!

  2. yogininoms May 14, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    It’s awesome that you’re making so many positive changes in your lifestyle/diet! And your food looks delish as usual (I love that heart-shaped bowl!)

  3. Alexandra May 14, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Oh I’m SO happy for you girl!! Nothin beats having tons of energy and feeling great πŸ™‚
    That pan seared salmon is calling my name haha

  4. Lisa May 14, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    That’s awesome that you found out that simplicity works the best for your body. You are right that things don’t need to be super complicated for us to be healthy. Sad that you had to give up coffee though haha. I adore my coffee, and am so thankful my sleep is returning back to normal, because there’s no way I’d give it up. Okay, I would, but definitely don’t want to.

  5. Kate May 14, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    It’s great that you found out what works for YOU and not everyone else. I used to fall prey to going with trends and such, especially when they related to diet and exercise. I don’t think there’s a one size fits all answer to how our body’s function and perform optimally. A little dabble of this and that, or here and there usually does the trick for me. πŸ™‚

    • Sweetly Fit May 14, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

      exactly! Trends will always be floating around and tempting, but usually I find that sticking to the basics is the real answer.

  6. sarah May 14, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Thanks so much for sharing this- it was an inspiring read!

    Iv read a lot about adrenal fatigue and I often worry about it. But I was actually unaware you could buy a support for it, I definitely want to purchase this ASAP.

    Gosh darn your food looks gooood. Especially the 1st and last pictures, oh and the buttery ,delicious salmon, YUM:).
    Xxx

  7. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body May 14, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    This post has so much useful information in it, thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ Your breakfast looks incredible by the way! πŸ™‚

  8. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs May 14, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    It’s awesome you figured out what was up and fixed it! I love coffee so much, so I feel lucky that it doesn’t effect me. I love your eats, as always!

  9. marieesther May 15, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    Your post has A LOT of useful information, I plan on cutting down my caffeine intake.

  10. katalysthealth May 15, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    yuuuuum! everything looks great.
    Im so not a good sleeper,and Ive tried everything. Caffeine actually has zero effect on me. I can drink an entire pot and still fall straight to sleep, or go off it cold turkey with NO headaches or cravings for it at all. I do looove it though!

    • Sweetly Fit May 15, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

      You are SO lucky. I’m jealous. πŸ˜‰

  11. Kristin Stehly (@stuftmama) May 16, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    SO glad you found what works for your body. Isn’t it a great feeling figuring it out? :)Oh and I need to try that casein stuff. And.. I love all your cute plates. πŸ™‚

  12. paoang May 16, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    Congrats on being done with your semester!!! We’re already done with 1/4th of our undergrad careers. And it seems almost IMPOSSIBLE! I am glad to hear you are doing well and that you have so much going for you this summer. I can’t wait to read all about it!
    Have a great summer and HAVE FUN! πŸ™‚

    PS- Interesting thing about the adrenal glands – SOMEONE’S been feeling really tired lately, so I’ll have to check that out.
    PSS- I WANT THAT SALMON!

  13. KatsHealthCorner May 16, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    I’ve found that I’m really caffeine sensitive too! Just the caffeine in chocolate can effect me. For instance, if I have a piece of chocolate at around 8 or 9 at night, it will keep me up til 3am in the morning!!!! I’m glad you’ve found what works best for you! πŸ™‚

  14. teabagginit May 17, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    i’m so glad you’ve figured out what works for your body and you’re so right that everyone is unique in their own needs! good for you! and good for me for finding your blog – those eats look awesome!

  15. Jenn May 17, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Thank you SO much for sharing this! I had been trying to figure out why I was feeling so “off” for a while now and when I read this and the articles you linked to, I realized that my adrenals may need some love too. For the past few days, I cut back on caffeine (I miss my coffee!!!) and have been taking a supplement and I honestly notice a difference in how I feel! I am so excited! So super big thanks for posting about this – greatly appreciate it!!!

    • Sweetly Fit May 17, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      I’m so glad it helped you. I was very intrigued when I first found out about it too…had no idea! And I’m glad you can relate to my coffee situation, too. Decaf isn’t quite the same, but it’s close. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

