WIAW

16 May

It’s Wednesday! You know what that means. But fIrst, thanks for the feedback on my last post about some health changes I’ve made. I really can’t believe how good I’m feeling with just a few tweeks. Trial and error can be a pain in the butt sometimes, but it’s all paid off and I couldn’t be happier.

For WIAW today, I’ve again got a collection of eats from the past few days. Maybe one day I will actually do one full day of eats like WIAW is really supposed to be. I’m not very good at following rules am I? ha ha.

I have to give a shout out to Kristin over at Stuft Mamma because I fully admit to becoming aΒ tad bit obsessed with her blogΒ ever since I started reading around a month ago. She never fails to make me crack up and I adore looking at the photos of her way too cute twin boys. Plus, this girl knows how to eat! I have recently made 2 of her recipes that I am in love with! I suggest you treat yourself to them asap. First up was this gem:

IMG 3368

Stuft Mamma’s Stuft Baked French Toast. I used banana and cottage cheese to stuff and topped with peanut butter.

Then I tried this…

IMG 3342

Stuft Mamma’s Sweet Treat Breakfast Sandwich with grape jelly and ezekial bread.

Kristin, you are my idol! These will be regulars from now on i’m sure. πŸ™‚

Ironically enough, today for What I Worked Wednesday…

Stuft

I tried Kristin’s most recent workout that she posted: Stuft Mamma’s Booty Workout. My heart rate was up like crazy, especially with those froggy jumps. Those may become more of a love-hate relationship seeing as how winded I was after, oh about 10 seconds. I definitely loved this speedy workout though and followed it up with a trail run/walk outside in the gorgeous weather we’ve been having lately. It’s too nice to be inside!

Others eats have included:

IMG 2696

another dough bowl with cottage cheese, greek yogurt, oats, blueberries, stevia, cinnamon, and peanut butter

IMG 3091

dark chocolate Power Roll. I just added 2 tbsp dark cocoa powder to the regular mix. WIN!

IMG 2959

Nutty Protein Cookie Bowl. Loved this, too!

IMG 2861

This has been a favorite snack lately: one whole grain wrap stuffed with eggs, cream cheese (or goat cheese or laughing cow) and smoked salmon. I love smoked salmon!!!!

IMG 2735

eggplant fries- just put under the oven broiler for about 10 minutes each side. Coated with some olive oil, salt, and garlic powder.

IMG 2736

lettuce cups with lean ground beef, avocado, and salsa

IMG 2708

greek yogurt mixed with coconut flour and stevia. Gogi berries on top.

IMG 3003

Here’s an awesome savory snack: Mix Mrs Dash Fiesta Lime blend with some cottage cheese and dip cracker crips into it. Mmmmm.

IMG 3331

My usual dinner plate, aka extra large and extra filled. πŸ˜‰

This was more of Little B’s Clean Ground Turkey Pizza, roasted brussels, and roasted kabocha squash.

IMG 3363

Layered Mexican Fiesta Bake (topped with greek yogurt dollop)Β sauteed kale, and cauliflower cheesey breadsticks—>pretty nifty!

IMG 3070

and for dessert…a healthy chocolate cake recipe that I’ve been meaning to post for a while. Check back soon, I’ll have it up!

Thats it’s for me! Today I have a long overdue dentist check-up and then a family cookout for my grandpa’s birthday later today. In between those things will probably be some t.v. show catch-up, blog and Kindle reading, and playing with my favorite pup. I think it’s safe to say I’m liking Summer….just a bit. πŸ™‚

Do you prefer sweet or savory snacks?

I’m usually all about the sweet, but I’ve been loving adding in some savory ones to mix, especially if they involve cottage cheese or smoked salmon like in my above pictures. As the weather gets warmer, I usually always crave a lot more smoothies and shakes, but it’s nice to have variety!

Kristi

30 Responses to “WIAW”

  1. Alexandra May 16, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    OH MY WORD everything on this page has me foaming at the mouth! The roasted kabocha/veggies, protein cookie bowl and that mystery cake recipe at the end all look delicious! πŸ˜€ I can’t wait for that recipe mmmm
    I’ve ben lovin Stuft Mama’s recipes too, her pumpkin cooie dough never fails to make my tastebuds sing!

  2. Alex @ therunwithin May 16, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    oh my goodness, I am seriously taking notes for these recipes. I am gonna need some good food when I have a kitchen.

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs May 16, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Delicious eats! I totally do a random collection of my eats too. Also, how do you make your dough bowls? I’m officially admitting how intrigued I am with them. πŸ™‚

    • Sweetly Fit May 16, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      I just mix everything together and stick it in the fridge overnight. By breakfast time the next day, it’s creamy and the oats are doughy. It’s basically just a different version of overnight oats. I love it!

  4. Lift Eat Repeat May 16, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    I really like salty snacks! I’ve never been much of a sugar eater (I know, I’m crazy right!?)

  5. Kailey May 16, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    just catching up on some of your older post and props girl for actually listening to yourself!! I know its so hard to give up the things you love…coffee is a beautiful thing but when it messes with your sleep, well not so much anymore.

    ps – the sweet treat breakfast sandwich sounds amazing!

  6. Kristin Stehly (@stuftmama) May 16, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out! πŸ™‚ This made me smile like crazy! Um and that salmond wrap. I ant that right now!!! It looks delicious!!!

  7. Kristin Stehly (@stuftmama) May 16, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Oops- don’t mind my typo. SALMON. πŸ™‚

  8. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body May 17, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    Yumm everything looks so delicious especially that dark chocolate power roll! I don’t know if they have it in the States but I buy Smoked Salmon Cream cheese which is soo good and convienient! Your wrap looks fantastic! πŸ™‚

    • Sweetly Fit May 17, 2012 at 3:37 am #

      I have never seen that before but would LOVE it, i’m sure!

  9. Sara @crazy4nanas May 17, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    Okay your eats look soo good, I’m jealous!

  10. teabagginit May 17, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    wow, everything looked great! i’ve been seeing those powercakes everywhere and i’m really going to have to check them out for myself! i’m on a cottage cheese kick, too!

  11. Lisa May 17, 2012 at 4:30 am #

    I love stuftmama’s site too! Definitely one of my favourites!! And I want to eat everything in your post. It seriously all looks so delicious. I’m totally bookmarking this whole page!

  12. sarah May 17, 2012 at 4:42 am #

    So.much.awesomeness/deliciousness in one post – as always from you!!

    I love stuft mama too- she has some FAB recipes( I like her green micro muffins & her nack apple cake)- think the ones you’ve tried will be next on my agenda.
    I will have to try your dough bowl- iv never tried overnight oats type concoctions with cottage cheese before, but I think I’d like it!

    Normally I’m a sweet snacker too , although your wrap looks phenom:). If I do crave savoury ,at the moment i go for rice cakes topped with pb sprinkled with sea salt or cheese /roast chicken and crackers, YUM.
    Xxx

    • Sweetly Fit May 17, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

      Those snack ideas sound great! I might have to steal them from you!

  13. JulieGoesHealthy (@MsLuong) May 17, 2012 at 4:55 am #

    Your meals look amazing! What kind of tortilla did you use for the salmon wrap?

    I LOVE the pumpkin power roll – favorite breakfast everI can’t wait to make stuffed French toast too!

    • Sweetly Fit May 17, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

      It varies on which wraps I buy but lately I either go for ezekiel brand or the whole grain wraps in bulk at Sams Club which are soft, big, and basically awesome.

  14. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish May 17, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    There are SO many delicious-looking recipes here I want to try! I’m not sure where to begin! Cheesy cauliflower breadsticks? Umm, yes please! Talk about a sneaky way to fit in a few extra veggies during the day. πŸ˜‰ And that protein cookie bowl sounds oh-so-good. I could really go for one *right* now. I’m intrigued by your dough bowl…Do you cook the oats first, or let them sit overnight? xoxo

    • Sweetly Fit May 17, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

      Nope, I don’t cook the oats. I just mix everything together and stick in the fridge overnight. So good!

  15. thisfitchick May 17, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    Such amazing eats!! Loving that power roll! I definitely love SWEET!

  16. Meg May 17, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    a healthy chocolate cake? πŸ˜‰ girl!? why are you hiding that!? HAHA.

    As always, your eats are great πŸ™‚ I too love smoked salmon πŸ™‚ My snacks are usually more on the savoury side except for before bed πŸ˜‰

  17. Jenn May 17, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    Your food always makes me drool. I have yet to try powercakes but they look so good! Just seem like they take a lot of time to make. I am definitely a sweets gal!

  18. Paige @ Running Around Normal May 17, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    This reminds me that I haven’t had a nutty cookie bowl in a while! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the linkback, Kristi!

  19. paoang May 17, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    I love, love, love, all of your eats! We are seriously salmon sisters at heart; smoked salmon is SO GOOD! I should try making one of those snack wraps ASAP.
    Looking forward to that recipeeee πŸ™‚

  20. Naomi (@onefitfoodie) May 18, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    Smoked salmon YES YES! one of my favoirtes and so happy to see it here! i def crave it every now and again and SO good paired with eggs. My favorite is smoked salmon, eggs, spinach and capers!

    • Sweetly Fit May 20, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

      I’ll have to try adding capers next time. Sounds good!

  21. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes May 18, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    Ok so pretty much we have to be blog friends because I too have a girl-crush on StuftMama, I always put coconut flour in my greek yogurt and I’m crazy obsessed with Mrs. Dash fiesta lime! πŸ™‚

    • Sweetly Fit May 20, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

      haha yep, it’s meant to be. πŸ™‚

  22. Allison @ PickyEatingRD May 21, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    I generally prefer savory snacks but every once in awhile my sweet tooth gets the best of me! Lately I am loving pretzel thins and garlic hummus – so good!

Leave a Reply

