What I Bought

21 May

Hi all! Last week was spent at home with my family and it flew by in the blink of an eye! It was good to have a nice break from my college town and ease into summer with some of my favorite people. I got to celebrate my sister’s bridal shower, my grandpa’s birthday, and talk to some great friends and family along the way. Couldn’t ask for for a better start to sweet sweet summer time!

Now I’m back in my little “home away from home” and continuing the relaxing and fun while also preparing to start the two things that will make up the rest of my summer:

1. Two Summer Classes. I am taking Statistics as well as a Speech class in order to knock out a few required courses and help free up my workload for the upcoming semesters. They will start the beginning of June. Bonus: I’m taking them them online through a community college which means I don’t have to actually go to a classroom at all AND it’s cheaper this way since it’s a community college. Yeah summer classes may not be the sweetest thing ever, but I have to take them eventually so I might as well get them out of the way with now!

2. Paid Dietetics Internship. I start an internship at the end of this month with my university’s dietetics staff. I am so grateful for this opportunity to gain experience in the field of work that I love so much and even get paid for it. Lord knows I need to get back to making some $$$ so this is a huge blessing! I will be doing a variety of things and really am not sure on the specifics, but I’m excited to dive into something new, meet similar-minded people, and just have fun with it!

***

I always like to hear about products that others are liking so today I thought I would show a few new products that I have picked up and am enjoying.

Good Karma Flax Milk

IMG 3378

I have been wanting to try this for a while but it is not sold in my town. I did however find it when I was visiting home. It was meant to be because I loved it! Great stats and nice taste. It’s pretty similar to my usual almond milk which I will go back to using once this is gone. If I ever find it again, I would definitely pick it up.

Fage 2%

IMG 3379

This greek yogurt is a nice change up from my usual 0%. There is a noticeable difference in the taste and texture…very creamy! Β I couldn’t pass it up for 69 cents!

Berlin Bakery Sprouted Spelt Bread

IMG 3380

If you have never tried spelt, you are missing out. It has become of my favorite grains! It has a high protein and fiber content Β and has a great taste/texture. It reminds me a bit of fluffy white bread. I also like to use spelt flour for baking, as well as spelt pasta for cooking. All great stuff!

Earth Balance Coconut Peanut Butter

IMG 3382

It’s two of my favorite things put into one. How could I not like this stuff?! Actually, I was pretty hesitant because I didn’t think there would be a strong coconut flavor….but I was wrong! This stuff is rich and strongly flavorful. I usually like my nut butters made with just nuts and salt, but this is a great change of pace.

Cascadian Farm Organic Multigrain Squares

IMG 3384

My mom picked up this cereal which I had tried before a while back. Every once in a while I will crave a bowl of cold cereal and this is perfect for that. These aren’t any teensy tiny squares, but nice big ones.

Scandinavian Bran Crispbread

IMG 3388

These are crackers made out of wheat bran, making them low in calories and super high in fiber…5 grams per big cracker! Since they are so low in calories, they make the perfect base to load lots of yummy toppings on top. I have been eating them with cottage cheese and peanut butter or sometimes cream cheese, jam, and fresh berries….or eggs + hummus or goat cheese. Endless possibilities for fun snacking. πŸ™‚

Coconut Oil Cooking Spray

IMG 3389

Since coconut oil is one of the safest oils to use at high heat temps, I’ve pretty much completely switched over to using this spray and coconut oil to cook things in. I love me so coconut and all those good healthy fats that come with it!

Have tried any new products that you’ve liked?

Have a great Monday everyone!

Kristi

16 Responses to “What I Bought”

  1. yogininoms May 21, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    flax milk? how cool! I’ve never seen a coconut oil spray before, where did you find it?

    • Sweetly Fit May 21, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

      It was at a local health food store. Most regular grocers don’t carry it unfortunately!

      • yogininoms May 21, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

        Ok, thanks! I’ll keep an eye out πŸ™‚

  2. cakeswithheart May 21, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    I just gave Quest Bars a try recently, and I LOVED them! They were a great find, for sure.
    One thing I need to mention though – spelt is most definitely not gluten-free. Ugh. I wish it was! I am a gluten-free gal due to intolerances and I really miss my sprouted grain breads!

    • Sweetly Fit May 21, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Quest bars are something I have been wanting to try! And thanks for catching that, I will fix it!

  3. cakeswithheart May 21, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    I just recently tried Quest Bars and they were amazing! I had the Coconut Cashew flavor – highly reccommended!
    Oh, and I just have to mention this – spelt is most definitely NOT gluten-free, sadly. I am a gluten-free gal due to an intolerance, and I really miss my sprouted grain breads!

  4. Alex @ therunwithin May 21, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    What cool products, I have never heard of the coconut cooking spray, how cool! I have yet to buy that milk but looks good.

  5. Alexandra May 21, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Oh my gosh I JUST started buying that cooking spray too!! Pam just can’t compare, this coconut stuff smells so good too! πŸ™‚
    Sounds like you had such a great time at home, what a great refresher before your busy summer starts!

  6. Lift Eat Repeat May 21, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    I’ve never had coconut oil before- I do see it a lot in the blog world though. Is that spray strong flavored?

    • Sweetly Fit May 21, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      No, it isn’t. I don’t notice much difference between any spray oil I have used, granted I just do a small spray.

  7. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs May 21, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    I recently started eating 10% fat Cabot greek yogurt and it’s soooo good.. I don’t know if I can go back to the 0% stuff! I also just became madly in love with Almond Breeze Coconut Almond Milk blend.. So good!

    • Sweetly Fit May 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      I have yet to try the full variety but I will have to pick it up next. And oh yeah, I forgot about that milk…haven’t tried it yet either!

  8. Lisa May 21, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    I wish they sold the coconut oil spray here in Victoria! Darn, I usually just use a little coconut oil and spread it on whatever I’m baking/cooking instead. Interesting about the flaxseed milk, I thought it might taste similar to hemp milk, which I dislike so I haven’t thought about buying it at all. And I also wish we had coconut peanut butter. So jealous of that find!! Sounds like you had a great weekend at home! And great job on the paid internship, that is awesome!

  9. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body May 21, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    A lot of people hate the scandanavian crisp bread, but I love it! I am a huge bran fan, and love them with tahini or cream cheese. They are also great broken up into chunks and topped on a smoothie! Sounds like you will be quite busy this summer, that is great that you landed yourself in a paid interniship! πŸ™‚

  10. sarah May 21, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    Good luck with your internship- I just think you are going to make a fantastic dietician.

    Ooh, I love when others share exciting new grocery finds!(Yes, I get excited by health food:p). I have those crispbreads- totally trying your topping suggestions ASAP.

    Almond flour is something I have purchased recently ,and I’m obsessed. Iv made the Fitnessistas banana almond muffins & Meals&Moves chocchip protein cookies with it- both HIGHLY recommended! Something about the texture of that flour, & my love of all things almonds, makes delectable baked goods to me:).

    Hope you have a fabulous week Kristi!
    Xxx

  11. caloricandcrazy May 22, 2012 at 1:55 am #

    I’ve been wanting to try that earth balance butter for a while. looks sooo good! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

