Playing Favorites

23 May

For WIAW this time around, I’m playing favorites. I know, I know. It’s not fair to all of the other delicious eats, but hey, let’s be honest. The majority of my food ends up in my mouth before the camera ever gets a chance. This girl gets hangry. Nevertheless I did manage to hit a few of my favorite meals as of late with the food paparazzi. Let’s see here…

Favorite Breakfast

IMG 3372

doughy bowl- 1/2 cup oats mixed with 1 cup greek yogurt, Stuft Mamma’s 3 ingredient fudge, and fresh strawberries

Favorite Lunch

IMG 3374

ezekiel sandwich with turkey, avocado, and mustard. roasted beets. cheesey cauliflower pizza (same recipe as linked, only made into a crust instead of cheese wedges) with tomato sauce and the measly amount of avocado left ha ha.

Favorite Snack

IMG 3220

Stuft Mamma’s Pumpkin Protein Cookie Dough with greek yogurt and sunflower seed butter. (Kristin, I may or may not have a goal to try all of your recipes, not that it’s obvious or anything.)

Favorite Shake

IMG 3218

Blueberry Muffin

Favorite Dinner

IMG 3377

rotisserie chicken with roasted broccoli slaw pasta, marinara, nooch, and italian seasonings. baked sweet potato with peanut butter and cinnamon

Favorite Dessert

IMG 3006

vanilla protein pudding (vanilla casein + greek yogurt + almond milk + stevia + vanilla extract—>stick in freezer) topped with coconut dark chocolate (1 tbsp dark cocoa powder + 1 tbsp coconut oil + a dash of stevia—>frozen and then chopped up)

In workout news, guess what I got?

IMG 3405

Someone’s working on their upper body strength.

IMG 3406

An Iron Gym Bar!

It’s most commonly used for a pull up bar, but this picture shows the different moves that can be done with it:

IMG 3407

I am loving it for pushups! Usually pushups hurt my wrists, but using this bar completely eliminates the pressure on your wrists and even better, it allows for a deeper range of motion so I’m getting a more effective pushup this way. In addition to the 4 moves they have shown, I am finding it’s also handy for some ab work. You can hang on the bar and do “knee ups,” bringing your knees up to your chest and back down. This is a great tool for at home workouts and is inexpensive to boot. (I bought mine at bed bath and beyond with a 20% off coupon.) I even put it together all by myself. #proud. Pull ups…I am still working on. It’s definitely a challenge!

What is your favorite piece of at home workout equipment?

P.S. Check out my Healthy High Protein Chocolate Cake if you haven’t already! 🙂

Kristi

22 Responses to “Playing Favorites”

  1. katalysthealth May 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    I loooove our iron gym!! I love it for dips, since my wrists are really bad and it hurts to do them on the ground or an unsturdy nech. Plus, I like them for pullups of course 😉

  2. Sable Weisman (@SquatLikeALady) May 23, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    Yummy eats! That protein pudding looks delish 😀

  3. mindrunningwild May 23, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    fudge and oats? sounds so good. I must try it.
    I love home workouts because I haven’t got a gym membership BUT I’m saving up for a fancy treadmill which you can plug locations into and run their terrain!

    • Sweetly Fit May 23, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

      that sounds awesome! I would love to try that out.

  4. teabagginit May 23, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    i’ve been stalking stuftmama’s recipe page, too! all her eats (and now your’s too) look awesome!!!

  5. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs May 23, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Wow, great eats! I love that you put fudge with oats. BEST IDEA. I want one of those iron gym things, because I really want to be able to do an unassisted pull-up! Happy WIAW!

  6. Alexandra May 23, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    Yay for pullup bars!!! I’ve been lovin mine too! 🙂
    Okay I have no words for how incredibly delicious all of this looks– especially stuft mamas pumpkin protein cookie dough, one of my favorite recipes fo sho!! 🙂

  7. kelloggsfiberpluskati May 23, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    I love that you shared your favorite daily eats. Lots of great fiberlicious and nutrient-rich options for sure! And the cauliflower pizza? I think I’m going to have to try that!

  8. sarah May 23, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    Welp, I know what foodie things ill trying this week(Thankyou(:).

    I LOVE dough bowls! Something else iv been making is cottage cheese+greek yog+banana+coconut flour+vanilla+stevia. I think, if you haven’t tried this already- its just your style;).

    Cool pull up bar. You’ll have too keep us up to date on your pull up progress. I’m seriously a weakling-iv been trying to do push ups on my toes for aaaages(as opposed to on my knees), I still suck!
    Xxx

    • Sweetly Fit May 23, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

      um YUM. Thanks for posting that combo. That definitely sounds like something I would LOVE!!! I will be trying soon. 🙂

  9. Kristin Stehly (@stuftmama) May 23, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Oh, I’m so honored to be mentioned on your favorite list twice. 🙂 he he. That blueberry smoothie looks devine. And well, you know my feelings about broccoli slaw. 🙂 Nice pull up bar too. I’m jealous! 🙂

  10. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body May 23, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    That looks like it would be awesome equipment for working out, I totally want to get something like that to expand my strength exercises! All of your favourites eats looks incredible, especially that lunch! 🙂

  11. Yellow Haired Girl May 24, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    I think I may dream about your dessert tonight 😉 looks so great!

  12. attemptedhealthyandhappy May 24, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    Strawberries are the best right now! I live in a town were we have a strawberry festival with every food imaginable with strawberries!

  13. Lisa May 24, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    I need to get that for my home gym! I only workout at home, except for when I do spin classes and love it much more then heading to the gym daily. That equipment looks like a great option! I loooove that pumpkin protein cookie dough! So delicious! And I love broccoli slaw too, okay fine I like all of your eats 🙂

  14. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition May 24, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    I want one of those! I get pains in my shoulder from Yoga and a trainer told me it was because I didn’t have enough back muscle and the only way to get it was a bar

  15. Kailey May 25, 2012 at 1:46 am #

    your protein “dough” was a life savor this past year while living in a dorm – oh so delicious 🙂

  16. Julie May 25, 2012 at 1:52 am #

    Kiiiiiind of obsessed with that cauli pizza!! Getting my face into that recipe asapppppp

  17. everydayvegangirl May 27, 2012 at 3:48 am #

    Roasted broccoli slaw?!?! Never thought to do that, but sounds great…will have to try!

Leave a Reply

