New Gadget Fun

26 May

Happy 3 Day Weekend!!! Hope everyone is enjoying their time on this great day. I’m stopping by home for one last quick visit before I start my internship next week and settle back into my apartment for a while. We are kickin’ back and relaxing for the most part, no big plans here! I’m liking it that way though; no schedule to attend to. After being on such a structured 24/7 schedule this past semester (and entire school year really), it feels like a treat to do whatever the heck I want, when I want it!

Last night we grilled out and had some tasty chicken.

IMG 3424

along with with roasted broccoli slaw pasta with a white cheddar cheese wedge, Garlic Gold nuggets, mustard, coconut oil roasted sweet potato fries, and a roasted lemon for squeezing on top. Mmmmm!

After dinner I pulled out a new toy:

IMG 3420

It’s a mini single serve ice cream maker! I’m kind of obsessed with it. All you do is put the freezer bowl in the freezer the night before you want to use it so it’s ready to go the next day. Then dump in your ice cream mixture, plug it in, and press the ON switch. It’s usually takes about 10 minutes to churn, then you let it set for about 10 minutes to thicken further. Super easy!

Wahh-lah!

IMG 3428

Homemade Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream

  • 1 scoop chocolate peanut butter casein protein powder
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • dash of stevia
  • scoop of peanut butter to top with

Mix together ingredients and stick in freezer for about 20 minutes prior, if you have the time. Then pour into ice cream maker and let it do the rest of the work for you! Let set for at least 10 more minutes to finish thickening. Get out mix-ins of choice and dig in!

I’m pretty excited to experiment more with this little guy, especially with the weather getting hotter. It will be the perfect way to cool down. πŸ˜€

This morning I headed off to my favorite Body Pump class.

NewImage

and after being away from the higher rep style of weight lifting for a while, I’m pretty sure I looked like this:

NewImage

Attractive.

But I got my burn on and it felt darn good! Oh oh! I almost forgot. Yesterday was a rest day because I had very special plans…AT THE SPA. Oh yes. My best friend, Mr. Groupon, hooked me up with the deal of the century on a spa package…like ridiculously affordable, even for me. There was no way I could turn it down. A good deal? Don’t count on me looking the other way. So I went and got a massage, facial, and solar energy bed treatment and it was the best time of my life. The way I look at it, I NEEDED it. It was a rejuvenation for my body and my mind, both of which have been working very hard lately. The only problem now: I feel the need to go to said spa at least once a week from now on…I will probably be bankrupt by the end of the month.

Anywho, moving on. After Pump I came home to a special treat to refuel with.

IMG 3417

A Cookies and Cream Breakfast Cookie!

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • t tbsp peanut butter
  • 2-3 tbsp almond milk
  • cinnamon
  • sweetener, if desired

Mash everything together and set in fridge over night. In the morning top with frosting:

Mix together, adding milk until desired frosting thickness is reached. Spread onto cookie, top with a cherry if you’re feeling extra special, and dig in. Adding the casein protein to the whey protein makes for a much thicker, buttercream frosting-like texture. It was uhhh-mazing.

I think my sister and I are off to the movies this afternoon. We have been wanting to see The Lucky One, but now it isn’t playing in our theatre anymore. Boo! Looks like we may be going to Men in Black III now, ha ha. Not exactly our usual sisterly chick flick pick, but I think it looks good so we shall see!

Everyone enjoy the long weekend and have fun!!!

Kristi

Link Love:

Feel Happier in 2 Minutes…little ways to lift your mood

30 Minutes to a Better Brain <meditating>

22 Responses to “New Gadget Fun”

  1. mindrunningwild May 26, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    Wait are you serious? How much was it I want it!! We have a real ice cream maker, but this one could be just for me!! Selfish<3

    • Sweetly Fit May 26, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      with a 20% off coupon at Bed Bath and Beyond it was only 26 bucks. πŸ˜€

  2. Alex @ therunwithin May 26, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    Whoa, that ice cream maker is awesome. I am heading to Bed Bath and Beyond to get my first appliances for my apartment (eek real world) and may need to check this out. Let’s see what happens to my wallet after this trip….

    • Sweetly Fit May 26, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      ohhh have fun! That’s where my ice cream maker is from. You’ll run right into them i’m sure. They have them out on display for summer time!

  3. healthybellyellie May 26, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    That is the smartest thing ever! A mini ice cream maker! Those things are usually so huge!!

  4. taylorrmade May 26, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    I so want that ice cream maker!

  5. Meg May 26, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    girl! I want your ice cream maker 😦 I AM SO JEALOUS!

    Your spa day sounds incredible. I’m jealous of that too πŸ˜‰

  6. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes May 26, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    Oh god, I think I’m going to have to look into that mini ice cream maker. High reps are SUCH a shock to the system if you’re used to lifting heavy at lower reps. I want to try Body Pump so bad but there isn’t anywhere for me to go that has it 😦 I leave my gym a note in the suggestion box like every day, lol

    • Sweetly Fit May 27, 2012 at 1:03 am #

      I can’t believe your gym doesn’t have it! It’s a fun change of pace that I like to do in addition to heavier lifting. Keeps things fun and interesting!

  7. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs May 27, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    That is such a cool ice cream maker! I totally want one! I’m so jealous of your ability to go to body pump classes, my gym doesn’t have classes unfortunately. 😦

  8. thisfitchick May 27, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    seriously… two insanely delicious recipes- I can’t take it!!! Genius πŸ™‚

  9. Naomi (@onefitfoodie) May 27, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    well that is the cutest thing EVER and I like how you healthified it πŸ™‚ however I would like to see some real ice cream happening with that machine haha! great recipes girly!

  10. Julia May 27, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    I NEED that icecream maker πŸ˜‰

    Please check out my new blog at
    http://polkadot-peony.blogspot.com/

  11. teabagginit May 27, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    oh my goodness – i love that half pint (and also want that to be my nick name!) i also love that you made healthy protein ice cream with it! double awesome!

  12. caloricandcrazy May 27, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    Mmmm homemade ice cream! such a healthy and yummy alternative. and i am in love the the breakfast cookie ❀

  13. Linz May 28, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    umm that ice cream maker looks awesome!! we got a huge one for our wedding but i ended up returning it because we literally had no space to store it!! your ice cream looks SO GOOD!

  14. Lisa May 28, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    I can imagine it must feel good to just relax instead of having a schedule to follow. Hope your long weekend was great! Your ice cream maker sounds so fun! I love how its a mini one, perfect for us single ladies πŸ™‚ Jealous of your spa trip too!

  15. Lexi @ You, Me, & A World to See May 29, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    A mini ice cream maker?!?! That is so cool. πŸ™‚ Bed, Bath, and Beyond here I come….

  16. sam June 21, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    just bought the ice cream maker! would love to see some more recipes! also i tried my own and the whole thing froze to the base! does thishappen to yours too and do you always store the bowl in the freezer?

    • Sweetly Fit June 21, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

      Yeah, i’m finding that I’m becoming a bit annoyed with using it. Lately I have just been freezing my ice cream mixture and then blending with a stick blender instead. When I do use the ice cream maker, one thing that realllly helps with the the freezing to the base problem is to turn it off and let it set for about 10-15 minutes after you have let it churn. Then give it a good stir and trying scooping it out.

      • Tracey September 13, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

        Bummer, just bought one and was dying to try out your recipe:(

Leave a Reply

