eggs, eggs, oh and more eggs.

29 May

WIAW is here a little early this time around because tomorrow I’ll be up and at ’em early for my first day of internship work. Bring it on, woot woot!

This WIAW is going to be a feature on something I eat quite frequently…

It’s the incredible, edible protein:

NewImage

Nutritionally, it doesn’t get much better than these little guys. Let’s take a look:

Health Benefits of Eggs: (source)

  • Eggs are good for eye health due to their carotenoid content
  • Each egg contains 6 grams of highly digestible protein and all 9 amino acids
  • May strengthen the heart and prevent heart disease and heart attacks
  • Good source of choline, a nutrient that regulates the brain, central nervous system, and cardiovascular system
  • Contains naturally occurring vitamin D
  • May prevent breast cancer
  • Promotes healthy skin and nails due to high sulfur content as well as many other vitamins and minerals

Just to name a FEW of the great things eggs can do. Not to mention they taste pretty darn amazing and there is an endless variety of ways they can be eaten. I have eggs pretty much every day as they are a stable in my diet. I eat both eggs and egg whites, just depending on what i’m making or having it with. The yolk is where the majority of the vitamins and minerals are at, so there is no need to fear the yolk! I do include a whole egg or two most of the time, but egg whites definitely have their place, too. They can add a lot of protein bang for your buck. <—This is why I love them. I find that I thrive on a higher protein diet so I get much more satisfied when I add in extra egg whites to things. Just my two cents. πŸ˜‰

So how I have been eating them?

I found these Eggies one day at the store and couldn’t refuse:

IMG 3285

They make hard or soft boiled eggs without the shell. This is for all you shell-peeler-haters out there<—-aka ME. They actually do a decent job. Granted you have to wash out the the little containers, but absolutely no peeling is involved so I will take that trade. πŸ˜‰

My absolute favorite egg combo right now involves another thing I’m (mildly…or not) obsessed with…

IMG 3436

SMOKED SALMON. It’s finally back after a trip to Sams Club. Can’t beat their price!

IMG 3439

So I cook up some eggs/egg whites/egg beaters (whatever I have at the moment) and layer it in a wrap with the smoked salmon, spinach (and sometimes sprouts), and some cream cheese/laughing cow/goat cheese.

IMG 3447

So good.

IMG 3440

pair with some cherries!

I’m also loving this sandwich combo:

IMG 3396

sprouted bread, smash avocado, eggs, and spicy brown mustard.

Omelets are always a favorite, too:

IMG 3411

I like to make a cheezey stuffing and after many experiments, I have found the key combination of cheeses: laughing cow cheese wedge, a scoop of cottage cheese, and a small handful of thick shredded mozzerella. Then add lots of garlic powder and garlic gold nuggets. It’s really the best, I promise.

Here’s my post-workout egg meal of choice:

IMG 3391

a big protein banana green monster with toast and a fried or poached egg on top. Runny egg yolks for the win!

Of course I can’t forget this use for eggs…

IMG 3395

More times than not, I add egg whites to my oatmeal. It adds volume, creaminess, thickness, and a nice protein kick! This bowl had about 4 egg whites (whipped in the Magic Bullet for a few seconds first), a mashed banana, and peanut flour paste.

Sometimes instead of mixing them into my oats, I’ll have them on the side instead:

IMG 3445

1 egg + 3 egg whites. Oatmeal + fruit.

In a nut(egg)shell, eggs are awesome. ha ha. Clever me.

Do you eat eggs? Favorite way to eat them? Ready, set, go!

Kristi

29 Responses to “eggs, eggs, oh and more eggs.”

  1. yogininoms May 29, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    mmm, I love eggs! I’ve just finally learned to cook perfect scrambled eggs (took me long enough!), but my favorite way to eat them is soft-boiled.
    The Eggies look really cool!

    • Sweetly Fit May 30, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

      Soft boiled has become a new favorite! So good!

  2. taylorrmade May 30, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    Love eggs! I also put the whites in my oatmeal…so good! πŸ™‚

    I’ve also been loving omelettes with avacado, feta, onions, and spinach!

  3. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes May 30, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    You’re preachin’ to the choir here. I think eggs are the most perfect food. Those eggies things are crazy cool! Seems like extra work somehow. I don’t mind handling the shell πŸ™‚ Deviled eggs are my favorite!

  4. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs May 30, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    I love eggs! I used to hate them, but then my mom told me that if we were gonna get more chickens on our farm, I had to eat them. Now, I’m obsessed! I love eating them scrambled with spinach, peppers, and nutritional yeast.

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 30, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    YEEEEEEEEEEEEES! Smoked salmon and eggs is INCREDIBLE! One of the best combos ever in my opinion! And those hard boiled egg things are so cool! Hah! People come up with the funniest gadgets!

  6. Naomi (@onefitfoodie) May 30, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    haha i had eggs for dinner tonight! i added in some pre cooked chicken but obvisouly, the smoked salmon is my #1 combo with eggs and totally would have been eaten if I had it on hand! they are so versitile and delicious! i need those eggies! haha

  7. Kailey May 30, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    if you are on an egg kick you should try sweet eggs –> Just add some cinnamon and top with peanut butter πŸ˜‰

    • Sweetly Fit May 30, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

      How could I forget about sweet eggs?! It’s been a while but I do love them. Thanks for the reminder!

  8. Charissa (@ColourfulPalate) May 30, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    Love those hardboiled egg holder…that is pure brilliance! Whats even better? I saw some of these that would mold your hardboiled egg into cartoon characters. So cute.

    • Sweetly Fit May 30, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

      That is too cool! I know what I need to get next!

  9. Angie @ The Fitness Apple May 30, 2012 at 4:30 am #

    Egg and avacado that is a must try for me! I never thought of it good call Kristi. PS if you like green monsters i have a great green monster recipe for a smoothie on my blog it includes blueberries and spinach! What is your favorite recipe for a green monster?

    • Sweetly Fit May 30, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

      Thanks! I’ll check it out. πŸ™‚ I have a few shake recipes in my recipe tab and I usually just add spinach to any of my shakes/smoothies to make them green monsters.

  10. Tara May 30, 2012 at 7:10 am #

    I could never survive without my daily eggs!! I usually have one whole egg and four whites if I’m working out soon after, but two or three whole eggs on my rest days πŸ™‚

    I LOVE smoked salmon. It’s so damn expensive here though. For my husband and I to both have enough, it’s like $22? Ugh.

  11. Meg May 30, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    You know I love my eggs too girl πŸ˜‰ I love this post! So many ways to enjoy the little guys πŸ˜‰

  12. Cait @ Beyond Bananas May 30, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    LOVE eggs… I hard boil at least a dozen at the beginning of every week to eat as snacks! Now that Eggies thing looks awesome! I hate how .. in the same batch of hard boiled eggs.. some can peal so easily..while others are nearly impossible!

  13. Chelcie's Food Files May 30, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    I LOVE eggs..all of your egg meals look delicious!

  14. Lisa May 30, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Good luck with your first day today! I’m sure it will go fantastic!! I am obsessed with my eggs! I eat them daily. I eat my egg whites in oats the same way you do! πŸ™‚ Usually topped with peanut flour paste as well. I only like whole eggs if they are paired with something else, I can’t eat them whole on their own for some reason. I love whites because they are so versatile!

  15. Lift Eat Repeat May 30, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    I like egg whites in my protein pancakes or Ill eat drippy eggs atop Ezekiel toast <—– my current fav!

  16. sarah May 30, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Seriously , I could have wrote this. I LOVE eggs and use them exactly like you!

    Ever since you posted the smoked salmon/egg combo in a previous post, iv been mildly obsessed with it- the salmon with the yolks & everything is so devinely buttery & delish:)!
    And I always feel like there’s something missing from my oats if I didn’t cook them with egg whites.
    Microwave protein muffins are something that uses up a lot of my egg whites too.

    I must say I’m jealous of your gadgets BIG TIME. There’s the little ice cream maker, now the eggies, oy!
    Xxx

  17. nourishingcrunch May 31, 2012 at 5:02 am #

    i love making little mini egg quiches in muffin trays.. very convenient snack

  18. onehealthymunchkin May 31, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    I generally prefer other proteins (chicken, fish, tofu) to eggs, but I still like them! I especially love egg whites in my oatmeal or fried egg sandwiches. I actually just bought a dozen organic free range eggs from a local farm yesterday and I’m so excited to have a few for lunch today! πŸ˜€

  19. whatwouldjessicaeat May 31, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    The smoked salmon wrap sounds amazing!

  20. Lauren @ WWoB May 31, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Seriously so many good eats in this post. I adore smoked salmon and havent had it in far too long… And I am so proud of you for touting the benefits of eggs! So many women dont eat the yolks!!!!

  21. attemptedhealthyandhappy May 31, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    I buy egg whites at SAMs so cheap 6 dollars for 4 lbs! So I put them in everything!

  22. teabagginit June 1, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    i LOVE eggs! like you, i do better with more protein and i don’t love meat so eggs are where i turn to most. i’ve also found that i’ve been doing well with more fat but i hate the yolk so i cook them with coconut oil! sometimes i’ll sneak in a yolk or two and not notice it, though! oh, and i agree, egg whites in oats is awesome!

  23. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate June 1, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    Haha I basically live on eggs!

  24. kaleighsomers June 3, 2012 at 2:02 am #

    Finding this post was perfect for me. I’ve been hooked on eggs for a couple weeks now and worrying that it’s unhealthy, though I know anything’s bad if it’s in excess. So lots of good ideas here. My go-to egg recipe is a tortilla/taco salad that has salsa and hash browns and peppers and onions. So good!

Leave a Reply

