Overcoming Fear

3 Jun

Well hello!

This morning I combined two goodies to form an uhh-mazing Leg Day workout.

To start things off with a bang, I did Stuft Mamma’s Booty Workout right along with her and the boys:

Stuft mamam

Then I turned to my boys at Mid West Fit to continue to leg and booty burning:

Midwestfit

Check out the full workout, it’s a good one. And while you’re at it, check out their new and improved site. It got a nice makeover!

The combination of these two workouts left me feeling like a beast. Nothin’ like accomplishing a good workout that melts all your stress away!

I went to the refuel station, aka the kitchen, and threw this together:

IMG 3455

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 4 egg whites (whipped in magic bullet first)
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • cinnamon, ginger, vanilla extract
  • a teeny splash of apple cider vinegar (thanks for the tip, Katie!)
  • protein frosting
  • fresh blackberries

Carbs? check. Protein? check. Delicious? checkkkkk.

Also, lookie here:

IMG 3481

My K-Cup drawer has been re-stocked to suit my newly caffeine sensitive self: decaf, decaf hazelnut, and green tea. See? I’m not missing out at all. My Keurig baby is still getting plenty of attention.

So tomorrow starts the official beginning of my online course. Yes, I said course, not courses like I had planned. I got to looking more in depth at all that is involved in each of the classes I wanted to knock out this summer and decided that it was just not going to happen. I’m putting in some good internship/work hours and also trying to enjoy Summer a bit. One class, I decided, is PLENTY for this summer. I will take the other one next summer. Hold me to it!

I was just trying to be my typical type A personality self: attempting to take on way more than I really should. I want to do it ALL and I will be the first admit that I’m not very patient. So I am proud of myself for realizing that it would be too much. There is no need to waste away my entire summer, miserable and stressed out. Yes I do have quite the workload for my dietetics major, but it will all get done when it’s supposed to get done. It’s about trusting in HIM. He will take care of everything and His timing for everything is perfect.

With this decided on, I will be taking my Public Speaking course this summer and I have to admit I had a bit of meltdown about it yesterday. After looking over the course calendar, and seeing what was up ahead of me, I got very anxious and nervous. It takes a great deal of confidence and courage to get up in front of a crowd of people and give a speech while all eyes are on you. To some people, it may come easy. To me? Not so much. Although I am feeling extremely anxious about this, I know that the challenge will be so good for me. It will force me to get out of my comfort zone and ultimately grow as a person…a person with more confidence, self-respect, and bravery. I want to get to that place and I know that by breaking out of my comfort zone, I will get there. It may not be easy getting there, but I just have to keep thinking about how I am going to feel after I do it.—>FANTASTIC. And proud of myself.

Do you have a fear of public speaking?

How do youΒ overcome fears?

That but not least, today is Sunday Prep Day! I’m making Christina’s Lasagna and can hardly wait!

IMG 3480

Have a good Sunday all!

Kristi

14 Responses to “Overcoming Fear”

  1. Meg June 3, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    Girl, you will rock this course! I know you will. I seriously just think that everyone else is just as scared as I am. Act bubbly and feel confident. FAKE IT if you don’t feel it!

    xoxo

    I want your pwo btw grrr looks so good.

    Oh, and so happy you felt like a beast after your workout πŸ˜‰ LOVE IT

  2. Katie Gagliano (@HealthyDiva31) June 3, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    Girl, no worry! I have had that same problem of fear of speaking in front of people, but one day I just said HEY Katie, this is something so little you are stressing over! You need to stop and just be comfortable and do your thing!

    You will be ok, promise!!! The course will go well and you will have an “A” at the end πŸ˜‰

    Love ya!

  3. Alexandra June 3, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    I think it’s SO amazing you’re so in tune with yourself to know your limits with class load and you’re gonna TOTALLYYYYYY OWN that course, there’s no doubt in my mind πŸ™‚ God will help you conquer your public speaking fears and guide you to the success He has in store for you life ❀
    Oh and that lasagna? Ya, I'm coming over for leftovers! πŸ˜€

  4. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs June 4, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    Great job scaling back to keep yourself sane! I think you’ll do fine in the public speaking course.. Just think of how many strangers you talk to on a blog like erryday! It’s basically the same thing.. Kinda. GOOD LUCK though! PS those oats look delish.

  5. Sable Weisman (@SquatLikeALady) June 4, 2012 at 3:03 am #

    Good call on the classes!! Online classes are soo tough to stay up on =( I’d rather get As and take one or two at a time than take a full load and get Bs ya know?

  6. Lisa June 4, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    That is great that your realized you were stretching yourself too thin by taking too many courses and opted out of the other couple. You want to enjoy your summer as much as you can girl! Plus then you can put all your efforts into one class and it will be more successful. I’d be quite anxious about a public speaking class as well, that is definitely something I struggle with. I cringe thinking about my past public speaking quests. I’m not too smooth at that. I bet you’ll do great though! It’s all about improving and making steps into bettering our lives. That workout looks so good! Saving it!

  7. Danielle June 4, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    Girl I totally get the fear of public speaking! I had to take it in college too and it was one of the scariest classes I took but one of the classes I am most happy I did! You will surprise yourself with what you are capable of and will do awesome I’m sure! Good Luck πŸ™‚

  8. A Tablespoon of Liz June 4, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Glad to hear that you’re taking your time with things this summer…. no need to pack everything in so you can’t enjoy life! And I feel you on public speaking. I used to dread it. I would get so nervous, and would just choke. But when I was in college I had an awesome teacher, who changed everything around for me. One girl in my class started crying on the first day when she went up to read something the teacher had given us, and on the last day of class she was up there yelling and screaming and being awesome. I’m sure you’ll do just great! : )

  9. meganirl June 4, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    I competed a lot in high school in speech league. Let me know if yiou need any tips ;]

  10. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate June 4, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    I am a total k-cup hoarder too. #noshame

  11. Kailey June 5, 2012 at 1:18 am #

    glad to see that you got some decaff alternatives!
    good luck with your public speaking class – i know i have to take it before I graduate 😦

  12. K.E.P.T. You Fit June 5, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    How do you like your coffee maker? I’m in the market for a new one! I nominated you on my blog this morning! http://katieept.com/2012/06/05/one-lovely-blog-award/

    • Sweetly Fit June 6, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      I LOVE my Keurig! And thanks so much for the nomination!!!

  13. allieksmith June 5, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Yes! Place your trust in God. He has your life planned out and He loves you no matter what! Enjoy what you’re doing and delight in the Lord πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

