Old School

8 Jun

It’s FRIDAY! Even though it’s summer time and my schedule isn’t really set up according to weekdays and weekends, it’s still fun to celebrate the end of a good week!

Thank you all for the good luck wishes on my speeches. I am proud to say that I feel I did a good job, however it was honestly a big disaster in terms of my audience and video recording/quality. Being an online course, we are required to put together our own audience, facility to speak in, and recording equipment. Really I wasn’t even one bit worried about this aspect of the course; I was too busy focusing on my speech, which should be the most important part…right? Trying to coordinate an audience with everyone’s different schedules left me with very little help and well, kind of screwed me over. But that is over and done with and it’s a learning process. Now I know what I need to do and have a new plan for the remainder of my speeches. Sometimes you just have to roll with the punches! Live and learn.

Anyways, onto happier things…I’ve got some Friday Favorites from the week!

Favorite Move: Bear Crawls

Bear crawls

Today’s MidWestFit total body strength workout concluded with a great finisher exercise combo which included Bear Crawls.

Anyone else remember doing these in gym class as a kid? It brought me back to the good old grade school days. The bear crawl works your WHOLE body so it definitely gets your heart rate up quickly. I’m loving adding in “finishers” to the end of my workouts and here is what we did, per MidWestFit Friday Workout:

  • 10 pushups
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds
  • 9 pushups
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds
  • 8 pushups
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds
  • 7 pushups
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds
  • 6 pushups
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds
  • 5 pushups
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds
  • 4 pushups
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds
  • 3 pushups
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds
  • 2 pushups
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds
  • 1 pushup
  • bear crawls, 30 seconds

DONE! When I first looked at this finisher, I though it would be a piece of cake. HA! I was out of breath after the first pushup/crawl combo. But I felt amazing once I finished it!

Favorite Meal: Dessert Hummus

IMG 3484

IMG 3515

After trying out Kristin’s Cookie Dough Dip and revisiting my recipe for Cinnamon Raisin Dessert Hummus, I have a new version that I’ve been loving.

Peanutty Dessert Hummus

1 can white great northern beans (or other soft white bean), drained

1/4 cup peanut flour

1 tbsp nutritional yeast

splash of almond milk

dash of sea salt, vanilla extract, and sweetener

Directions:

Simply combine all ingredients and blend until smooth. Using a soft bean such as great northern makes for a much smoother, creamier dip than chickpeas. I was able to easily blend this all together with my handheld stick blender which made this recipe so much easier and less mess: no food processor to clean! The nutritional yeast is also the secret ingredient because it gives that real cookie dough texture.

I can eat this stuff straight up with a spoon but apples, carrots, pita chips, or crackers all are great dipped into it. Or stuff it into a wrap. It’s all delicious. 🙂

And a few other great eats for fun:

IMG 3397

baked breakfast cake with oats, coconut flour, pumpkin, egg whites, peanut butter, and cherries

This is my new favorite marinara:

IMG 3453

Monte Bene Vodka Sauce. All natural ingredients and so, so delicious!!!

I even use it as a salad topping.

IMG 3458

spelt toast with cottage cheese and almond butter, salad containing a veggie burger, goat cheese, butter lettuce, sprouts, olives, seasonings, and vodka sauce

Of course I put it on top of my favorite broccoli slaw pasta, too.

IMG 3517

I soon realized that  I only used a dab of sauce and then quickly doused my roasted pasta with more of the good stuff. Along with salmon and roasted white japanese sweet potato

IMG 3467

vegan crumbled brownie, soft serve protein ice cream, and healthy chocolate sauce—>all in this post

So that wraps this post up for today. I’ve got some speech work to do and errands to run but otherwise I’m going to be relaxing before tomorrow. I’m working all day long. Gotta make that money!

Have a good weekend everyone!

Kristi

14 Responses to “Old School”

  1. Health Freak College Girl June 8, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    I really need to try dessert hummus! I’ve been seeing it on so many blogs….I must try 😀

  2. Danielle @Clean Food Creative Fitness June 8, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    That baked breakfast cake looks awesome! Always so jealous of your meals 🙂

  3. Beth Howard June 8, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Very proud of you sweetie! Stay strong and positive! Miss you and love you much, Mom

  4. Alexandra June 8, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    AHHHH that dessert hummus sounds so good! I never thought to combine peanut flour with nooch– you’re genius woman 😀
    And that workout?!?! You’re a beast!!
    Have a great weekend!

  5. alek Prus June 9, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    I love marinara on salads!(:

    What is the Japanese white sweet potato like I have never even heard of that ! Where do you get it?

    • Sweetly Fit June 9, 2012 at 2:48 am #

      at a local health food store. They are so sweet and my new love! They are purple skinned with white flesh.

      • alek Prus June 9, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

        I’m gonna look for those at jungle Jim’s!

  6. Tara June 9, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    My clients hate when I make them do bear crawls at the beginning or end of our session. But they are oh so good 🙂

  7. Kailey June 9, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    thats weird that they made you get an audience – I’m surprised because I know at Tech they just make you skype the speech haha.
    That vodka sauce sounds so delicious 🙂

  8. Lisa June 9, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    I LOVE dessert hummus, its my new obsession in life. And I also adore marinara on all my salads, I think I’ve used like 2 cans of it in a week. Oopsy. I should probably make my own. Congrats on the presentation! I got to try out that workout, it looks awesome!

  9. Meg June 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your recipe babe! That made me so happy 😀 I love you

  10. teabagginit June 10, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    i love marinara sauce on everything and anything … including on a spoon straight up from the jar! 🙂

  11. Jessica, the_toned_teach June 13, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    1. I love finishers too! They are so wonderful and a great way to finish fatigued! People think I’m CRAZY when I bear crawl around the gym or do high-skips across the room… but you know what, it works 😉

    2. SPAGHETTI WITH BROCCOLI SLAW! Just discovered it last night- check out my instagram photo 😉 Delicious! with homemade spaghetti sauce and ground turkey… I’m salivating now just thinking about it.

    3. Dessert hummus. Must try. Snack attack 🙂

  12. KatsHealthCorner June 14, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    YUM! What a delicious post. 😉

    I’ve never heard of bear crawls — I bet they would be really fun though! 😀

Leave a Reply

