Cinnamon Bun Heaven *review*

10 Jun

Tell me this doesn’t bring you back to your childhood:

NewImage

Cinnamon rolls were always a special treat in my house. It was some pretty exciting business, I remember. I get a bit of a sugar headache just thinking about it now, ha ha.

It was time to try a new protein powder and when I came across Dymatize’s new casein flavor, I couldn’t resist.

NewImage

YES PLEASE.

Upon opening the container, my kitchen transformed into a total bakery smell. No need for candles or Glade plug-ins…I’ve got protein to make my house smell good! πŸ™‚

First I tried making a night time dessert with it.

Experiment 1: The Sludge

IMG 3520

  • 1 scoop Dymatize Casein cinnamon bun
  • 1 cup plain greek yogurt
  • stevia
  • dash of almond milk, added if needed after mixing yogurt + protein first
  • healthy chocolate sauce
  • peanut butter
  • cinnamon

I put the base in the freezer for about an hour, then took it out and put my toppings on.

One word: Ahhhhh!

I was eating cinnamon roll icing soft serve. It was rich, creamy, and decadent. I’m in love. I like casein protein because of the thick texture it has, making it perfect for making healthy desserts with.

Experiment 2: Pancakes

IMG 3521

Don’t mind the green, you know me and my love affair with spinach!

  • 1 scoop Dymatize casein cinnamon bun
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 1/2 cup (40 grams) oat flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • handful of spinach
  • dash of cinnamon and vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Blend your oats in a food processor (my magic bullet works great for this), then combine all dry ingredients. Blend up your egg whites, almond milk, vanilla extract, and spinach. Combine wet and dry ingredients. Let set in a bowl while your pan heats up on the stove. Then cook up those little cakes of heaven.

Eat straight up because they taste that darn good all on their own OR layer on some toppings. I am a 100% dipper girl when it comes to pancakes, so I got those ready to go:

IMG 3522

sugar free maple syrup and that delicious coconut peanut butter

I am very impressed with this protein powder and am excited to have it to play with some more! I want my diet to be mostly whole and real foods, but a little protein powder is perfectly fine in my eyes. It makes things fun. πŸ˜‰

What is your favorite protein powder?

Kristi

19 Responses to “Cinnamon Bun Heaven *review*”

  1. Danielle @Clean Food Creative Fitness June 10, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    That “sludge” looks amazing! I might just have to order that protein! I currently use Biochem whey, but it only comes in a few flavors! Some of the other brands flavors make me totally want to switch πŸ™‚

  2. Alexandra June 10, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    I LOVE Dymatize’s protein!! Their ISO-100 vanilla and their vanilla casein are ranked up there with my all time faves πŸ™‚ This flavor sounds BOMBsauce awesome!!

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs June 10, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Great review! I’m shopping for protein powders right now soooo I’mma definitely check this out. I love the “sludge” idea haha πŸ™‚

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate June 10, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    I basically live for cinnamon. Love the stuff!

  5. paoang June 11, 2012 at 1:39 am #

    Mmmmm, the dessert you made with it looks delicious! I’ve never bought protein powder before, but I’ve been thinking about it for a while. It looks WAY to intriguing!

  6. Meg June 11, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    Oh my my! I would love to try this as chocolate is the only casein I have ever tried!!!!

  7. Health Freak College Girl June 11, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    Cinnamon buns! They are my weakness πŸ™‚ Whenever I smell Cinnabon, I start drooling for sure haha. All these sound so yummy! And way healthier πŸ˜‰

  8. amylouisemc June 11, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    I love cinnamon buns! I wish that I had some of that protein powder! πŸ™‚

  9. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body June 11, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    I have a whey protein, and vegan protein blend. But I don’t have a casein protein and would love to get one! This one sounds fantastic I will have to try and find it πŸ™‚

  10. alek Prus June 11, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    I use ON French vanilla right now it’s pretty good!

  11. Marie June 11, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    looks amazing!

  12. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes June 12, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Yum! Casein is the best. It’s good mixed with pumpkin too!

  13. KatsHealthCorner June 13, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I love protein powder! I really love whey protein powder, as it tastes INCREDIBLE, but my skin can’t handle it. 😦 But my favorite way to eat it was to top it on top of my oatmeal with cinnamon and almond butter — it tasted just like a cinnamon roll (and smelled just like one too)! πŸ˜€

  14. Genny Brye July 31, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Casein also contains lots of calcium and magnesium. When doing bodybuilding, i prefer to use casein as a protein source compared to whey protein. `.,’*

    Kindest regards http://www.healthmedicinelab.com“>

  15. Liz (formerly VeggieGirl) August 15, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Wow, I must try this protein powder flavor!

  16. Tracey August 27, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    How do you make that healthy chocolate sauce?

    • Sweetly Fit August 28, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

      usually I combine 2 tbsp dark chocolate cocoa powder with a dash of stevia and add in almond milk until it’s the consistency I want.

      • Tracey August 28, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

        Okay, can’t wait to try thanks!

  17. Dr. Starr Hoffman February 21, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    THANK YOU for this recipe!! So many I’ve found haven’t come out well at all, but these are amaaaazing (though I must confess, I completely leave out the spinach). πŸ™‚ I’ve adjusted the recipe and posted it with a link back here. Thanks again!
    http://geekyartistlibrarian.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/cinnamon-protein-gluten-free-pancakes-of-yum/

Leave a Reply

