Muffin Tops

18 Jun

Under normal conditions, a muffin top is something I would definitely not want to be associated with…

Screen shot 2012 06 15 at 5 41 30 PM

but in this special case, I want to have a muffin top forever.

IMG 3544

IMG 3543

This is a super simple recipe that can be adapted easily to do different flavors and variations. I’ve done it with blueberries added in to make a blueberry muffin top and also dried apple slices to make apple pie muffin tops. It’s fun to experiment!

Giant Muffin Top with Buttercream Peanut Butter Protein Frosting

  • 1/4 cup oat flour (I just blended oats in my magic bullet blender)
  • 1/2 cup pure pumpkin
  • 3 large egg whites, whipped
  • splash of almond milk
  • dash of stevia, vanilla extract, and cinnamon

Comine all ingredients and put in a sprayed, microwave-safe bowl that is on the bigger side. The bigger the bowl on the bottom, the larger your muffin top will be. Microwave for 6-7 minutes. (this will vary on microwaves)

Buttercream Peanut Butter Protein Frosting

  • 1/2 serving vanilla protein powder (a thick and creamy one, preferably a casein blend)
  • 2 tbsp peanut flour
  • almond milk

Combine dry ingredients and add almond milk slowly until desired frosting consistency is reached.

*my protein powder in the picture above was cookies and cream, hence the cookie chunk in there, ha ha.

Β 

17 Responses to “Muffin Tops”

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 18, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Mmmm looks so good!

  2. Alexandra June 18, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    YUM! Sounds super easy and super tasty πŸ™‚

  3. Danielle @Clean Food Creative Fitness June 18, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    Looks amazing! Will definitely be trying this soon πŸ˜‰

  4. consciouscravings June 18, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Hahahaha I love the pictures of muffin tops. They always make me laugh when I see them in magazines about how not to dress. Your actual muffin top looks freaking delicious though. If there was ever a good kind of muffin top that would be it.

  5. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body June 18, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    This looks and sounds delicious! I will have to try it out πŸ™‚

  6. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate June 18, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    LOLing at that muffin top definition.

  7. Health Freak College Girl June 19, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    Yum!!!

  8. KatsHealthCorner June 19, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    That sounds AMAZING! I have to try this! πŸ™‚

  9. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs June 19, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    Oooh this looks tasty! I have to try it. πŸ™‚

  10. Katie Gagliano (@HealthyDiva31) June 19, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    I love this! YUMMY!

    Muffin tops are good in some ways πŸ™‚

  11. Meg June 19, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    OK GIRL! This is the coolest thing ever! Ahhhh why don’t we live closer? I love you so much

  12. Lisa June 19, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    The buttercream frosting would be my fave part! Frosting is the best. This looks so good! I love my protein muffins πŸ™‚

  13. caloricandcrazy June 20, 2012 at 3:32 am #

    that muffin top (the food one, ahaha) looks delicious :D!

  14. teabagginit June 21, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    love the butter cream frosting! πŸ™‚

  15. Julius March 2, 2013 at 8:24 am #

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give one thing back and help others such as you helped me.

  16. Ariel March 14, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    Pretty! This has been an extremely wonderful post. Thanks for
    supplying these details.

  17. Thanks for another inormative website. Where else may I am getting that kind of information written in such an ideal method?

    I’ve a undertaking that I’m just now working on, and I
    have been on the look out for suych info.

Leave a Reply

