Fruity

24 Jun

Happy Sunday to everyone!

I’m home for a quick break in between work today. I’ve been a busy bee today! I’ve been pretty busy in general lately, and yesterday it finally caught up with me. No matter how hard I tried, I could not keep my eyes open! I crawled into bed early and slept for a good, solid 11 hours. That never happens so I know my body definitely needed some recharging. It’s amazing what sleep can do for a body!

Upping my calorie intake is a continuing success. One that I’m enjoying very much. Who wouldn’t want to eat more, right?

Some things I have been liking:

French Toast:

IMG 3584

with eggs/egg whites, cinnamon, vanilla, stevia, peanut butter, 2 ezekiel bread slices, and topped with blended cottage cheese and blueberries

If you have never tried adding nut butter to your french toast batter, it is a must try. So delicious.

IMG 3579

more hearts! with cottage cheese and strawberries.

My new favorite cottage cheese is Land of Lakes 2% Sea Salt. It is much lower in sodium than most other brands but in my opinion tastes so much better! It definitely still has a lot of flavor.

Wraps, wraps, wraps have been had lately. I love this combo:

IMG 3588

refried beans, avocado, and roasted red pepper hummus

IMG 3591

with spinach, sprouts, and strawberries

How good are strawberries right now?! I’m in love! I’m also in love with PINEAPPLE.

IMG 3604

So sweet and tropical! I may not be going on a fancy beach vacation this summer, but that isn’t going to stop me from pretending i’m there while I eat my pineapple.

IMG 3593

carrots, beany cookie dough dip, cashew butter

IMG 3600

turkey meatballs, fresh salsa, roasted broccoli slaw, english muffin with butter

Look who’s back…

IMG 3599

cheeeeeesecake, oh how i’ve missed you. I played with the recipe a little bit this time, using all whole eggs and upping the cream cheese amount. I shall do an updated post on it soon, I think. It’s pretty much the best thing ever. 🙂

In terms of my workouts, I have still been doing a little bit when I have time and energy. I’ve brought down the intensity and duration for the time being as I’m just so active as it is with my job, running around the dining center all day. I would love to get a Body Bugg and see how much I actually burn in a day when I work. I bet it’s a crazy amount. I’m mostly focusing on strength training when I do workout. I don’t want to lose any muscle I’ve gained, so consistency is going to be key. I notice I’m a lot weaker in my lifts when I take off too much time from it.

In other news, just a few more days and I will be heading back home again for my sister’s wedding. I must fulfill my Maid of Honor duties…and maybe catch that bouquet??? We shall see. 🙂

Question of the Day:

What produce are you loving right now?

I can’t get enough strawberries, pineapple, and giant jumbo oranges! For veggies, japanese cucumbers, bell pepper, and eggplant are all in season right now and so good! Oh and tomatoes and avocado = eating them all day long. I will be so sad when avocado season is over!

Enjoy the rest of the day!

Kristi

21 Responses to “Fruity”

  1. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes June 24, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    That wrap looks absolutely to die for. Glad it’s going well with getting more food in. As far as food lately I’ve been eating a lot of guacamole, fresh raspberries and egg salad.

  2. teabagginit June 24, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    that french toast is screaming at me to make it! and the cheesecake! 🙂 i’ve been eating tons and tons of spinach lately. i can’t make myself turn on the oven in this heat so it’s straight up smoothies in a bowl with lots of greens for me!

  3. Alexandra June 24, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    MMMM pineapple! I seriously need to buy some, it’s been far too long haha
    I’m so happy upping the cals has been great for you! And yay for the return of cheesecake WOO!! 😀

  4. Beth Howard June 24, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Bring home the cheesecake! Can’t wait to see you sweetie, drive safely. Love you, Mom

  5. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate June 24, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    That refried bean wrap looks amazing. Want.

  6. sarah June 24, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    Gorgeous eats as ush:). That wrap is on my to-make list.
    The last strawberries I bought actually sucked(BOO), so disappointing when that happens! I am loving blueberries and mango though. And after tasting organic carrots lately, I can’t go back to the regular/non organic kind again! So much crunchier and SWEET. I don’t get people who say they don’t like veggies.

    Have a lovely time at the wedding:).
    Xxx

  7. Kailey June 25, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    So many delicious eats on this post – I have to agree with you that peanut butter makes french toast extra delicious 🙂
    Glad to hear that you are enjoying eating more, but well, its awesome to eat more delicious food! I really want to try the refried bean wrap you made – looks great.

  8. Meg June 25, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    I bet I would love that wrap combo 😀 Mmmm Kristi ❤ you eat so well!!! I love you girl!!!! And maid of honour!? How exciting 😀 Oh my!!!!

  9. Ellie @ healthy belly ellie June 25, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    Okay, making that French toast. And that wrap does look delicious!! I must try that combo! (I dunno if my tummy will like it, but I know my taste buds will!) Also, have you ried Rawies yet?!? It’s a heart-shaped raw food bar, and I know for sure that they sell them in kansas because Callie, the lovely young woman that makes them, is from there! Hy-vee is now carrying them! I definitely recommend you try them if you haven’t! So good! (Lemon Poppyseed!)

  10. healthybellyellie June 25, 2012 at 4:35 am #

    Okay that wrap does look absolutely delicious! AND, I must try that french toast! Sounds so good! P.s. congrats to your sis getting married! Exciting!! p.p.s. Have you tried Rawxies yet? They are heart-shaped raw food bars. SO GOOD. And they for sure sell them in KS because Callie, the young woman who makes them, is from there! Most Hy-Vee’s have them! I really recommend them! Expecially the lemon poppy seed flavor! So good!

    • Sweetly Fit June 28, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      I have seen those!!! I will have to them up the next time I’m there. Thanks for the heads up!

  11. Lisbel June 25, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Mmmm delicious! Cheesecake and french toast please! I’ve actually never made french toast before in my entire life…need to try, off to search for a recipe 🙂

  12. alek Prus June 25, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Love all those ideas (: especially love whipped cottage cheese do you use a magic bullet?

    • Sweetly Fit June 25, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      Sometimes I use my magic bullet for it but what is even easier (and less clean up) is to use a handheld stick blender. I have a cheapie one and I use it all the time. Works great!

  13. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body June 25, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    Everything looks delicious, especially that wrap! I have been loving the in-season strawberries lately!

  14. Danielle (@CleanFoodCF) June 25, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    That French toast looks awesome! I love your meals! I love cherries in season!

  15. Health Freak College Girl June 25, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Strawberries right now are amazinggg! I can’t get enough 🙂

  16. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs June 26, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    Ah your food always looks awesome! Eating more is the best. Are you feeling hungry for more, or are you just upping your cals at each meal? Just wondering. I’m lovin’ on strawberries and pineapple too!

    • Sweetly Fit June 26, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      I don’t feel like my hunger has hugely changed, but since I’m more active now and know that I’m burning more calories, I am doing my best to compensate for that and eat more.

  17. amylouisemc June 26, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    I looooove strawberries at the moment! I’m allergic to pineapple, but I love it anyway 🙂

  18. Look at you go! So many fab food options to choose from! My favorite produce selection right now has to be: blueberries! I just can’t seem to get enough of these fiber-licious treats. Strawberries are probably a close second.

Leave a Reply

