Zuc Love and Extra Chocolate Please

26 Jun

After hiding in a kitchen cabinet for some time, I remembered about my good ole spirilzer

I have this one from Amazon:

Screen shot 2012 06 26 at 5 21 53 PM

It does a pretty good job with turning veggies and fruits into fun shapes.

IMG 3570

Zucchini noodles are the main reason why I bought it way back when in the first place. It’s still my favorite way to use it. But apple slices, sweet potatoes, and anything else you can think to stick on there work great, too. Mine has 3 insert that make different sizes/shapes.

A few nights ago, I spirilized my zucchini, roasted it in italian seasonings and garlic powder, and plated it with turkey meatballs, marinara, and a toasted cheese and avocado wrap:

IMG 3573

Cilantro = my favorite fresh herb. (Must be why I love Chipotle so much)

After I remembered how much fun spirilizing is, I made it again the next night. Only this time, I wanted Chinese.

IMG 3580

The Sauce Components:

IMG 3581

  • 1 tbsp La Choy Teriyaki Sauce
  • 1 tbsp Bragg Liquid Aminos (or soy sauce)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • crush garlic

Simply saute your veggies and mix in the sauce before serving.

Not the prettiest dish, but it’s the taste that counts. The peanut butter gives it that thai taste and makes it so creamy.

IMG 3582

You can add in any protein or carb of choice as well. I rolled with chicken since I had some to use up.

IMG 3577

^my last kabocha squash. *tear*

A spirilizer is just another handy tool to switch up your usual veggies. I don’t understand people who don’t like vegetables…it’s probably just because they’ve never had spirilized zucchini. That’s where it’s at.

Not to leave you without dessert, here is what I have been all about the last few nights:

Double Chocolate Fudge Bowl

IMG 3614

  • 1 scoop chocolate casein protein powder
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate cocoa powder (or regular)
  • dash of stevia
  • almond milk to thin—>add until desired thickness. I probably used around 1/3 cup
  • pool of peanut butter

Mix up and stick in the freezer for a little bit to thicken up and get ooey gooey.

Yes, that’s right 1/4 cup cocoa powder goodness in one serving. It makes it amazing. Add peanut butter on top and you have yourself Reese’s in a bowl.

The only problem with this dessert (for me) is all the cocoa powder = caffeine. After finding out that I have a beef with caffeine, this isn’t the smartest idea for me to have before bed. Unfortunately it has made me toss and turn at night (DARN IT) so I will not be having this on an every night basis….but sometimes chocolate = necessary. So chocolate will be had. 🙂

Tomorrow I’m heading home for the wedding shenanigans. Hopefully everything goes smoothly!

Happy Tuesday to all!

Kristi

16 Responses to “Zuc Love and Extra Chocolate Please”

  1. Kailey June 26, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to make noodles out of zucchini – its one of my favorite veggies! Peanut sauce makes everything better 😀

  2. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes June 26, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    I eat cocoa powder like that too! The best.

  3. Alexandra June 27, 2012 at 1:06 am #

    So jealous of that awesome spiralizer!! I gotta invest in one of those one day– I can’t even begin to imagine how awesome zucchini pasta would be 🙂
    Love the looks of that dessert too mmmmmm

  4. Jessica, the_toned_teach June 27, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    AHH! I have almost made that exact same peanut soy sauce before! So delicious– great minds think alike my dear 🙂

  5. Meg June 27, 2012 at 3:15 am #

    oh sweetie! YAY for zuc noodles! I have a zuc noodle salad on my blog if you ever want to check it out! I am suuuure you would love it as we love all of the same things 😉

    I have never added greek yogurt to my casein before!? only water. is this something I should do!? 😉

    • Sweetly Fit June 27, 2012 at 3:32 am #

      I will have to do that! Thanks Meg!

      And you should definitely try greek yogurt with casein. It adds volume an creaminess and makes it more filling. I used to make mine with just liquid but now I won’t go back. 😉

  6. Lisa June 27, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    I am SO jealous of your spiralizer, I’ve been dying to order one. Now you make me want one even more. I think I may just take the plunge and buy it. I love protein powder in my yogurt, so your dessert looks mighty fine to me, but I have the same problem with chocolate before bed, it keeps me a little too restless.

  7. A Tablespoon of Liz June 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Your meal looks so good! I’ve wanted a spiralizer for the longest time, I really need to get one!

  8. teabagginit June 27, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    just think of all that awesome magnesium with the cocoa powder! i wonder if raw cacoa powder would do the same?

  9. kelloggsfiberpluskati June 28, 2012 at 1:40 am #

    Not sure which recipe idea I like the best here! The zucchini noodles provide a great way to modestly boost your fiber intake and I absolutely LOVE the chocolate/peanut butter flavor combo. Hmm… decisions, decisions! No really, they both look great! 🙂

  10. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs June 28, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Making noodles out of zucchini is such a good idea! I hate zukes because they’re slimy, but they would make the perfect noodle because of that. A spirilizer looks so cool!

  11. Danielle (@CleanFoodCF) June 28, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Amazing recipes! I want a reese’s in a bowl 🙂 It looks delicious! I’ve been wanting a spiralizer forever…I think I need to cave in and get one soon!

  12. caloricandcrazy June 28, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    I would go crazy if I had a veggie slicer to cut up my veggies with. Not only would it save time…but it looks like so much fun too 🙂

  13. Lisbel June 29, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    I want one of those!!

  14. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate June 30, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    Is that a Japanese sweet potato? Love those.

Leave a Reply

