The Facts: What’s Making Me Happy

3 Jul

If there is one thing that I have realized lately, it’s that there is a lot to be thankful for. Β Sometimes we get caught up in the hurry and chaos that comes with everyday life that we forget to appreciate the blessings surrounding us and all the things that make us happy. And what’s life without happiness?

So here are a few things that are making me smile.

The Fact that the wedding weekend was a huge success.

Jess

My sister Jessica and newly brother-in-law Steven

NewImage

Maid of Honor and Bride

There were no major disasters, we got to see friends and family that came in town from all over the US, we danced, we laughed, we celebrated. All the wedding stress was finally worth it. I’m glad I could be there for my sister and help make “her day” as special as possible. Love you Jess.

The Fact that Stuft Mamma mentioned me twice in her last post.

Stufe mamma

Considering that Kristin is basically my idol, I was pretty stoked. I gave her a new salad dressing idea…thank goodness she liked it, ha ha.

I even celebrated by making a similar version of the green pumpkin microwave muffin she posted today. Twist my arm, eh?

IMG 3657

I made it the way I make my recipe for giant muffin tops, only this time I added a scoop of coconut flour, blended in some spinach, and topped with coconut peanut butter and blueberries. I love starting my day with some green! There was also some maple syrup action happening post picture.

The Fact that I am blessed with a strong, healthy body that enabled me to do this workout this morning:

Midwest fit

I’m catching up on my MidWest Fit training sessions, and did last Friday’s mini circuits. It was a great one! After listening to my body and taking the weekend off from exercise, I was recharged and ready to kick some booty. I could feel that I needed to let my body rebuild and gain back some strength, so rest was the name of the game. Sometimes this can be so hard to do because I always feel so much better when I do get my training sessions in. Like I say time and time again, it’s my stress relief; my escape; my “me time. But listening to your body when it tells you it needs to rest is so SO important and I now I really try to make sure I allow my body the rest it needs. I try to enjoy the relaxation and remind myself of how good my workouts will be after proper recovery = baller. πŸ™‚

The Fact that I can afford groceries and food without worry, unlike so many less fortunate.

Those basic needs…food, a place to call home, and a comfy bed to sleep in. I smile about these things every day. I am so grateful.

IMG 3578

new drinks: iced passion tea and blueberry green tea

IMG 3647

butter lettuce salad, baby cucumber, homemade BBQ sauce, three cheese chicken sausage, chive goat cheese, seasonings, lemon juice

IMG 3620

roasted spirilized zucchini, onion, yellow bell pepper, mushroom with nutritional yeast and seasonings. Topped with whole wheat potato gnocchi pasta, soy sausage patties, and marinara sauce

The Fact that I have this amazing place to blog and work with great companies that allow me to host giveaways for you!

Speaking of which, I have picked the giveaway winner for the July Conscious Box Giveaway

Screen shot 2012 06 30 at 11 13 02 AM

Comment #….9!

Comment

Congrats Grace! Please email me with your shipping info so you can get your goodies. πŸ˜€

And of course I am thankful every day for every one of YOU! Wishing everyone a wonderful Tuesday!

What is making you smile?

Kristi

21 Responses to “The Facts: What’s Making Me Happy”

  1. Meg July 3, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    you make me smile babe πŸ™‚ I have been noticing the little things in life too πŸ™‚ That’s what my post is about today! πŸ˜€ SO funny! Love you girl! I LOVE YOU! Seriously

  2. Alexandra July 3, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Love this post! So happy your sister’s wedding went well, you two are absolutely STUNNING! πŸ˜€
    Having a day off from classes tomorrow is currently making me smile– my brain is so mushed out haha

    • Sweetly Fit July 3, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

      Thank you. πŸ™‚ And that is definitely something to smile about. I’m sure you’ve been killing it with your classes and deserve that break!!

  3. Lisa July 3, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    That is great you are in such a positive place right now! I love green protein muffins! You can’t even taste the spinach at all. You look gorgeous at your sisters wedding. And you posts are really convincing me I need a spiralizer…

    • Sweetly Fit July 4, 2012 at 2:07 am #

      haha, you DO need a spirlizer! They are amazing. πŸ™‚

  4. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness July 3, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    I love that muffin top recipe so awesome! You both look beautiful at the wedding! So happy you’re smiling! Reading all of these positive healthy living blogs always makes me smile!

  5. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs July 3, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    Great post Kristi! You and your sister look so beautiful! I’m glad the weekend was a success. I think it’s SO important to recognize your blessings. And it always makes you feel super down to earth.

  6. allieksmith July 3, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    Your sister is a beautiful bride! You have so much to be happy about πŸ™‚

  7. teabagginit July 3, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    love this post and all the goodness it exudes! thanks for reminding me of the big and small things to be thankful for!

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 4, 2012 at 2:18 am #

    You and your sister look so gorgeous!! Congrats to her and your new brother in law! It sounds like the wedding was a blast!!!

  9. earthygurl July 4, 2012 at 4:42 am #

    Oh my what gorgeous girls your are! Always great to look back on what we are grateful for! IT’s easy to get sidetracked isn’t it?

  10. jessie July 4, 2012 at 5:00 am #

    This was such a wonderful post. You and your sister look absolutely stunning. I love your outlook on life, and how happy you are. πŸ™‚

    What’s making me smile is a.) I get to wake up to the most amazing man everyday, b.) we’ve been blessed with an opportunity to live in a new country, and it’s been wonderful, and c.) i just started my own blog, so go check it out πŸ™‚

  11. paoang July 4, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    Kristi, reading this post made me smile! I am really glad the wedding went great. Both you and your sister looked beautiful. Sometimes it’s hard to be thankful for the most important things in life, because most we take for granted. Thank you for reminding me this.
    Have a great day and a happy July 4th!

  12. Ellie @ healthy belly ellie July 4, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Hey girl! I just bought some broccoli slaw yesterday (I’ve seen it on your blog alot) – I was just wondering how long you put it in the oven for and at what temp? Also what do you roast it with? Coconut oil? Do you season it with any other ingredients? It sounds like I’ve never stepped foot in the kitchen before, ha! But your version looks so good, that I must know your secrets to the roasted broccoli slaw!

  13. Lauren @ WWoB July 4, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    I love love love this post. You are so introspective of your surroundings and life and thankful for the big and little things. πŸ™‚ We can all benefit from doing the same

  14. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body July 4, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    I can totally relate to being happy about being able to afford groceries without worry! Love this post πŸ™‚

  15. Jessica Grabar July 5, 2012 at 1:55 am #

    You make me smile! I love you so much and I am so glad you are my sister. I miss you and need to see you soon!!!

  16. Katie Gagliano (@HealthyDiva31) July 5, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Hi beautiful!

    Your sister looked absolutely beautiful, as you did as well! What a beautiful family you have! So glad her wedding was amazing, congrats to her!

    Hope your July 4th was great! ❀

  17. KatsHealthCorner July 6, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    You and your sister are absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :DDDDDDDDDDDDDD

Leave a Reply

