Veggie Roasting 101

5 Jul

I got a question about how I roast my veggies. It’s fast, simple, delicious, and one of my go-to ways to eat vegetables.

You can use this method with any veggies, but the usual suspects for me are:

Broccoli Slaw

Rainbow Slaw (similar to broc slaw only it also has cabbage)

Spirilized Zucchini

Kale

Grab whatever veggies are to your liking though!

IMG 3682

IMG 3683

I love my spirilized zucchini.

IMG 3567

Sometimes I will switch up the seasonings, but my no-fail combo is this one:

IMG 3680

Garlic powder

Montreal Chicken Seasoning (or Montreal Steak Seasoning is great too)

Nutrition Yeast Flakes (cheezey flavor!)

The seasoning mix is a blend of different herbs, spices, salt, and pepper. I highly recommend this one, but again, you can use any seasoning blend you have on hand.

The Method:

Put oven on broiler setting and move baking rack up so that it’s right up the broiler.

Spray a piece of foil with cooking spray and place on a baking sheet.

Spread out your cut up veggies on baking sheet.

Give them a quick spray with cooking spray and then add your seasonings of choice.

Place baking sheet on rack right under broiler and roast, watching carefully for around 5-10 minutes. (I start with the oven door closed for about 3-5 minutes, then crack it open for the remainder of time. This lets some of the high heat escape so you don’t burn them to crisps) (

*Cooking time will vary depending on what veggies were used and how “done” you want them to be. I like to take them out once they start getting slightly burned/crispy on top.

*Using the broil setting and putting veggies right under it allows them to be cooked very fast. This is a perfect option when you don’t have a lot of time….or are just impatient and want to eat now. 😉

IMG 3611

all ready to go

IMG 3612

noodle zucchini, bell pepper, and onion. along with marinara, chicken and sweet potato.

IMG 3618

angel hair zucchini with yellow pepper, marinara, gnocchi pasta, and soy sausage patties

IMG 3600

broccoli slaw with fresh salsa, baked turkey meatballs, whole grain english muffins with butter

IMG 3572

more zucchini noodles, fresh cilantro, marinara, turkey meatballs, and a toasted cheesy whole grain wrap

IMG 3526

rainbow slaw with marinara, spicy mustard, relish, baked chicken, and sweet potato wedges

Man, I could really use a bigger variety of plates. Ha ha.

This method makes for some darn tasty veggies. Don’t take my word for it though. TRY IT!!!

Kristi

11 Responses to “Veggie Roasting 101”

  1. Health Freak College Girl July 5, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Yesss! Roasting veggies seriously changed my life! I love them 🙂

  2. Ellie @ healthy belly ellie July 5, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    YAY! Thanks for posting this! I will try this method right away! I roasted my broccoli slaw yesterday at 350 in the oven – and it took FOREVER, so long that I had to take it out early and eat because I had to run to work! Was still tasty, but I’m happy I have this broiling method to try!

    • Sweetly Fit July 5, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      Yeah, I usually don’t have the patience to cook at 350, haha. The broiler is the unpatient person’s best friend. 😉 Let me know how it goes!

  3. Lisa July 5, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    Haha, I totally use the same plates all the time as well. I should probably get more…I love your method. It definitely is convenient to just put on the broiler when you are hungry now and aren’t patient to wait. I love all your veggie combos! So my type of eats. Roasted veggies are by faaaar my favourite way to eat them!

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 5, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    Roasted veggies are THE BEST.

  5. teabagginit July 6, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    roasted veggies are awesome! … roasted everything is awesome! 🙂 i sprinkle mine with 21 seasoning salute and sea salt! so good!

  6. Meg July 6, 2012 at 3:54 am #

    Mmmm roasted veggies are wonderful 🙂

    But so are YOU

  7. Tiff (@LoveSweatBeers) July 6, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Roasting has become my fav way to prep veggies. I try to spread them out as much as possible.

  8. KatsHealthCorner July 6, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    I never would have thought to use those broccoli slaw mixes for ROASTING!!!!! Kristi, you are a GENIUS!!! I am totally going to buy one of those and try it out! Thank you! ❤

Leave a Reply

