Your Body Knows Best

6 Jul

Happy happy Friday!

A while ago, I mentioned I took a little exercise break. My body was feeling worn down and just kind of “tired.” I also had more important things to attend to for the wedding weekend. My  body was definitely trying to tell me something! Even though it’s hard to step back and allow that rest, it’s 100% worth it. What was the result of letting my body rest and recharge?

1. FULL of energy

2. Killing every workout this week

3. Having a renewed excitement for exercise

Our bodies are so smart! If we honor them by giving it what it needs: properly fueling, drinking enough water, sleeping well, and allowing rest…it will honor us by feeling amazing, energized, and able to take on each day. So the moral of the story is to listen to your body. If you aren’t feeling great, chances are you might be neglecting/overlooking something that your body needs. Just a good reminder! 🙂

Isn’t it the best surprise ever to get a package in the mail? My UPS guy and I have gotten to know each other pretty well since I’ve moved into my apartment (um, online shopping addiction?) and I swear he probably thinks I am the happiest person ever. I know he hears me sprint to the door when he comes, and by now is completely used to the gigantic smile and greeting he gets every single time he visits. He probably secretly thinks I’m crazy but at least he’s nice to my face, ha ha.

Yesterday’s package was a re-stock of my favorite green tea:

IMG 3690

Yogi Kombucha Green Tea, which I get on Subscribe and Save from Amazon—so much cheaper than in stores. I love this flavor because it has passion tea in it. It’s slightly fruity!

Another reason it was a good morning:

IMG 3689

Overnight Oats In a Jar! It’s been a while. I’ve been using most of my almost empty jars for ice cream lately, but decided that this one was destined for breakfast. Not that I couldn’t just have the ice cream version for breakfast…hmmm. Anyways, I think I jumped the gun on this jar because it was literally swimming in peanut butter. I’ll let you decide for yourself if I minded or not. 😉

For the overnight oat portion I used: 3/4 cup dry oats, 1 cup almond milk, 1/4 cup blueberries, and 1 serving Dymatize cinnamon bun protein powder. So good.

For lunches, I have been a wrap fanatic. I like to make them the night before so that when I’m ready to eat them the next day, everything is really cold and soft.

IMG 3691

This one was applewood smoked cheddar, turkey, tomato, sprouts, spinach, greek yogurt spread (2 tbsp greek yogurt mixed with pepper, garlic and onion powder.)

Baby cucumbers with salt and pepper is my new favorite thing. Perfect for lunch time veg!

The cheese was new:

IMG 3650

I approve.

IMG 3684

Kashi crackers with 2% cottage cheese and black pepper for a small snack.

I went to the Farmers Market and got some new zucchini to spirilize and roast:

IMG 3685

I am giving my community some awesome business this summer, haha. You just can’t beat cheap homegrown food! These are white and yellow zucchinis. They had a crispier texture than regular green zucchini. Very good!

I roasted them up and served it up like this:

IMG 3686

with a chili pepper infused gouda cheeseburger and homegrown corn that was picked the same morning and given to me from a friend. Doesn’t get more fresh than that.

The cheese:

IMG 3661

Can you tell I’m on a cheese kick? This stuff is legit. It has a nice spicy kick, but not too spicy for me. I like to think I can handle super spicy things, but I’m actually a bit of wimp. Don’t tell anyone.

This gouda cheese is slightly soft and oh so delicious.

Dessert Pick:

IMG 3687

blueberry cheesecake in a bowl with coconut peanut butter

1/2 cup blended cottage cheese, 1 serving vanilla casein protein, 2 tbsp cream cheese, 1/4 cup blueberries, dash of stevia, vanilla extract, 1/4 almond milk —>refrigerate for an hour.

Wow, that was a lot of dairy in one post. Can you tell i’m on a bit of a cheese kick? I’m loving it and am so glad that my body is accepting it without any issues. There was a point when I thought I was lactose-intolerant, but it doesn’t seem to be a problem anymore. It’s crazy how our bodies can change…and another reason why it’s so important to listen to them and be in tune!

I have the day off today so I’m hoping to lounge by the pool with my new book:

NewImage

Fun reading was something I really wanted to do this summer, and I’m finally getting around to it.

Are you reading a book right now?

When’s the last time you gave your body a rest day?

Have a good one!

Kristi

22 Responses to “Your Body Knows Best”

  1. Kailey July 6, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more with you about the importance of listening to our bodies – they are so much smarter than us! Resting is the best in order to prevent a burn out in my opinion. Love all the cheese 😉

  2. KatsHealthCorner July 6, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    What a beautiful post, Kristi! I absolutely agree with you — listening to your body is the BEST way to go. It knows what it needs and when we take care of it, it will take care of us. 🙂

  3. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness July 6, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    Yum! I’ve been on a dairy kick lately too! I love it! Just tried whipped cottage cheese and am obsessed! Good for you for listening to your body too! That’s not always as easy as we may think or like to do!

  4. Tara July 6, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    I just did a post about rest too! It’s so important to listen to your body, and know when it’s asking for rest. It’s awesome you’re so in tune with your body ❤

  5. Ellie @ healthy belly ellie July 6, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    I actually haven’t eaten much dairy for years because I thought (or maybe I was) lactose intolerant. Though, the other day at the store, I just gravitated towards the cottage cheese and greek yogurt. To my pleasant joyous surprise – my tummy took both very well! SO happy – oh how I’ve missed my yogurt and cottage cheese!

  6. danielleimp July 6, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    It is so true that you have to listen to your body! It’s hard for me to take a rest day, let alone a week off. However, when I first went away to college, I was not able to workout for a week and in that week I saw the biggest gains! My muscles needed time to recoup, rebuild, and grow. Rest is just as important as working out! Love this post! 🙂

  7. Meg July 6, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    Yay I am so happy you get to read today bff 🙂 I love you so much!

    You are so wise my dear. I love how you said if you don’t feel good your body is probably trying to tell you something! Such a great way to think! So when we feel good, we must be doing something right and listening to what our bodies need 😀 Yay!

    I love you so much and, as you know, I am always in awe over your eats 🙂 ❤ I love them! I have never combined casein with ANYTHING other than nut butter before. You are making me want to change this! xoxoxo I love you and your love for dairy 🙂

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 6, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    Our bodies really are incredible! Every time I take prolonged breaks from exercise my body reacts so positively! It definitely appreciates the rest and returns stronger and more energized than ever! Yay for listening to our bodies!

  9. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body July 6, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

    I really want to find that tea, it sounds really interesting! Looks like someone loves cucumber too!

  10. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes July 7, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    I’m so glad your rest did you well! Exercising after rest is always the best. It’s unbelievable how noticeable it is.

  11. Alexandra July 7, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    Yay for feeling so awesome after rest!!! It can be so hard sometimes to take a few days off, but man you are so right about the increased strength and energy– it rocks!! 😀
    Glad to hear all is going well, lovin your eats as usual 😉

  12. Meg July 7, 2012 at 12:29 am #

    Cheeseaholics anonymous president over here…care to share the position?! 😉

  13. Angie @ The Fitness Apple July 7, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    I dont even like corn much but that really does look fresh!

  14. sarah July 7, 2012 at 4:45 am #

    LOVE what you have to say on resting your body and giving it what it needs- you are so smart girl and an inspiration to me:)!

    Ya know Iv had a box of Yogitea (the chocospice flavour) sitting in my room for aaages- but I’m too scared to try it because I don’t think I like tea,haha. I think of tea, and I think of dirty dishwater for some reason:p.

    All your eats look *fabulous*. I really want to recreate that wrap, and make it the night before like you said- describing it as cold and soft made it sound really appealing to me!
    Xxx

  15. teabagginit July 7, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    i completely agree about listening and honoring your body’s signals! there’s a huge difference between slacking off and needing rest and you know the difference. you also know the way to my heart – those cheesecake bowls!
    ps – i nominated you for the versatile blogger award!

  16. allieksmith July 7, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    You are so right, our bodies do know best :). I’m loving all of the cheese in this post.. Mmm!

  17. jessie July 7, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    I love that you listened to your body and didn’t drain yourself. It’s never good to feel like exercising is becoming a “job”.

    Also, all of your eats look so good… esp the desert.

    Hope you have an awesome weekend ❤

  18. Lisa July 7, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    Totally agree on the working out front! Sometimes your body just needs a break and we shouldn’t judge it for wanting some rest and relaxation. Our bodies are smart things when we listen to them properly!
    Thank god we always have a different delivery man when he comes on over because they would think I’m insane by all the products I order;) I love that kombucha tea, so yummy!
    Can you believe I’ve never had OIAJ? I don’t think my hand could fit through the jar to get the last of the goodness in there, so I never eat them hah.
    And I also love making wraps the night before, because I love how they get soft and cold! Your the only other person I know who also likes that.
    I’m on a dairy kick too, thank goodness I have no dairy issues. Sorry for the super long comment:)
    Have a happy weekend!xo

  19. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 8, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    Mmmm cheese. I tried an applewood smoked goat cheddar once that was amazing.

    • Sweetly Fit July 8, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      goat cheddar has got to be awesome. I need some…now.

  20. karinacocina17 July 9, 2012 at 2:04 am #

    glad to see someone else appreciates the awesomeness that is krojer natural pb 🙂 its my fav!

    • Sweetly Fit July 9, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

      I have gone through a million jars of that stuff. I don’t know why it tastes so much better than any other brand I’ve tried, but I’ll take it. It’s cheap, too!

Leave a Reply

