Chocolate is a main food group…

12 Jul

…for me anyways. I hope it is for you too because well, it’s awesome. 🙂

What’s also awesome is the benefits that cocoa powder provides.

Antioxidant rich

Flavonoids for a healthy heart

Improved mood

Improved blood flow

Clear complexion by keeping skin hydrated (due to increased blood flow)

Just to name a few. I don’t know about you, but that is enough to convince me to eat chocolate at all times of the day. Don’t worry, I’ll include veggies, too. It’s all about the balance, right?

I’ve been working on some chocolate-filled recipes in the kitchen, and I ended up with two that I am pretty in love with. They are both essentially brownies, but they are both also completely different. As most of my recipes are, they are also pretty simple and quick to make!

IMG 3711

Brownies, Version One

[a high protein treat that is super moist and flavorful]

  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 servings chocolate protein powder (I used Mrm’s all natural veggie protein)
  • 1/4 cup stevia baking blend
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 6 tbsp unsweetened dark cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • dash of salt

Preheat oven to 350*. Combine all ingredients until just incorporated. Pour into a greased baking pan and bake for approximately 20 minutes. You don’t want them too done, so they stay fudgey. Makes 6 large brownies.

Brownies, Version Two

[all natural brownies that are heavy on the cocoa powder, providing the ultimate dense fudgyness that I love so much]

IMG 3659

  • 35 grams whole wheat pastry flour
  • 40 grams (1/2 cup) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 egg whites
  • stevia to taste

Blend together all ingredients and bake at 350 for approximately 10-12 minutes. Makes 2 brownie servings.

ENJOY!!!

Kristi

27 Responses to “Chocolate is a main food group…”

  1. Alexandra July 12, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    These sound awesome! They look so moist and delicious too! 😀

  2. Liz (formerly VeggieGirl) July 12, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    PERFECT recipe! Sounds/looking amazing!

  3. AnnaTheApple July 12, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    I never need an excuse to eat chocolate! Those brownies look awesome – why make one when you can make two?? Brilliant 🙂

  4. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness July 12, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Yum! Both of those look amazing! I just might have to try out both recipes 🙂

  5. Tara July 12, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    I’m definitely going to try the second one. I love any healthy recipe that doesn’t include protein powder – I find it makes everything super spongey. These look gooey and delicious!

    • Sweetly Fit July 12, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

      When I use protein powder for baking, I only use a veggie-based one or casein, not whey. Whey does turn them dry!

  6. katalysthealth July 12, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Ok so Im having a minor freak out right now because I dont know if I have enough cocoa powder. Holy crap. Im making these. RIGHT. NOW.

  7. Jenn July 12, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Those both look SO good! I go through so much cocoa powder and I’m proud 🙂 Do you know the nutrition info for the two recipes?

  8. Health Freak College Girl July 12, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Loveeee chocolate! So these sound amazing 🙂

  9. Lisa July 12, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    These look so moist and tasty!! Love both. I love eating larger style brownies, instead of tiny ones, so these sound perfect!

  10. Em (@Pureglow16) July 12, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    i just want to dive in to that right now!!!!!! yummm!!!!

  11. Sable Weisman (@SquatLikeALady) July 12, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    Yum!!!!! Great recipe!

  12. Kailey July 12, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Thank you thank you thank you 🙂 Can’t wait to make these!!

    • Kailey July 13, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

      I made version two last night and holy chocolate – I loved it!! I made them into muffins and topped one with peanut butter and crumbled the other over cookies & creme banana soft serve. Krisit – you are a genius

  13. dani July 12, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    girl these look ridiculous! i’m praying that i still have cocoa powder in my pantry so i can try these tonight. and if they’re as good as your cheesecake recipe (which i’ve seriously been eating like everyday) then i’m sure they will be AMAZING!!

    • Sweetly Fit July 13, 2012 at 2:52 am #

      I’m so glad you liked the cheesecake!! Let me know if you try out the brownies! 😀

  14. yl1231982 July 12, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    Hey Kristi! I’ve been reading your blog for a little while now–so thought I’d finally comment. Those brownies look amaaazing!!! I’m also obsessed with cocoa powder and like to mix it with egg whites for a healthy brownie or greek yogurt and stevia. Lately for an after dinner treat I’ve been making my own “chocolate bar.” I add 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder, plus stevia and add a bit of water to make a paste/frosting texture. Then freeze it for about an hour. Sooo good! It literally tastes like a hershey’s bar!

    • Sweetly Fit July 13, 2012 at 2:53 am #

      I have also done this before and it rocks!! If you add coconut oil into the mix, it is the ultimate!

      • teabagginit July 13, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

        i second this! adding coconut oil makes it sooo good! and that mix would be the best frosting for these brownies! 🙂

  15. Meg July 14, 2012 at 4:10 am #

    Oh babe! These both sound MARVELOUS! 😀 WOW! I am pinning these recipe 😉 Love you hunnie

  16. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes July 14, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    I have been eating SO MUCH cocoa powder lately! Black beans are really good in brownies too.

  17. Trixie July 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Oat flour is basically taking a cup of oats and putting in the food processor? Or do you buy it?

    • Sweetly Fit July 15, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      Yes I just use my Magic Bullet to process the oats. You can buy oat flour in stores though and that would work just the same.

  18. caloricandcrazy July 14, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    These look so delicious! 😀

  19. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 15, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    Is it weird that I don’t really care for chocolate? Vanilla please!

  20. CourtandWhit July 18, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    These look like vita tops!;D

  21. KatsHealthCorner July 22, 2012 at 3:38 am #

    YAY for chocolate! It definitely should be it’s own food group! I’d join a petition with you if you wanted to do it! 😉

Leave a Reply

