Zucchini Muffins

23 Jul
With zucchini being in season, I have been going through them like crazy. One of my absolute favorite ways to eat them is in homemade zucchini muffins! After browsing through recipes, I just decided to wing it and make up my own. I have found that my protein powder (linked below) makes delicious doughy baked goods, and adding in a bit to this recipe was no exception!

NewImage
  • 1.5 cups flour (I used grinded oat flour)
  • 30 grams Dymatize cinnamon bun protein powder (or other protein, or more flour)
  • 1.5 cups grated zucchini (water pressed out)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup stevia baking blend
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients, adding in the egg last. Mix until just combined. Pour into greased muffin tins. Sprinkle additional cinnamon on the tops. Bake for 25 minutes.

EAT!

Kristi

11 Responses to “Zucchini Muffins”

  1. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness July 23, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    These sound amazing! I love the protein powder in them too! That will definitely up the protein content and I be the cinnamon gives them great flavor!

  2. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body July 23, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    This looks like a great recipe! That’s a great idea to press out the water from zucchini when baking with it, I never realized that before! πŸ™‚

  3. Jasmine July 23, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    Looks delicious!! I’ve been meaning to try some Dymatize protein powder ever since you started talking about them, maybe this will be the first thing I use them in!

  4. Alexandra July 23, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    Helloooo deliciousness!! These sound rockin! πŸ™‚

  5. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 24, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    Yum! πŸ™‚

  6. KatsHealthCorner July 24, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    I love how you add protein powder to your baking! πŸ™‚

  7. Naomi (@onefitfoodie) July 24, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    Looks great!!!

  8. Meg July 24, 2012 at 4:00 am #

    YESSSSS she posted the recipe!!!!!!!!!! Thank you sis πŸ˜€ I have two zucchinis in my fridge right now πŸ˜‰ muahahahahah

  9. Lisa July 24, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    These look amazing. I love the addition of protein powder to make them a bit more protein packed. Good thing my zucchini produce is insane right now!

  10. katalysthealth July 27, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    GIVE ME THESE MUFFINS!! These sound crazy good hun!

  11. R Taylor October 9, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    The muffins are so yummy to look at. I can’t wait to try this. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

