New All Natural Sweetener?

1 Aug

I was browsing through my email the other when I came across something very interesting from the one and only, Hungry Girl.

Nec

Apparently there is a new all natural sweetener on the market called Nectresse.

“Move over, stevia… There’s a new calorie-free natural sweetener in town! It’s from the makers of Splenda, but it does NOT contain Splenda or any other artificial sweetener. Nectresse is made with MONK FRUIT (which sounds like prayerful produce but is really just a small vine fruit). Each packet has 0 calories, 0g fat, 0mg sodium, 2g carbs, <1g sugars, and 0g protein (PointsPlusยฎ value 0*). (Note: These carbs, from a natural sugar alcohol, have a lower caloric value than standard carbs.) We’ve tried it, and IT’S REALLY GOOD! On shelves and online.”

You can go HERE to find out more about it and get a free sample sent to you. I already did it and have to admit I’m pretty excited to try!

Anyways, on to important Wednesday things, It is of course time for…

*A collection of eats from the past few days, per usual*

IMG 3479

egg white pumpkin oats with protein frosting and berries

IMG 3586

soft eggs, kumato tomato, soy sausage, english muffin with jam and butter

IMG 3587

bean and avocado ‘dillas with roasted brussels

IMG 3695

wrap attack + baby cukes

IMG 3726

pumpkin ice cream with peanut butter (1 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup pumpkin, stevia, vanilla extract)

IMG 3827

cottage cheese + Kashi asiago crackers

IMG 3821

2% Fage greek yogurt with 2 tbsp cocoa powder and stevia, raspberries

IMG 3795

cookie dough dip with 34 Degree crackers and a fuji apple

IMG 3653

hamburger with cream cheese, ketchup, mustard, roasted japanese sweet potato wedges

IMG 3780

My favorite marinara to date: Victoria Trading Company—>They use imported italian plum tomatoes and the taste is fantastic. Even better? It can be found at Walmart for pretty cheap. Um yes please.

I use that delicious stuff on meals like this:

IMG 3797

roasted broccoli slaw, marinara, chicken nuggets, fresh basil, english muffin with butter and garlic powder

Or this:

IMG 3829

same thing but with roasted zucchini noodles

IMG 3825

cheesy ground chicken green chili enchiladas. recipe soon!

IMG 3826

with steamed veg

IMG 3801

Avocado Ice Cream! Based off ย the lovely Meg‘s recipe I used: 1 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 avocado, 1/2 scoop chocolate casein protein powder, dash of almond milk, stevia. Mix together, freeze for 2 hours, and re-blend with a stick blender for ultimate ice cream consistency. So so good!!!

IMG 3806

chocolate raspberry cheesecake with full fatย coconut cream and dark chocolate sauce. Geeze, I’m really slacking on getting that new cheesecake post up aren’t I?

IMG 3761

fudge sludge with ice cream: 1 scoop cookies and cream casein, 3 tbsp dark cocoa powder, 1/2 cup blended cottage cheese, 2 tbsp cream cheese, 1/4 cup almond milk, stevia.

What I Worked Wednesday:

Or rather, what I will work wednesday…today i’m going for some nice steady cardio to give my body a break from the weights and high intensity training. It’s a rainy day here today so the plan is to head over to the gym later on and hop on the treadmill for a 3 milk rulk (run + walk). I have been enjoying throwing in one steady state cardio day a week lately. I think it rounds out all the other crazy stuff I do the rest of the week. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I worked the early shift at the dining center today so I’m thinking a nap sounds pretty perfect right now. And on a nice rainy day like this? Even better. I may have to whip out my Kindle and read a little later, too. Here’s to a relaxing rest of the day!

Have you heard of the new sweetener?

What was your workout today?

Kristi

26 Responses to “New All Natural Sweetener?”

  1. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness August 1, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    Love the meals! That pumpkin ice cream sounds amazing! I got that email about the new sweetener too! It sounds great! I’m really curious to try it now!

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 1, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    Girl you need to be a professional wrap maker!!! That wrap is PERFECT! And it looks delicious!

    • Sweetly Fit August 1, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      it was one of my better ones. They don’t usually turn out that pretty, haha. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. MassachusEATS August 1, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Wow, I’ve made that avocado pudding before but will have to experiment with the avo ice cream!

  4. paoang August 1, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    All of your food looks DELICIOUS. That wrap is just gorgeous. I hope you’ve been doing well!

  5. Sable Weisman (@SquatLikeALady) August 1, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    OMG – all of your food always looks SO incredible!!!!

  6. Meg August 1, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    BABY GIRL!!!!!!!!!! You made it you made it!!!!!!!!!!! Yours looks incredible! I think I might make your pumpkin ice cream today, though ๐Ÿ˜‰ Oh and I totally LOVE how you and I both like the raspberry and chocolate combo ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s seriously the best. I still need to get on your blueberry and pumpkin combo though?? Haven’t done that before!

    Love you like a sister! โค

    • Sweetly Fit August 1, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      I loved it just like I knew I would! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Trixie August 1, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    Seriously you’re becoming my favorite blog! What’s in the wrap? Oh and what ice-cream is on top of your sludge?

    • Sweetly Fit August 1, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      thank you! the wrap is turkey, a sharp cheddar cheese spread, spinach, sprouts, and a scoop of greek yogurt sauce (yogurt + garlic and onion powder, salt and pepper.) and the ice cream is just regular store bought vanilla. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Lisa August 1, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Isn’t avocado in “ice cream” the best thing ever! I am obsessed.
    You are so good at wrapping your wraps, my first job ever was making wraps and I wasn’t even that good haha.
    I always am obsessed with your food and today is no different! It all looks amazing. I just bought 4 huge bags of broccoli slaw and I’m assuming my bag will be used up by the end of the week, I go through that stuff like crazy!

  9. Orsem Wells August 1, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    I just want to say I’ve been a long time ready and you, by far, are a remarkable and amazing person who eats and lives and is not like all the other ‘HLB’ out there! great job ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Liz @ Southern Charm August 1, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Ummm I want each and every one of these eats … like now ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs August 1, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    You rule at food. Seriously, I want to lick my computer. In a completely non-weird way, of course. ๐Ÿ˜› I haven’t heard of avocado “ice cream”, but I really want to try it now! I am crazy about avocados.

  12. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body August 1, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    Everything looks delicious, especially those potato wedges, and your wrap! I think Arctic Zero is sweetened with monk fruit! I don’t use much artificial sweetener but it is always great to know the options out there ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. jessielovestorun August 2, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    I seriously don’t even know what food to comment about. They all look AMAZING! Please come be my own personal chef? Oh & teach me how you make such awesome looking wraps.

  14. Health Freak College Girl August 2, 2012 at 5:01 am #

    I want all your fooood! That one wrap looks like a monster. Love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Kailey August 2, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    Cant wait for the chicken enchilada recipe – looks delicious!! I have to say that the desserts are my favorite ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. runservecook August 2, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    looks good!(; where can i find that sweetener?

    • Sweetly Fit August 3, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

      Walmart has it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • runservecook August 3, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

        Im gonna get it have you tried it!\

  17. livinglearningeating August 2, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    I loooove English muffins, too! And I’ve been seeing so much of that frozen greek yogurt ‘ice cream’, I obviously need to try it! I just had a raw cheesecake for the first time today = so good ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. FitNjess August 2, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    I haven’t heard of that new sweetner!! I will have to try it as I love experimentin with new products. All your meals look so tasty! I have been wanting to make my own baked chicken nuggts and yours look so good!!

  19. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 2, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    That burger looks so good right now…

  20. karinacocina17 August 3, 2012 at 2:11 am #

    i saw that on hungrygirl this week too and immediately requested a sample……i’m curious but im not expecting it to be better than my fav sweetener nunaturals stevia. that stuff is the best!

  21. teabagginit August 5, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    avocados have been on super sale so i’ve been stocking up and freezing the dangerously-ripe ones. i’m going to have to try out a avocado ice cream!

Leave a Reply

