The Cheesecake Post

12 Aug

I like dessert. A lot. And I’ve been going on and on about a particular favorite of mine for a while now…

CHEESECAKE.

After reading about a healthified protein rich cheesecake version here, I knew I had to give it a go. I have since made dozens of cheesecakes, attempting to perfect the recipe and cooking method. You can read all about some of my most successful attempts and variations in these links:

First Attempt

Second Attempt

Additional Flavor Variations

But even since then, I have tweaked the recipe a bit more so I wanted to give an updated version of what I usually do now:

Protein Rich Cheesecake

  • 2 eggs
  • 5 oz plain greek yogurt
  • 5 oz cottage cheese, blended until completely smooth
  • 12 oz fat free cream cheese
  • 1/4-1/2 cup Stevia in the Raw
  • *1/4 cup liquid (milk, sugar free syrups, or Walden Farms dips)
  • *20 grams of dry ingredient (cocoa powder, protein powder, or pudding mix powder)
  • dash of extract depending on cheesecake flavor
  • dash of salt

*For classic vanilla: use milk or sugar free vanilla syrup. Use vanilla protein powder.

*For chocolate: use Walden Farms sugar free chocolate dip or chocolate syrup. use cocoa powder

*Any flavor variation can be made by being creative with these ingredients.

*if using protein powder, I recommend using a blend versus a pure whey protein. Pure whey might cause a slightly drier cheesecake. Casein protein works great and is what i usually use.

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  • Boil a pot of water on the stove, which will be put in a pan underneath the cheesecake in the oven. (This is my version ofย the water bath method—>made a big difference in texture due to more even heat distribution during cooking.
  • Combine all ingredients, except eggs, and mix with a hand mixer. Add in eggs last and mix until just blended in, being careful not to overmix.
  • Pour batter into a 9 inch spring form baking pan that has been greased with cooking spray.
  • Put into oven along with with the pan of hot water for your water bath, placed directly below cheesecake
  • Bake at 325 for 25 minutes, then reduce heat to 200 degrees and bake another 25 minutes.
  • Take out of oven and release spring on pan.
  • Let cool for 1-2 hours before moving to refrigerator.
  • Let set overnight to allow cheesecake to completely set.

A few of mine:

NewImage

classic vanilla

NewImage

dark chocolate raspberry (using dark cocoa powder and Torani sugar free raspberry syrup)

NewImage

lemony strawberry (using vanilla protein powder, almond milk, and a big squeeze of fresh lemon)

NewImage

chocolate peanut butter (using chocolate protein powder, cocoa powder, and peanut butter extract)

IMG 3869

cinnamon bun (using sugar free maple syrup and cinnamon bun protein powder)

This recipe is very versatile and can be changed up to create countless different flavors. Especially when you think about the different syrup and protein flavors available today, it is pretty easy to make just about any combo your heart desires!

Just a few more ideas to get you going…

caramel: use walden farms caramel dip and caramel extract.

cappuccino : use coffee as your 1/4 cup liquid. Or use instant coffee crystals.

peanut butter: add in peanut butter or peanut flour along with peanut butter extract.

coconut: use coconut flour and coconut extract.

chocolate coconut: use coconut extract and cocoa powder.

cookies and cream: use cookies and cream protein powder and almond milk or sugar free vanilla syrup.

For more tips and variations, you can go here to the original cheesecake thread.

Be warned that making a successful cheesecake may take a few tries before you achieve what you’re after. Once you master the baking times for your oven, you will be glad you stuck with it!

Kristi

22 Responses to “The Cheesecake Post”

  1. Liz (formerly VeggieGirl) August 12, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Great variations! Sounds and looks super delicious.

  2. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness August 12, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    These always look amazing when you make them!

  3. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 12, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    I think I prefer real cheesecake ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sable Weisman (@SquatLikeALady) August 13, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    I bet this would be great made with pea protein too – it has such a great texture in baked goods!

    • Sweetly Fit August 13, 2012 at 12:55 am #

      I would think that plant based proteins would definitely work well!

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 13, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    THESE LOOK SO GOOD! Like professional cheesecakes from a bakery! I am actually not a cheesecake fan….but I think this recipe might convert me! They actually sound delicious.

  6. Alexandra August 13, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    EPIC!!!! This post just made me drool probably more than ever in my life haha

  7. Tara August 13, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    YUM! I can’t wait to try this!

  8. jessielovestorun August 13, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    You are officially my favorite person! Seriously, thank you so much for sharing all these yummy cheesecake recipes with us. Good thing I just ordered Cinnamon Roll protein powder yesterday!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body August 13, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    My favourite recipes are always slightly evolving since I am always making tweaks. Your cheesecake recipe looks fantastic! Is Stevia in the Raw a liquid or powder? I am going to try replacing it with something (I don’t have any) but I am not sure if I should replace it with more protein powder or more liquid? Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sweetly Fit August 13, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

      it is powdered stevia baking blend. Let me know how it turns out!

  10. Courtney August 13, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    This looks difficult to make but DELICIOUS! Thanks for the recipe and tips ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Lisa August 13, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    These look super tasty! I love the idea of the cheesecake, I guess they don’t taste exactly like the real thing though;)
    They are so cute too. I want to try every single variation!

    • Sweetly Fit August 14, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

      I think it tastes pretty darn close. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs August 14, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    This looks so good but I can’t eat cream cheese.. Too much lactose. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I wonder if more greek yogurt would work..?

    • Sweetly Fit August 14, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      I have seen cheesecakes made with just cottage cheese and greek yogurt. You can definitely try but it might take some adjusting/experimenting to make it work.

  13. paoang August 14, 2012 at 3:51 am #

    This. is not. real.
    I adore cheesecake…so much…it’s unbelievable! Thank you SO, SO much for the recipes. All of them look delicious – I don’t even know where to start!

  14. Eva @ committed2nutrition August 20, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    holy moly.. I am in LOVE with your recipe’s!! what a freakin’ awesome alternative and healthy one at that to CHEESE CAKE!!! OH EM GEE!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Julie August 23, 2012 at 4:56 am #

    Great recipe. I just bookmarked it and can’t wait to try it!

  16. sam September 16, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    this looks delicious! do u think carbthins soy protein bake mix would work?!

    • Kristi @ Sweetly Fit September 17, 2012 at 12:23 am #

      I don’t see why not! This recipe is very versatile so I would give it a go. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

