Write It, Achieve It.

14 Aug

Hi all!

I decided that this week I needed to establish a few goals. I meant to have this up yesterday to start at the beginning of the week, but better late than never right? Basically, I have been feeling a little stressed and anxious about Summer coming to an end and a whole new slew of things starting up very soon. I will be taking on a new full-time semester, switching over to a different dining center for my job, partaking in clubs/activities, fitting in my love of fitness, and the list goes on. There is much to be done to get ready and my mind has been going in one hundred different directions at the same time. Yes, it’s no doubt I’m 100% Type A Personality.

But that’s okay; it’s all in how you choose to deal with things. I know I just need to take a chill pill and realize everything is going to work out just like it always does, but sometimes this is hard to remember in the moment. Something that always seems to help me is meditation, yoga, or even just deep breathing exercises. You may remember some of my meditation goals I’ve made in the past, like thisย 5 Minute Mediation Challenge. It always amazes me how amazing I feel when I do those challenges. So I’m bringing it back yet again.

Goal 1: ย Meditate for 5 minutes every day.

This can be done in a variety of ways, but the main thing will be to completely silence my mind and focus on just breathing and being in the moment. 5 minutes really is enough to make a world of a difference.

Another thing I tend to do when I’m stressed is eat really fast. Then I wonder where all that food went and am left unsatisfied and wanting more. Key word: wanting, not needing. Obviously food is a big part of my life and something that I devote a lot of time to. I want to make sure I’m actually enjoying it! Which brings me to…

Goal 2: Eat slowly and mindfully.

This goes along with the meditating goal in the way that I want to completely silence my mind when I sit down for a meal. I don’t need to be thinking about my to-do list…or anything. I am also always amazed at how much of a difference this goal makes. I am remarkably more satisfied and content after eating than I would have been had I rushed through it and not fully appreciated or enjoyed it.

Hopefully establishing these goals now will start off the new semester on a positive, relaxed note that I can continue to carry throughout the course of it.

So there you have it. My goals are written out and announced, which means one thing: I better stick to it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Being in a more calm state of mind allows me to enjoy the good things in life. Like this morning’s sunrise, for example:

NewImage

photo taken by a friend

And of course, GOOD FOOD.

NewImage

1/2 cup oats, 2 tbsp dark cocoa powder, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/2 cup liquid egg whites, stevia, baking powder. Topped with 2% greek yogurt.

IMG 3853

chicken sausage salad with avocado dressing (recipe a few posts back)

IMG 3873

greek yogurt mixed with cookies and cream protein powder and fiber one cereal

IMG 3872

Lots and lots of farm fresh cherries!!! So sweet and probably my favorite fruit at the moment.

IMG 3857

Enchiladas and farm fresh cherry tomatoes. Similar recipe toย this one.

This next one’s not hard to guess…

IMG 3876

more cheesecake ๐Ÿ™‚ This one is the cinnamon bun variation.

Must save the rest for WIAW tomorrow! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Today’s Workout: I didย this one again. It’s just so fun! You keeping moving from one thing to the next, which is just what I need so I don’t get bored. This workout always flies right by and leaves me completely out of breath by the end. (Okay, by the first 2 minutes.)

Do you have any goals for the week?

Kristi

13 Responses to “Write It, Achieve It.”

  1. Tracey August 14, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Yum on the pancake, is that cooked on the stove..or microwave?

  2. Lisa August 14, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    I think its so important to spend a few minutes everyday getting in some meditation! 5 minutes is really not long at all, and everyone can really benefit from it if they allow their minds to rest during that period!
    Those enchiladas look awesome! Yum! Can’t believe I have never tried one before!!

  3. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness August 14, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    These are some great goals! I think you’ll really notice a difference if you slow down a bit and listen to your body! I need to get better at this myself!

  4. Alexandra August 14, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    These goals are freakin AWESOME! ๐Ÿ˜€ And so are all of your eats, as usual haha ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. janetha August 14, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    Read this post as I was scarfing down my lunch.. took a step back and slowed down. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 14, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    I need to start making oatmeal pancakes again! I haven’t had one in months! Looks delicious.

  7. Courtney August 14, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    Awesome goals! and that cheesecake looks AMAZING ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Lindsey August 15, 2012 at 1:58 am #

    1) I REALLY love this post and can relate 100% 2)Hey there!! I just found your blog and I really love it! Props on everything and I’m excited to be following your blog now to see whats in store next:) I am Lindsey by the way!

  9. jessielovestorun August 15, 2012 at 6:16 am #

    I love the goal of eat mindfully and slowly. I have such a bad habit of eating my meals so quickly. The husband often asks if I’m eating to win a race. I think that will be my goal for the week, and from here on out. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mmm, I may be even more excited for my cinnamon protein powder to get here now thanks to the picture you posted!

  10. Kailey August 15, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    I’ll admit that last semester I got waaay stressed out and studied during my lunch. Yeah, no good. This year I really want to avoid that to enjoy my food and just have some time to chill ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

