Beefy Cheesey Bake

19 Aug

Happy Sunday!

Well, it’s officially that time when Summer wraps up and school starts to once again take over. I will be back in classes TOMORROW. Ahhhhh! In some ways, I’m ready to get things going again but for other reasons I wish summer could go on forever. Unfortunately that’s just not how things work so I’m going to try and be positive about a brand new semester. I will definitely be kept busy. The previous year, I was extremely busy with school alone; this summer I was pretty go, go, go with work. Now I will get to see what it’s like to juggle both at the same time. Can I do it? The jury is still out. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

I have a lot of basic classes to knock out, but dietetics-wise, I am enrolled in Principles of Food Production and Management. I have enjoyed all my dietetics related courses thus far, so this one I am looking forward to. In addition, I will be taking Chem II, English II, and Accounting. I feel like I got pretty lucky in terms of how my schedule is laid out, so that definitely makes things easier. My chem lab will be first thing in the morning which is the only way I wanted it; otherwise I would just dread it the whole day, ha ha.

So onto Sunday Food Prep time!

This recipe is based off Mamma Pea’s Garden Enchilada Bake and I hope Sarah doesn’t hate me for taking her lovely vegan meal and turning into a meaty manly meal. Sometimes you’ve just got to do what you’ve got to do. I will say that I would love to try her vegan version of it sometime as I’m positive it would be delicious, but I needed a little more oomph this time around.

Beefy

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quinoa, rinsed (I used a combo of white and red quinoa)
  • 1.5 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 15 oz. can tomato sauce, divided
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 package extra lean ground beef (16 oz.)
  • 1 extra large zucchini, shredded and squeezed
  • 1 small container portobello mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/3 cup cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 3 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper (I used Lawry’s Seasoned Salt which adds a lot of flavor)
  • 1 cup shredded 2% extra sharp cheddar cheese
  • cilantro

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  • In a medium stockpot, combine quinoa, broth, 1/2 cup of tomato sauce, chili powder and oregano. Bring to a boil over medium high heat. Reduce heat, stir, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes. Remove lid and cook for an additional minute or two, or until all of the liquid has been absorbed and quinoa is fully cooked.
  • While that is cooking, saute your mushrooms in a pan. Then add in ground beef and cook until just browned.
  • Add shredded zucchini, cooked mushrooms and ground beef, remaining tomato sauce, cream cheese, nutritional yeast, garlic and cumin and heat until fully incorporated. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  • Transfer mixture to a large casserole dish (2 qt. or larger) that has been lightly spritzed with olive oil or cooking spray.
  • Top casserole with grated cheese and slightly mix in. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until cheese is bubbly.
  • To brown the top of the casserole, you can switch the oven over to the broil setting for the last several minutes.
  • After taking dish out of the oven, let rest for 10 minutes to let everything settle.
  • Top with cilantro and serve!

I got 5 BIG servings out of this, because this girl can put down the food. I do not do tiny portions. 😉

This was positively stinkin’ delicious. Make this for dinner tonight! The seasonings, the cheesy goodness, the…everything. You can’t go wrong! Although optional, I highly recommend using the nutritional yeast in this recipe as it enhances the cheesy flavor tremendously, especially paired with the sharp cheddar. 

***

Today’s Workout:

Turbo Fire 45 Class. Gets me every time! Workout DVD’s are a great addition to anyone’s fitness regimen because of the ease of access. I know I can get in an awesome workout without even leaving my house if need be…or if I’m feeling a bit on the lazy side. I did Turbo Fire all the way through last semester and occasionally over this summer. Since they are so convenient to fit into my busy schedule, I figured it would be a good idea to look into a new series to switch things up again. Any suggestions, I am all ears!!!

Did you make anything for food prep for the week?

What is the best workout DVD series you’ve done? Any new ones I should know about?

Enjoy the rest of your weekend everyone!

Kristi

      13 Responses to “Beefy Cheesey Bake”

      1. FitNjess August 19, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

        Your recipes always look so delicious! I love following your blog and seeing your creations!! Also, I love blogilates! They are all online on youtube. Such a great series of workouts!

      2. Jasmine August 19, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

        have a good first day tomorrow!! I’m taking accounting 1 too this trimester, hopefully it will all go well for both of us haha.
        I’ve been trying to go the free route for workout videos, so I do Tone It Up a lot and whatever else is on youtube (stuft mama, fitnessista) but I really wanna try turbofire soon!

      3. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 19, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

        Yum! This is totally something I’d make!

      4. yl1231982 August 20, 2012 at 1:10 am #

        I’m also a Turbofire lover! Fire 45 and Fire 60 are my faves!!! It’s weird–I always think I’m going to get bored of them–but they really challenge you each time. I love that you can make them more intense if you want–i.e. adding in an extra turbo drill or whatever. And Chalene is so motivating and fun!
        And–I’m seriously addicted to cocoa powder. I’ve been having my version of “healthy brownies” for B-fast–basically a butt-load of cocoa powder–like 1/2 a cup plus egg-whites, stevia and a bit of pumpkin and nuke it in the microwave for like 5 minutes. It literally tastes like a Duncan Hines brownie from the box–from when I was a kid (And I totally would eat an entire batch in like 2 sittings –lol!)
        Have a great week! 🙂

        • Sweetly Fit August 20, 2012 at 2:40 am #

          I do a similar cocoa powder brownie. I go through so much of that stuff!

      5. Grace @ Eat Sweat Sing August 20, 2012 at 1:25 am #

        Ummm… This looks AWESOME!

      6. Jen Ward August 20, 2012 at 2:42 am #

        That looks amazing, similar to Stuftmama’s turkey taco pie that i made for dinner tonight 🙂 A great workout video series I picked up at Ross was get fit in 90 days, it’s about 9 different videos ranging from 20-45 minute intense workouts. Have fun this semester.

      7. jessielovestorun August 20, 2012 at 5:23 am #

        Have a great first day today girl :)!! Thanks for the recipe.. as always, it looks delicious!!

      8. Eva @ committed2nutrition August 20, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

        This looks BOMB! I love recipe’s that are not overly complicated and this looks like something I could make that won’t smoke up the apartment (I seem to burn everything when I cook it all via stovetop, ha)… thanks for posting!

        I love turbo fire as well, and all chalene extreme videos. For another good weights one, I like Jackie Warner, she pushes you hard in short amount of time, which I like!

      9. Sarah @ Feeeding the Brain and Body August 20, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

        I have been looking for a casserole type dish to try out, and the ingredients in this one sound like something I would really enjoy!

      10. karinacocina17 August 21, 2012 at 2:49 am #

        my classes started today too! i love when i take time on sundays to prep food for the week. i made a lentil bake, tofu quiche and hard boiled eggs for meals this week. i could never work while going to school….i would not be a happy girl haha

      11. Laura Lea @ Beanie Bumbles August 21, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

        This recipe is RIGHT up my alley! I am totally going to make this some time. I’m all about hearty big-batch meals! My cashew “cheese” sauce was definitely my prep for the week. So many ways to use it–I may or may not have dunked some chips in it like nacho cheese sauce haha. Have a great day!

      12. Meg August 22, 2012 at 2:33 am #

        ahhh you guys start SO early! we don’t start until sept 6th! I’m so happy you have a good schedule though, love 🙂 last year my chem lab was at 7 pm!!!!!!!!!! It was awful. You’re right.

        Love you babes

        happy birthdayyyy

      Leave a Reply

