Birthday Breakfast

21 Aug

…someone has a birthday today…and that someone is ME!

No longer am in the teens. It’s the big 2-0. Woooo!

Although I did have to be up at the crackbutt of dawn for work, I was off fairly early and looking forward to a special birthday breakfast:

Peachy green

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats, grinded into flour
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup egg whites (4 egg whites)
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp greek yogurt
  • 2 tbsp cream cheese
  • 2 handfuls fresh spinach
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • dash of cinnamon and stevia
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1 peach, half diced and half sliced

Directions:

Blend above ingredients, except for peach, in a magic bullet (or other blender) Cook those babies up on the stovetop, adding in the diced peaches as they cook. Top with additional peach slices after pancakes are plated. Add any additional pancake toppings you fancy! πŸ™‚

***Also, anyone who’s interested in making the Beefy Cheesey Bake I posted on Sunday, you should re-check the recipe.

I fudged up a tab and forgot an important ingredient addition that contributes to that ultimate cheeze flavor: nutritional yeast! You can find “nooch” in most health food stores, especially in the bulk section. My grocer has 20% off bulk items on Wednesdays, so I usually get mine there! I also get it at Vitacost here sometimes, too which is an awesome price for a huge container. Aside from the fact that I LOVE the taste it adds to dishes (it reminds me of sharp cheddar), it is packed with vitamins, minerals, fiber, and protein. Vegetarian and dairy free, too!

So go grab yourself some nooch so you can have a bite of this delicious stuff:

NewImage

Now I get to relax a bit before I head back to work and then start in on some homework…yes, already. School is mean…mean I tell you. So since today is looking like it will be filled with perhaps not the most fun things in the world, maybe a little birthday celebrating will be in order this weekend? Yes I think so. πŸ˜€

In the meantime, I will be picking out my cake.

Which cake would you choose?

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

NewImage

I’ll just take one of each please and thank you. πŸ™‚

Kristi

18 Responses to “Birthday Breakfast”

  1. Ellie @ healthy belly ellie August 21, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    Happy Birthday Girl!! Enjoy the day! It’s my best friends birthday today too! A good day for birthdays!!

  2. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness August 21, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Happy Birthday! Have the best day! I love all those cakes but I think the teacup one is the cutest!

  3. Liz (formerly VeggieGirl) August 21, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DEAR KRISTI!!!!!! I’d totally pick the shoe cake πŸ˜€

  4. Kym August 21, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Hope it’s an unforgettable one!!! I would choose all cakes but if i really had to choose one, it’d be the teacup cake!!!

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 21, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    Happy Birthday! I love the play on words with the peachy (keen) green pancakes! Haha! All those cakes look amazing! I wish I had some cake decorating skills and could make something that cool looking!

  6. thisfitchick August 21, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY GORGEOUS!!!!!!!! I would definitely take the shoe cake πŸ˜‰

  7. Eva @ committed2nutrition August 21, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    Happy Birthday, lady!! love the pancakes.. TO DIE FOR. you are so creative. I tend to just throw a bunch of things together when trying new pancakes, and it never comes out good, ha. my poor boyfriend.

    Anyway – have a GREAT DAY!! 20’s only get better as time goes on πŸ™‚

  8. Alexandra August 21, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    YAY!!!! Happy birthday! Bye bye teens and hello 20’s! πŸ™‚
    Those pancakes look like the most delicious thing ever, jus sayin πŸ˜‰

  9. Lisa August 21, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Happy Birthday!!!!! Hope you have the best day full of celebration!
    Or just celebrate the weekend when you get more time:)
    Those pancakes look like the perfect birthday wakeup call!
    And I’ve got to say the teacup cake looks like my kind of thing.

  10. shananagins11 August 21, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    Happy Birthday!!! Congrats on your 20s they’re the best time in my opinion. And that teacup cake is adorable!!!

  11. Beth Howard August 21, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    Happy Birthday my sweet Kristi! LOVE YOU, MOM

  12. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 22, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    Happy birthday! Digging the pancake breakfast πŸ™‚

  13. Jasmine August 22, 2012 at 6:35 am #

    Happy birthday!!!!!!

  14. jessielovestorun August 22, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    Happy Birthday Hunnie! Have a wonderful day πŸ™‚

  15. Courtney August 22, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Happy birthday!! I like the cake with the shoe on it πŸ™‚

  16. A Tablespoon of Liz August 22, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Happy birthday! Birthday breakfasts are the best!

  17. FitNjess August 23, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    Happy Belated Birthday!! Nothing is better than having pancakes on a special day!! Hope you had a good one!:)

  18. KatsHealthCorner August 28, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    Happy Happy Happy Happy Birthday Birthday!
    Happy Happy Happy Happy Birthday Birthday!
    Happy Happy Birthday!
    Happy Happy Happy Birthday!
    Happy Birthday!
    Happy Happy Birthday!
    Happy Happy Birthday to YOU!!!

    Happy Happy Birthday Kristi Dear!
    Happy days will come to you all year!
    If I had a wish, then it would be –
    A Happy Happy Birthday to you from me!

    This month is such a special one!
    It’s birthday time for you!
    I’d really like to celebrate this happy time with you!
    Zipp-pi-dee-ay and hide-dee-ho, there’s something I can do.
    I’ll sing a song that we all know –
    Happy Birthday to YOU!

    Happy Birthday to you!
    Happy Birthday to you!
    Happy Birthday dear Kristi!
    Happy Birthday to YOU!

    I hope you had a wonderful birthday, Kristi. πŸ™‚

    (Btw, I would totally pick the strawberry-topped cake. I am a monstah when it comes to strawberries! ;))

Leave a Reply

