Staple-less?

29 Aug

It’s Wednesday already? That means it’s practically the weekend, and a long weekend at that. I’m liking that sounds of this. Currently I’m procrastinating on some much needed time with my not-so-friend: Chemistry.  So what better time to have a little WIAW fun?

It’s the last installment of the Summer Staples theme. Admittedly, I haven’t really followed along with pointing out my staples, but that is mainly because I’m frequently eating something new and changing things up. Sure there are foods that I buy again and again, but I’m always thinking of how I can use it differently. What can I say? I like variety. 🙂

However, eggs have been making a breakfast appearance (or lunch/snack/dinner) more often that not. I like to scramble up a good amount of egg whites, then fried 1 or 2 whole eggs to break onto all the whites. Drippy egg is the only way to go!

IMG 3963

IMG 3964

some cantaloupe and blueberry zucchini bread + butter to go along with my eggies

Another reoccurring theme?

Wraps. (or sandwiches.) I switch back and worth between phases for lunch. Either I’m all about “non-typical” lunches or I’m all about the completely typical lunchtime sandwich or wrap. Right now, the latter is winning. Some of my most recent bits:

IMG 3965

grilled french toast style sandwich: turkey, sharp cheddar, dijon, sauteed onion and bell pepper, 2 slices bread—>all dipped into egg and pressed on a buttered skillet.

IMG 3958

mexican wrap: refried beans, red pepper hummus, avocado, salsa, spinach, flat out wrap.

IMG 3971

another variation with chicken this time

IMG 3973

said wrap with cucumber and zucchini muffins

IMG 3966

simple banana pb wrap

Then of course, here are some other random (but delicious to me!) plates:

IMG 3941

greek yogurt, cottage cheese, cereal bowl

IMG 3952

salad chomping.

This was made extra special thanks to this:

IMG 3951

Purple Haze goat cheese. Worth it. (goat cheese infused with lavender and fennel)

IMG 3968

beefy cheesy garden bake with roasted zucchini fries and caramelized onion, bell pepper, and mushrooms.

My must have toppings for anything taco-flavor related are 2% greek yogurt + salsa. 2% greek yogurt > sour cream. Mmmm!

IMG 3961

a “slice” of zucchini pumpkin bread with protein frosting. What…your slices don’t look like that? Hmmph.

This was a loaf I made in addition to the blueberry zucchini bread. (I had some serious zucchini to use up.) It’s similar to my recipe here.

IMG 3970

healthy soft serve ice cream with a Stuft Mamma cookie

Oh, and I guess you could call my ice cream bowls a staple for me as well. I don’t mind repeating that one a single bit. 😉

And now I have procrastinated long enough. Time to attempt some Chem II booty kicking before calling it a day!

Do you have any Summer Food Staples?

Kristi

18 Responses to “Staple-less?”

  1. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness August 29, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Somehow I missed the recipe for those stuft mama cookies! I’m going to have to go check those out!

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 29, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    LOVE that goat cheese. Eating some right now.

    Try the psychedillic flavor. Amazing.

    • Sweetly Fit August 30, 2012 at 12:59 am #

      I haven’t seen that one! must find NOW!

  3. Katie Gagliano (@HealthyDiva31) August 29, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Summer drink staple is what I have…iced green tea unsweetened from starbucks!

    Loving the goat cheese, the best! I have never seen that one before!

    Enjoy your long weekend ahead love! ❤

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 30, 2012 at 2:47 am #

    Are you able to make all this stuff in your dorm room?! That is awesome! I wish I could be that gourmet! 🙂

    • Sweetly Fit August 30, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

      Kaila, I live in an apartment now remember? 😉

  5. jessielovestorun August 30, 2012 at 3:50 am #

    Wow, it all looks delicious girl… especially the beefy cheesy garden bake!

  6. Amanda @ .running with spoons. August 30, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Love.those.wraps! Wraps and sandwiches have been a summer staple for me as well… and so have fresh fruits. I think my body is trying to tell me to eat my weight in blueberries and watermelon before they go out of season, because I’ve been craving them like crazy all summer. Oo and I guess I can blame summer for my iced latte addiction too, although my wallet definitely isn’t happy about that one!

    • Sweetly Fit August 30, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

      blueberries are my favorite! Good to hear from you Amanda!!!

  7. Courtney August 30, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Look delicious! And AHHHHH CHEMISTRY!!! 😦 😦

  8. Lisa August 30, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    I’ve also been relying on eggs for breakfast, lunch, and dinner:) They are such a winner!
    All your grilled wraps look so good. I think I need one of those griller things. Mmmm goat cheese. Infused with fennel and lavender?! That is so original, sounds very interesting.
    I agree that 2% greek yogurt is better than sour cream, and 0% yogurt any day!
    And um yah, since increasing my calories my bread slices look like your too!

  9. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs August 30, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Good luck with chemistry! I am one of those weird people that likes it. I love your idea of a “slice”. 🙂

  10. FitnJess August 31, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    Love your slices of bread, the bigger the better!! Good luck with Chem!! You will make it through!

  11. Meg September 3, 2012 at 2:45 am #

    GIRL! Dippy eggs really ARE the best!!!!!!!!! I seriously love all of your WIAW’s! SO INSPIRING! I will be making that zucchini pumpkin bread!!!!!! WOWZA! YUM! Andddddd that salad!? Oy. That looks amaaaaazing too

  12. Meg September 3, 2012 at 2:46 am #

    GIRL! Dippy eggs really ARE the best!!!!!!!!! I seriously love all of your WIAW’s! SO INSPIRING! I will be making that zucchini pumpkin bread!!!!!! WOWZA! YUM! Andddddd that salad!? Oy. That looks amaaaaazing too!!!!

    Gosh I love you.

  13. KatsHealthCorner September 3, 2012 at 4:39 am #

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a dippy egg before — how do you make them? I’ve done fried eggs and scrambles eggs and omelettes and hard-boiled eggs, but never dippy ones.

    • Sweetly Fit September 5, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

      Oh I don’t know if there is any special way to do them; I basically just make a fried egg but make sure the yolk is nice and drippy. And so I call them dippy eggs, haha.

Leave a Reply

