Vegetarian Black Bean and Cheese Zucchini Boats

2 Sep

Zucchini boats

Here’s a recipe that is perfect for Meatless Monday tomorrow. It’s also quick and easy to throw together, so it works great for a week-night meal, too. Enjoy!

Black Bean and Cheese Zucchini Boats

(serves one)

Ingredients:

  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar
  • 1/4 cup tomato sauce
  • pinch of: garlic powder, onion powder, italian seasoning, chili powder, and seasoning salt
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast (optional but adds more cheese flavor)
  • parmesan cheese, for topping

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place zucchini in microwave for about 2-3 minutes to soften. While that’s cooking, go ahead and combine all other ingredients in a bowl. Once zucchini is done, cut in half and scoop out most of the soft insides. Light squeeze out excess water and mix the soft insides of zucchini with the other ingredients. Using a towel, press dry the zucchini “boats” so they aren’t too watery. Fill up boats with the stuffing. Bake for approximately 15-20 minutes.

Best served with sweet potato wedges. 😉

Have a great night everyone!

Kristi

13 Responses to “Vegetarian Black Bean and Cheese Zucchini Boats”

  1. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness September 2, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    These look so awesome! I would never think to fill them with black beans for a vegetarian option! Such a great idea!

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate September 2, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    Mmmm love this idea!

  3. Amanda @ .running with spoons. September 3, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    Ohhh, I’m so torn! The filling sounds amazing, but zucchinis kind of skeeve me out… Ooo but I bet it would taste great paired with something like a sweet potato too!

  4. KatsHealthCorner September 3, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    This sounds absolutely delicious! 🙂

  5. Sam September 3, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    Mmm looks do yummy! Is it sad i got so excited to see u made a post?! LOL u have tr best recipes and reviews! I miss ur daily posts 😦

    • Sweetly Fit September 5, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

      aww well that makes me happy. I wish I had more time to post! I try to fit it in when I can with a busy college schedule. 😉

  6. Paola Angeli September 3, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    These look so good! I never have zucchini because I just don’t know what to do with it. But that’s all starting to change nowww 😉

    PS – Are you sure you’re not in Miami? I keep seeing your twin at Zumba classes and she always stares at me, I swear next time I see her I’ll have to go up to her and call her Kristi.

  7. paoang September 3, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    These look so good! I never have zucchini because I just don’t know what to do with it. But that’s all going to change 😉

    PS – Are you sure you’re not in Miami? I keep seeing your twin at Zumba classes and she always stares at me, I swear next time I see her I’ll go up to her and call her Kristi.

  8. Meg September 4, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    Great recipe sweetheart! I went to the market the other day and bought two big zucchinis! I made them both into noodles, so I’ll have to buy more and try this recipe 🙂

  9. Beanie Bumbles September 4, 2012 at 2:34 am #

    Omg yumm love your recipe too! Especially the suggested side of sweet potato wedges 🙂

  10. plateitnclimb September 4, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    These look so tasty and simple! I love it! Thanks for posting this, I now need to go buy a zucchini!

  11. How adorable is this!?! And such a nutritiously rich idea. Black beans are definitely one of my favorite fiber-licious eats. Yum!

Leave a Reply

